We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 of the best yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Del Mar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lanark, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“1 of the best yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from this hotel, BEATS ANY OTHER THAT WE HAVE STAYED AT IN BENIDORM !
Where do we start ? Ok lets go for location.... minutes walk away from Old Town, right on the sea front at Pontiente,( pay the upgrade for the sea view, it is well worth it ).
Spotlessly clean, rooms and public areas.
Staff all so friendly, hard to single out any one really,we did enjoy our meetings with Rosa, Jose, Marina, Joaquim, Ally Khan, but all the staff are so friendly and helpful !
Monday evenings are meet & greet cocktails with the management. A really nice touch, Introduced to management, who were so amiable and open . Inviting you to contact them if any problems. ( never had to contact them yet).
Food excellent, freshly prepped, although it was buffet, it was not the usual case of piling the hot trolley high and leaving it. Small amounts,properly cooked, refreshed regularly.
Regular entertainment , ok, not top end, world class cabaret stars, but some better than we have paid to see and hear elsewhere, in the city.
Bar serving branded names without paying for upgrades. staff soon got to know your preference. By the end of the stay it felt like your local bar.
Lovely, but small roof terrace, with a bar. ( 60 - 70 people max ) Also a spa on this floor.
If you are looking for an excellent hotel in a great location, look no further. It is here at Villa del Mar.
Would we go back ???? Yes, for the first time ever, did genuinely not want to come home so soon.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the sea view, our preference would be 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director V, Gerente at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your comments.
We are very pleased to know that you have had a nice stay at the hotel Villa del Mar and that you have enjoyed your stay.
We are very proud to work in our hotel, and we work hard to please every stay as if it was unique.
We really look foward on being able of welcoming you again in your next trip to Benidorm.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    321
    102
    29
    28
See reviews for
434
659
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just had a fantastic four days here ,hotel was spotlessly clean at all times, a very modern and airey hotel thoughout, All the staff were very friendly and welcome you at all times. The food was beautifully arranged with such a great choice to suit everyones taste ,loved the spa and chill out terrace with the stunning views of the beach which was right opposite the hotel. We are booking to definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Sandra P1,
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.
The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer satisfaction, fulfillment of expectations and enjoyment. Reviews like yours help us understand we are accomplishing our objectives.
We have intensive audit programs that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue working hard to make your holiday a special one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have just come back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. It was fantastic. Can not fault the hotel for anything. The food was great, rooms stunning, staff so friendly (especially Rosa from entertainments and Jose the barman). There was plenty to do and we are already planning the next visit. Ours was a girly weekend and we were really looked after. We went all inclusive and the drinks we were given were branded and not the usual local spirits and beers. The hotel is on the beach so the views from your room is are fantastic. Rooftop terrace was to die for and the spa was fab. Totally Totally Brilliant is all I can say. Well done....

Room Tip: Sea View room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Belsky P,
thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'd like to use your opinion as an example of what the main goal of our company is, your complete enjoyment and fulfillment of your expectations.

Your kind words about our staff make us really proud and will be directly passed to all of them to congratulate their hard work on making people's holidays the best.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays special.

We look forward to welcome you back in a close future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived back from this hotel staying for Christmas and New year. Firstly the good points which were mainly the excellent and very willing staff in all areas of the hotel. Sadly I would not recommend this hotel certainly if you are looking for a good restaurant, comfortable bar, lounge and entertainment area. The bar consists of two high tables and stools in a narrow passage way opposite the restaurant and bar not far from the entrance to hotel, not conducive to spending any comfort time at all. There were no tables, chairs, sofa's to sit and relax where you could meet and mix with fellow guests (Could it be the hotel are happy for you not to make full use of the all inclusive drinks facility!). The Downstairs entertainment area is awful, see through plastic seats, dreadful acoustics and far, far too noisy. This is the result in my opinion of there being no carpets, only tiles on the floor and walls that boost rather than absorb noise. Lastly we come to the restaurant or should I say very very noisy canteen. I have never stayed anywhere especially somewhere purporting to be a 4 star hotel that was so dreadfully noisy and with no ambience other than a desire to get the meal over and to get out of the place as quickly as possible. Unfortunately there was a dreadful outbreak of sickness in the hotel and myself and two others in our party where Ill to the point where we had to get a doctor called to the hotel. The illness forced us to miss the New Years Eve celebrations completely. Sadly we know that other people went down with the same thing (in fact the doctor confirmed he'd been to the hotel already on the day we called him to see a guest with the same symptoms, which he said was not an airborne virus). In fact, we shared our prescribed medication with another guest on the same floor as us on the day we left the hotel so these were not isolated incidents. There were no sanitiser arrangements at the entrance to the dining room a key requirement where the catering is buffet style. Such a simple facility is a definite must in a place where children were seen putting there whole hands in the food and putting it on their plates (not using serving spoons, forks etc).This is just not acceptable in this or any hotel. Even though we had paid for "all inclusive", after the illness we were compelled to eat all evening meals out as we could only feel confident in having basic breakfast food. This meant spending extra money on food and drinks. The location of the hotel is lovely and it's very easy to get into the old town, but I would not recommend it to anyone and certainly not to elderly people at this time of year. As I said there's no comfort in the public areas of the hotel. We strongly suggest this needs to be addressed quickly. We are sure with some inexpensive modifications the hotel could be worthy of its 4 star but for us not at the moment, more like 2.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Chris C.
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor them to manage improvements in our services to match all of our guests’ expectations.
First of all we would like to mention the big range of services we provide to our customers: We have a continental breakfast with everything you could desire to have sour or sweet, for lunch you have a big variety of food that changes every day. We serve 12 different salads every day, tapas, appetizers, cheeseboards and selection of pates, fresh pasta with 3 different sauces, in showcooking one meat and one fish a day, 4 types of potatoes, 8 vegetables, 2 soups and a 2 creams per day, a stew, a paella, a rice, 4 different meat dishes and 4 more fish dishes every day. All our desserts are homemade and we have a yogurt machine and different toppings are available.
If you come in all inclusive, you could also profit a smaller buffet open when the main restaurant is closed, until midnight when you could find something to eat all the day long.
With your card you could use the bar any time you want, from 10am to midnight, everything will be completely free. We have a main bar next to the restaurant, we have a fantastic chill out on the roof terrace and an other open only by night inside the discoteque. On summer time we open an other one next to the swimmingpool.
You could choose among international first brands such as Vodka Absolut, Eristoff and Smirnoff; Gyn Bombay, Beefeater, Gordon and Larios; Ron Bacardi, Cacique, Havana 3; Whiskey Ballantines, Cuttysark, Four Roses, Passport, Bell’s, Dyk and Martini, Tia Maria, Malibu, Di Saronno, Ricard, Pernod, Heineken Beerand more…
With all inclusive card you could go to other hotels belonging to Magic Costablanca Group for a drink or to have lunch for example if you are in the opposite side of Benidorm and you don’t want to come back here. There are very big hotels having very nice swimming pools with slides, it could be funny to spend a “different day”. In summer time a courtesy bus daily connect the hotels helping guests moving from one to the other one.
About the loud you mention inside the restaurant, you have to consider that celebrations like Christmas and New Year usually call on for higher occupancy rates and joy.
As a very responsible company we assure you , first of all, that all security measures are in place and met by Spanish law and passed by all international Tour Operator audits as well.
We have an intense quality system in place with constant audits in food and hygiene. The virus you mention was in the air and not caused by the hotel nor related to food, it was brought in by someone who was sick. In any way we are sorry for that you passed through.
Even if you had booked a Promo room, we upgraded you to a standard one, to give you the possibility to stay close to your mother's single room. The last day you had a late check out until 3pm as a courtesy of the hotel...
This is a clair example of the main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain: our customer satisfaction, fulfillment of expectations and enjoyment and we will continue working hard to make our guests’ holiday a special one.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Never been to Benidorm before, so we thought we'd stay at a hotel with good ratings, especially as it was a landmark birthday of my girlfriends and New Years Eve. The initial impression of the hotel was that it was very modern and minimalist, later on we discovered that the minimalism applied to the facilities as well.
Our room was on the first floor, to the front was a balcony overlooking the reception atrium with a seating area in it and to the rear the windows backed onto the children's playground. We immediately asked for another room as I am a very poor sleeper and it was obvious that this wasn't a quiet room, unfortunately, none were available being New Year and we were assured that as the nightclub was in the basement, we wouldn't be disturbed by the entertainment.
We had to accept the room, which seemed( in comparison to our friend's rooms) to have been either an overspill facility or a disabled room. Either way, it was quite small with a shower facility that flooded the whole bathroom when used and was extremely difficult to operate and initially there were no tea making facilities available.
Needless to say the room was very noisy, loud voices and constant scraping of chairs from the walkway directly outside the front door (which incidentally were essentially in an access corridor, how does that work with fire regulations) with children playing football and using the facilities at the back which was right outside the room windows, not surprisingly this can get depressingly intrusive.
The canteen (it bore no resemblance to any restaurant I've ever been to) was very noisy, crowded and busy, although I will say that the staff all worked very hard. Then unfortunately out of a group of 5, on New Years Eve, 3 of us were ill, which we could only surmise was due to something we had eaten at the hotel. (Many others staying there who we talked to had the same experience). I spent New Years Eve ill, trying to sleep in a very noisy room, compounded by an extremely loud disco set up in the dining room (which was underneath our room) that went on to 3 in the morning!
The celebration dinner (for new Year and my girlfriends birthday) which we had booked specially in the town had to be cancelled and we all lost our deposits.
On New Years Day I demanded another room, which was found for us, very promptly, this was quiet (at last) even if the drawers were broken in the bedside cabinets and it still had that same shower unit.
The only lounge in the hotel was a guest room on the first floor that had the furniture removed and some settees put in there. There was very cramped and limited soft seating in the reception area and very limited seating at the ground floor bar.
The gym, swimming pool and children's play area were all at the back of the hotel, these were always in shadow during our stay and weren't welcoming at all and the pool was icy cold.
With it's poor facilities, I consider that the only place at this hotel you are likely to see four stars, are through the three holes in the swimming pool roof (yes, really!)
I should add that despite it's reputation and our hotel, we all thought Benidorm was great and would return, although not in the summer season. It was clean (minimal litter and graffiti) the beach and promenade were well kept, spacious and interesting and the town centre was lively, fun and with lots of great shops, bars and cafes. As none of us wanted to eat at the hotel after being ill, we ate out a lot and found good value and quality eating places all over.
Go to Benidorm, but avoid this hotel!

Room Tip: Only take a room on the first floor if you are completely deaf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Steve S.
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor them to manage improvements in our services to match all of our guests’ expectations.
First of all we would like to mention the big range of services we provide to our customers: We have a continental breakfast with everything you could desire to have sour or sweet, for lunch you have a big variety of food that changes every day. We serve 12 different salads every day, tapas, appetizers, cheeseboards and selection of pates, fresh pasta with 3 different sauces, in showcooking one meat and one fish a day, 4 types of potatoes, 8 vegetables, 2 soups and a 2 creams per day, a stew, a paella, a rice, 4 different meat dishes and 4 more fish dishes every day.
If you come in all inclusive, you could also profit a smaller buffet open when the main restaurant is closed, until midnight when you could find something to eat all the day long.
With your card you could use the bar any time you want, from 10am to midnight, everything will be completely free. We have a main bar next to the restaurant, we have a fantastic chill out on the roof terrace and an other one open only by night inside the discoteque. On summer time we open an other one next to the swimmingpool.
You could choose among international first brands such as Vodka Absolut, Eristoff and Smirnoff; Gyn Bombay, Beefeater, Gordon and Larios; Ron Bacardi, Cacique, Havana 3; Whiskey Ballantines, Cuttysark, Four Roses, Passport, Bell’s, Dyk and Martini, Tia Maria, Malibu, Di Saronno, Ricard, Pernod, Heineken Beerand more…
With all inclusive card you could go to other hotels belonging to Magic Costablanca Group for a drink or to have lunch for example if you are in the opposite side of Benidorm and you don’t want to come back here. There are very big hotels having very nice swimming pools with slides, it could be funny to spend a “different day”. In summer time a courtesy bus daily connect the hotels helping guests moving from one to the other one.
First of all, the room you reserved was a Promo room, we always try to offer an upgrade when we can upon availibility but on Christmas time it was impossible. You are right when you say initially there were no tea facilities but we brought them in maximum 3 minutes.
About the loud you mention, you have to consider that celebrations like Christmas and New Year usually call on for higher occupancy rates and joy.
As a very responsible company we assure you , first of all, that all security measures are in place and met by Spanish law and passed by all international Tour Operator audits as well.
We have an intense quality system in place with constant audits in food and hygiene. The virus you mention was in the air and not caused by the hotel nor related to food, it was brought in by someone who was sick.
The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer satisfaction, fulfillment of expectations and enjoyment and we will continue working hard to make our guests’ holiday a special one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

What brilliant place to stay,close to all amenities and levante beach just 10 minutes walk
Lovely and clean,fabulous food,the entertainment was limited but the hotel is so close to other local entertainment ,it was fine,and quite nice to just stroll around the corner to something different each night
The spa wasn't for us,but many other people we spoke to said it was lovely
Nothing negative to say about the dynastic
We will be back to stay here again next year

Room Tip: Ask for a floor level above the second floor or no sun on your balcony at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Happyholidays2013,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate all positive comments and are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer, your satisfaction, fulfilment of expectations and enjoyment. and reviews like yours help us understand we are accomplishing our objectives.

Looking forward to welcome you in a close future.

Kind regards
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Hotel Villa del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The positives - the hotel was lovely and spotless, the location was wonderful and the alcohol on the all inclusive was premium brands.... the negative was that we neglected to take a safe (3 euros per day). This was the first time I had ever not had a safe and has been a lesson learned. We went out on Christmas eve night and I had left my purse out of sight in the room. I discovered the next day that all my cash had been taken and also my bank debit card. When I reported this to reception, the response was "this has never happened before". I have since emailed the hotel who have not responded.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Gust,

It us is very pleasing to receive this type of positive critiques for that undoubtedly we are grateful deeply and encourages us to continue in the line of growth and improvement continues. I do not still have any more that to return to have the pleasure of greeting yourselves again in my establishment.

Kind regards,
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Hotel Villa del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Mar Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa del Mar, totally refurbished this winter, in first line of the Poniente beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.