We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Irati

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Irati to your Saves list
Hostal Irati
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle Condestable Zaragoza 5, 03501 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
St Helens
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

fantasic little hostal - cleaner, nicer and brighter that some of the 'Hotels'
on a quiet side street right in the heart of the old town, so not far to walk at lunch for the €1 tapas alley :-))
breakfast was a roll with butter and jam, which was not much, but you ony have to walk 5 minutes and you have a choice of whatever you want.
the rooms were lovely, no english channels on the TV, but who cares when the beach is a short stroll away.
Power shower was amazing, and we used to leave the Radio on as background noise when we were getting ready to go out.
We only stayed for three nights, and will be returning again this October for another short stay
our whole holiday for two people including flights was £300 (3 nights - 4 days)
just fabulous

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    13
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
29
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at "Irati" We had originally booked a room on the front with a little balcony.We asked to see the "Attic apartment" as it was empty. We upgraded for an extra 100 Euro.
Lovely open plan apartment.Very comfy bed.Flat screen T.V,Washing machine,comfy sofa,nice shower room. Also the benefit of a large sun-terrace with table and chairs. A lot of stairs to climb but worth it.!!!!

The location is perfect. 2 minutes walk up the road,you reach the top of the old town with lovely views of both beaches.1 minute walk down the road and your in the old town itself.
Every thing on your doorstep but quiet.Also only a short walk to the harbour and beach.
Kristin and Gabriel who own this place are a lovely couple and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are above their bar which is really nice.They do a bar menu where everything is homemade. The cheesecake is to die for.!!! Its a popular little bar with both Spanish and English.
We will defiantly return to stay here , but will book direct.
Many thanks to you both for our stay.See you again.

Room Tip: Loved the attic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

booked here after we passed a few times when staying at another hotel, hostal does not mean the same as our English hostal's,lovely couple own it really clean rooms, tv could not find any English channels,we had a full size fridge but the best thing was the large walk in power shower with radio which had English channels on,breakfast was at 10.00 which was orange juice tea /coffee and half a toasted baguette with jam/marmalade which we found to be ample,everything looked brand new no views as it is up a side road but for location and price it was excellant,there was no safe available but they looked after our passports til we checked out would certainly stay here again.also had air con.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I am sure if we had stayed at the front of the Irati we would have had a much better experience. The Irati is very clean, cheap, it has good free wi fi all over the building and is very close to the beach, bars and restaurants in the Old Town. Breakfast was a toasted roll with butter and jam, juice and tea or coffee and is served after 10am. We were at the back of the hotel (hostal really doesn't do it justice) and overlooked a small piece of wasteland that had rubbish dumped on it. We had no balcony and the room was very basic, which we expected, and it had a good fridge with a freezer compartment too. There was a normal shower, which was good but not like the power ones advertised and there was no shelf of hook anywhere. There is no safety deposit box which was a bit disconcerting and a nice flat screed tv but we couldn't find one English speaking channel so it wasn't much good to us. Towels are only changed twice a week, which isn't really enough when you haven't got anywhere to shake them out or dry them, had we known this we would have been more careful but we only found out when the cleaner took the ones we left on the shower floor and didn't replace them. We have stayed in two and three star hotels many times and had the towels changed more often, may that is why it is called a hostal, i'm not sure. But a few things really did spoil our holiday - we asked for an extra key as we do sometimes come home separately and as the bar and reception closes around midnight it meant the later person would be locked out, but no extra keys. We met some friends and I would have liked to have stayed out with them but had to go home with my other half or I wouldn't have got in, thought about chancing it and phoning him to wake him up but he'd had a few bevvies so though I'd better not. It was also a bit worrying when we left to go home at 7am as once we closed the door we wouldn't be able to get back in if we had forgotten anything. On the other side of the waste land is the Peppermint bar, (barpeppermint.com), and a small crowd gathered outside and chatted till about 5am, it closes at around 4.30am, the only good night's sleep we got was on Monday when it was closed, for this reason we wouldn't return to the Irati. People at the front said they didn't hear a thing and once the land is built on it will probably be quiet at the back too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are much quieter and the front first floor ones have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed in the 'penthouse' suite (also known as the attic room) and loved it!!! Lovely spatious room with lounge area, kitchen area and en suite bathroom and the added bonus of a sun terrace. Room was very clean and comfortable and modern looking. We paid extra for the penthouse rather than a room but it was well worth it. All staff very friendly and accommodating. Close to the shops, restaurants and beaches. Will definately book there again if we return to Benidorm.

Room Tip: Penthouse very roomy with a great sun terrace, rooms on level 1 have a balcony but not level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

A grat little place on the edge of the old town, cheap clean and well located.
The guy who ran it was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well equipped with TV fridge AC and superb shower.
B&B for €35 a night for 2 people is a real bargain.
Downsides, there is no parking very close, for free parking its a half mile walk but thats no big deal. For my taste the bed was a bit hard but other than that a great place for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

This property is now known as Hostal Irati,run by a lovely Icelandic/Spanish couple Kristin and Gabriel.

I booked a 4 night break through a booking agent,wish I had known that it is cheaper to book direct.www.hostalirati.com

It has 8 rooms.I had a double bedded room on the 2nd floor.No balcony but a window looking out over one of the quieter streets in the old town.There is no lift just steps so it is not suited to those of limited mobility.

For the price I paid the room was outstanding.Double bed,ensuite bathroom with fantastic shower with built in radio,a first for me,flat screen tv,full size fridge,plenty of wardrobe space,and air conditioning.

The room rate does include breakfast,which was a toasted baguette with butter and jam,coffee and fruit juice.Let's face it there are plenty of places where you can get a cheap full breakfast if thats what you want.Also the breakfast does not begin till 10am,perfect if you've been out the night before.

There is no reception,you just walk into bar,check in and get your key.You have a room key and a front door key if you want to get in after the bar closes at 12am.

The owners could not be more friendly.Example the property is free wifi enabled,as I didn't take my laptop they happily let me use theirs to check emails,facebook etc.

The bar restaurant on the ground floor does food during the day.I had a pizza one day which was great.Another day I asked Gabriel what he could offer,he said that due to it been a Spanish bank holiday he had nothing in but he could do me a rice dish with prawns and arichoke,what he managed to russle up was amazing,see photo.

The location is ideal in the centre of the old town,loads of bars and restaurants on the doorstep,beach a couple of minutes walk away,not to mention loads of shops.

Don't be put off with the word Hostal,this place is spotlessly clean,very well equipped,in an ideal location,with excellent prices from 25 euros a night for one person.I will definately return and wish Kristin and Gabriel a successful future here!.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Irati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Irati

Address: Calle Condestable Zaragoza 5, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Irati 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Irati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Irati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.