We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Servigroup Calypso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Servigroup Calypso to your Saves list
Servigroup Calypso
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Derramador 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Stayed at the Calypso for a week 1st week in August this was our second time. Travelled with my sister and 2 other couples. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the bathrooms have been modernised with a great walk In power shower!

My sister and I were on the top floor (11) with a really small balcony compared to our parents who were on the 7th floor their balcony was at least double the size of ours! If you can request a room with a street view (facing Morgans Tavern) and Ambassador, also I would have to say that been on the top floor we could never get the free wifi! So we went to our parents room to use it. Those would be my only complaints.
The food is really good with plenty of choice for all! I'm quite a fussy eater but always found something I liked. They have the show cooking every night with different choices of meats varying from steaks, veal, pork, chicken etc. I found there was a lot of fish too such as swordfish.
There were always plenty of salad, pizza, cold meats etc.
My favourite night was the Mexican themed night!
All the staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you.
The pool area is large with plenty of sunbeds available.
I never noticed any entertainment at the hotel but that never bothered us as we always ventured out to the many bars and pubs of benidorm.
I think the location of the hotel is brilliant- 5 to 10 minute walk to the Levante beach and also close to the bars with a short walk to the main square strip with the most nightlife.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    269
    71
    13
    10
See reviews for
147
385
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Just got back yesterday and stayed from the 19 - 27th Aug, just me and my daughter.
We had a lovely room on the 6th floor, a decent size, but not a great view, which was fine for us. The bathroom was a good size, and the shower was lovely with plenty of hot water.

The food was very good lots of choices' and they had a few themed food nights whilst we were there. The daytime entertainment was ok, but I can only comment on one as we only did the water aerobics which was led by Oscar who was very good (many thanks Oscar you were great!!).

The evening entertainment was more geared to the older generation with just dancing (although the music was good) the entertainment could have been better. It looks like we missed out on a great evening the day we were leaving as they were decorating the bar area for a tropical evening.

On the whole a lovely clean hotel, good food and only about a ten minute walk to the beach, lots of places to eat out if your on a half board basis like we were. The only thing and its a small thing if I had to moan about something is the fact that we had to pay for a drink with our evening meal other than that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a higher room if want a peaceful nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

we have just got back from a weeks stay on the 17 to the 24th of august .. the hotel was very clean we had a family room, and the bathroom was really a good size and very modern we had a lovely large balcony too plenty of space .... the food was excellent . only one thing really we found that alot of the dishes was fish and out of the four of us only one person ate fish and in our weeks stay they had alot of fish on two nights ,, we would go back and stay at this hotel the staff were always pleasant and happy to help over all i would recommend this hotel to all my family and friends ....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here for the second time this year, thoroughly enjoyed it again. Nice friendly reception staff, room was ready as soon as we arrived, & you get 2 free drinks at the bar if you book direct on their website. Only did bed & breakfast, rooms were cool, air conditioned & comfy & breakfast was nice. We didn't stay here for the evening entertainment as it wasn't to our taste (ball room dancing). But it was a lovely stay & couldn't fault it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just returned from a family trip staying at the Calypso. Party of 7 and we had 3 rooms. The rooms were cleaned every day and had a hairdryer, safe (fee payable locally 10 euro deposit and then 2 euros per day hire) and fridge.
Always plenty sunbeds around the pool no matter what time you went, we spent most mornings at the beach and then the afternoon around the pool, when you could play water polo if you wanted.
We were full board and the meals were Ok, but not brilliant. Some nights were theme nights, italian, oriental and seafood, also had food available from the grill, usually meat and fish.
I stayed at the Calypso in February 2013 and to be honest I thought the food was better in the winter than the summer.
Only issue we had was the noise on a night time from the street, my parents room overlooked the main street and it was very noisy, sometimes even still by 7.30am.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay and will return to the hotel, obviously requesting a room not near the front.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Booking the weekend break for my mum and myself I thought this hotel was on the expensive side, however on arrival and during the 3 nights we stayed, it was worth the money. We booked for full board and found the food to be of a good standard. The room wasn't the biggest however clean and serviced daily.. The updated shower room was very nice.. I would definitely return..

Room Tip: A front room gives you sun on the balcony late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed here as a group of 5 girls for 3 nights in August.
The hotel is in an excellent location literally across the road from the start of the 'strip' and about 10 mins walk to the beach.
Reception staff are very friendly & helpful. Rooms are clean, we stayed in a triple room & thankfully they were all proper beds so nobody had to sleep on a campbed. Usual stuff in the room tv, safe, mini fridge, lots of wardrobe space & hangers too, air con which worked well. Large narrow balcony with a clothes dryer, plus a table & 3 chairs we had a view over the hotel next door / pool (room 618) There is a hair dryer in the bathroom, nice large shower & small sachets of shower gel, shampoo etc available. Looks like the bathrooms have been recently modernised.
We stayed half board & the food was good always plenty of choice & refreshed regularly - however if we had know how cheap it was to eat out we probably would have just booked room only.
We didn't use the pool as all the surrounding hotels are build so high that for half of the day the pool is shaded unless your happy to keep hopping to different beds but we chose the beach which was really nice.
The only small negatives about the hotel were that there are about 9 floors & only 2 lifts were working - these lifts only take a max of 4 people so we spent a bit of time waiting for lifts up & down (minor I know) also the flooring in the corridors is wooden laminate type so when people were heading in & out, children running along the corridors it could be quite noisy !
Overall nice clean hotel in great location.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Servigroup Calypso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servigroup Calypso

Address: Avenida Derramador 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#12 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Servigroup Calypso 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Servigroup Calypso is located 300 m. from Levante Beach in Benidorm.Facilities and services:Modern building with an elegant and attractive entrance.Large sun terrace with swimming pool for adults and children, sunbeds and parasols. Bar-terrace and garden area. Spacious and comfortable bar-lounge in the main building and lounge-bar “Gaudí” in the swimming pool area. Games room.Entertainment programme and disco music at night. Children’s playground.Free wifi connection throughout the hotel, including outoor areas.Internet area at reception area (supplement).Hotel-owned covered parking spaces (supplement): 105Rooms296 rooms with every comfort: air conditioning and heating by fan coil system, bathroom, balcony, direct dial telephone, LCD TV, mini fridge, safe (supplement) and intelligent locking system.The flat screen TVs provide a new digital system with 60 national and international channels and 15 music channels.Restaurant:Restaurant with buffet service and show cooking. A selected and varied assortment of dishes including themed dishes, vegetarian choices and delicious desserts. Special celiac menu available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Servigroup, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Servigroup Calypso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servigroup Calypso Hotel Benidorm
Servigroup Calypso Benidorm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Servigroup Calypso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.