We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Lovely Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Servigroup Calypso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Servigroup Calypso to your Saves list
Servigroup Calypso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Derramador 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MERSEYSIDE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Lovely Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed 21st September to 28th September 2010 we absoutely loved the hotel we stayed in the Annex which was a lovely big room with plenty of space and really big balcony. We knew before we came that the Entertainment was only ballroom it did not make any difference to us, because most nights we went out. We did not spend any time round pool because we went the beach but pool area looked clean with plenty of beds. The Restaurant Staff were brilliant understood me quite well even if I did not get my Spanish phrase quite right. The only problem that is in the Restaurant at Breakfast time they do offer chips which does not seem right, mostly basic food not really Spanish food, more catered for older persons and not really for other people. I did write on my comment sheet to the management that a new food station is needed with queing system for main food and they need to sort out what food goes with what especially salad stuff and other things, but I hope that they will sort that problem out in due course. No noise encountered only once or twice with people banging room doors. Cleaner excellent she cleaned every day and she is very polite I loved her singing in Spanish one morning. This hotel does cater for older people but we managed quite well and will hopefully be going to the hotel again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    292
    79
    13
    11
See reviews for
161
420
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Great hotel had a good holiday loved hotel food great entertaintment crap walsing every night ?? .We would have loved to stay in hotel and listen to good music but had to go elsewhere to be entertained how sad , why every night ????? beautiful hotel i would have loved to just sit and listen to good music please change entertaintment and we will come back j +D

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servigroup, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servigroup Calypso, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear mollyt186602
thank you for your review we are happy to hear overall you enjoy your stay at the Servigroup Calypso and we have taken note of your comments regarding the entertainment


Kind regards
Hotel servigroup Calypso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

on arrival at the hotel was great had a small wait for our rooms but that was .
not the hotels fault they gave us the pass for the dining room the food was great .
lots of choice for non meat eaters salads cheeses grill cookingon the sunday.
the roast beef got a real hammering but was fantastic the only real let down .
with the hotel was the fact that the advertised evening ent. was now were to be seen .
the nearest was the 4 1/2 hours of ball room danceing music wich was not to.
every ones taste apart from that the hotel was ok just beware

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed at the Calypso again 4 September to 10th September 2010, this time with partner who had never been to Benidorm before, previously stayed there twice with my Mum. Partner was very impressed with food and hotel, he was not overly impressed with all British bars in Benidorm as he likes to experience more traditional culture of where he is staying. Once again bar staff and restaurant staff excellent. maids cleaned room everyday. entertainment mainly ballroom dancing but did not mind as went outside hotel most evenings but one night got bottle of wine and sat round pool as weather so warm.
going back to Benidorm in October with Mum but so disappointed Calypso fully booked for that week so booked Venus instead which we have previously stayed and is also excellent hotel.W
Would like to say a big Thank You to all staff at Calypso!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Servigroup, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servigroup Calypso, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear jan777

thank you your review and we are glad that once again you have had a great stay at the Calypso, we are sorry you are unable to book again in October, September and October are very high season for most hotels, however we are sure you will have just as great a stay at the Venus.

Kind regards
Servigroup Hotel Calypso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in september 2010. paying £120 pp for half board. Hotel is situated on the main road with other hotels like the ambassador and sol pelicanos, across the road is morgans tavern, and further on all the well known bars and clubs, a little bit further on is the beach, so about a ten minute walk away from hotel. The location is good if your looking to be away from the noise that benidorm has, but close enough to walk to all the lively parts in 5/10 minutes.

The rooms are comfy and clean, not huge but big enough to fit everything in.
The hotel has a lovely pool area, big enough when hotel is full, as well as having enough sunbeds for everybody.
There was always a security guard, and you had to use a room key to get down anywhere near the rooms - so good security set up there.
The hotel food was really good quality , loads of choice and all freshly prepared.
It offered ballroom dancing each evening, which looked good.
Staff spoke good english and were very helpfull.

Would defanitly stay in this hotel again when visiting benidorm, everything about it was fantastic for the price we payed.

Word of warning for people going to benidorm or spain in general - be carefull with your belongings - pick pockets operating in bars and thiefs stealing bags ect on beach, and more rarely muggings taking place. So keep bag actually on your sunbed as they will get it if its not attached to you! And wouldnt advise walking around on your own... Basically dont act any different to what you would do in england.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Just returned from 10 night stay at this hotel. The service thoughout the hotel is absolutely fantastic, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. You don't need to get up from the sunlounger if you don't want to, as a bar man walks around all day taking drink orders form the pool area, they'll even fetch you an ice cream if you ask them. We had a family room with 3 beds, which was big enough and had a nice balcony area which got the evening sun. Rooms cleaned daily to high standard. One thing to note is floors are a bit slippery, so high heels probably not a good idea. The room had flat screen TV with satellite, brilliant. Lifts were a bit busy at meal times, so I would recommend using the stairs if you are able to, rather than wait for a lift and get yourself aggitated. I was on crutches whilst on holiday, so couldn't use the stairs, so it annoyed me a bit that people were a bit lazy not walking downstairs when they could easily do so. Hotel wheelchair friendly though. Lift down to the pool area, however as I could only use my good leg, found it a bit difficult getting out of the pool. The pool has old fashioned metal ladders to get in and out of which were not very sturdy. I did manage however, but only because I have a lot of upper body strength. Back to the positives-Plenty of sunbeds, no towels left hogging sunbeds, absolutely brilliant. Plenty of shade if you want, but also plenty of sunbeds in full sun, if you are a sun worshipper. The hotel is not overun by Brits, whilst we were there I would say about 80% of guests were Spanish. The entertainment was a bit poor, unless you like ballroom dancing. However, the hotel is just across the road from Mogans Tavern (TV's Neptunes Bar) which has tribute acts on every night. Great location, close to beach, lots of shops to mooch about in, close to bars and cafes. Food buffet style, lots of variety, puddings amazing. I am a very light sleeper, and managed to sleep quite well, you will hear music from other hotels until about 11:30 pm, but after that time, all quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. I liked everything about this hotel, the only downside is the pool itself, if was OK but could do with a bit of updating. Apart from that, absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Just arrived back from a week at the Calypso. We've stayed in this hotel twice before and have to say that its one of the best we've stayed in. Room Service was brilliant..room cleaned every day with clean sheets and clean towels, and the room itself was a nice size with great air-conditioning, fridge and wide-screen TV. The staff are very very friendly and helpful as well..special mention has to go to Merche the restaurant cashier. She actually remembered us from two years ago, and was very friendly, bubbly and helpful...a great asset to the hotel. Food in the Calypso was great..huge range, hot and plentiful..and most of it very tasty! Great selection for breakfast, full british breakfast (sausages, fried, poached and scrambled eggs, black pudding, mushrooms, etc) and huge range of cereals, fresh fruit, muffins and hot freshly-made pancakes. They even had a bottle of bubbly sitting out if you wanted a champagne breakfast (at no extra cost!).

We didnt stay in for the entertainment at night, so can't really comment. From past experience it mostly consisted of ballroom dancing, etc, but coming into the hotel after being out and about it seemed to be a disco that was on. To be fair, the hotels situated right at the heart of Benidorm so if you're looking for entertainment you dont need to go far! We didnt hear any loud noise from other guests in the hotel, although the clubs/pubs etc can be quite loud..if you hate loud music at night then you might want to stay in the Annexe rooms as they overlook the pool and not the street (but you'll be missing out on a sea-view! Once your balcony doors are closed the noise isnt that bad). Had a couple of cocktails at the bar, very reasonably priced and tasty..and we were allowed to take them up to our room so we could sip them on the balcony as the sun was setting!

Overall, the Calypso hotel is a great place to stay..we will definitely be back there at some point!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Servigroup Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Calypso

Address: Avenida Derramador 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#16 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Servigroup Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Servigroup Calypso is located 300 m. from Levante Beach in Benidorm.Facilities and services:Modern building with an elegant and attractive entrance.Large sun terrace with swimming pool for adults and children, sunbeds and parasols. Bar-terrace and garden area. Spacious and comfortable bar-lounge in the main building and lounge-bar “Gaudí” in the swimming pool area. Games room.Entertainment programme and disco music at night. Children’s playground.Free wifi connection throughout the hotel, including outoor areas.Internet area at reception area (supplement).Hotel-owned covered parking spaces (supplement): 105Rooms296 rooms with every comfort: air conditioning and heating by fan coil system, bathroom, balcony, direct dial telephone, LCD TV, mini fridge, safe (supplement) and intelligent locking system.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 60 national and international channels and 15 music channels.Restaurant:Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Special celiac menu available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Servigroup Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Calypso Hotel Benidorm
Servigroup Calypso Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Servigroup Calypso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.