We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amigos Bar and Bistro

Amigos Bar and Bistro
Calle del Buen Retiro, 4, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
+34 965 85 81 24
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 516 Restaurants in Benidorm
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: European, English, British, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Modern Bistro and Bar in Benidorm in a small street just off the Mediterranean side of the walking street about 50 yards East of the farmacia. The terrace has 4 large round Bistro tables serving up to 16 people. Serving good quality food at reasonable prices we are also popular for our cocktails and sangria. Alhambra is now served in branded glasses straight from the freezer. Exceptional Spanish house wines from Rioja is served including an incredible Crianza and sensational Reserva. No loud music or TV. Ideal for friends to meet or small groups to reserve for private parties such as birthdays, hen parties, divorce parties, anniversaries, cocktail parties etc. The Menu is modern, is changed seasonally and always prepared fresh. Enjoy great cooked food in the evenings and book the bar for your exclusive use any day of the week.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had read several reviews with regard to this bistro and so went to celebrate my wife´s birthday with a certain amount of confidence. We were not disappointed. We went on 20th December and the bistro was quiet, prior to the Xmas rush. However, we were impressed by the attentiveness of both Dino and Nas. They explained that in addition to the usual menu they had a number of special dishes on offer.

The food was excellent as was the wine. We would definitely return when we are next in Benidorm. Would recommend this bistro to anyone who are looking for good, well cooked food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    83
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Nice, very very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Popped in today for the first time and had a drink. Very pleasant. Went back for a snack a short while later. My wife had a dodgy tummy and only had tomato soup but said it was the best she had ever had. After reading the reviews I had set my heart on the duck strips in cherry jus. It was fabulous. Described as a tapas it was much more with a large salad, orange, kiwi and apple. We were also told that if we wanted more of anything there would be no charge. We really enjoyed the food and talking to the young man who served us. All in all very nice and we will be going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“excellent little tapas bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

great welcome, free wifi, small but good menu, freshly prepared, excellent wine. If only all lunches were like this. Will definitely return. Worth getting your google maps turned on to find it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excelent alround!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

while in benidorm for a winter break i decided to try amigos bar, i ended up going back for my birthday meal, the beer was fantastic and well price, presented in a glass that had been frozen to keep cold longer!

The bar staff and kitchen staff were very friendly, they explained everything, wether it be how everything was made (fresh) or even all about the staff also explaining how steaks only are available on pre order so he can go to the butchers and give only the freshest meat (only in winter when its quiet tho).

while having the meal they came iver to check if everything was ok and offer more bread (at no extra cost)

I had on my first visit prawns in mushroom soup n my cousin duck in plum sauce, we loved it and the chef even gave us the recipe,

On my second visit i orderd natchis and a burger thinking its a small bowl and burger, wrong haha it was huge bowl and a masive burger, followed by a suprise ice cream birthday cake which i had share with the next table as i was too full.

All in all if your looking for a nice little out of the way place were all food is fresh home made with a friendly atmosphere, great staff afordable prices this is definatly the place to be!!!!

Honestly out of two visits i could not find a single thing to fault them on

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice bar/bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very nice bar the guys are so friendly and bar is kept very clean, good food and great selection of beers and wines

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Bar and Bistro also viewed

Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Amigos Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigos Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.