We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Del Mar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Del Mar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to Benidorm in 2000 and decided to go back this summer. We wanted a hotel in the old town on the seafront. Having seen good reviews we booked this hotel via Thomas Cook in early February 2013 to go early June. We were really disappointed to get an email at short notice to say that due to a computer error the hotel was overbooked and they had moved us elsewhere. No way ! Luckily we were able to change dates, but in doing so had to pay an extra £170 to go to this hotel. Was it worth it? Yes ! Problem on arrival as the sea view room we booked had no power, and we were given a pool view room.. However the following morning the problem was not only sorted but we were upgraded to a Jacuzzi sea view room. Normally costing £18 per person per night! Reception staff were really understanding about our initial disappointment. In fact they were brilliant! The food was very good and although the dining room isn't huge we never had to wait for a table. Food was replenished quickly and the choice was amazing. We were surprised to get branded drinks as this is not normally the case with IA. Bar staff were friendly, especially on the roof terrace. Any down sides? Only 1. Surprised that towels and other items of clothing are allowed to be hung outside front windows to dry. Otherwise just to say that if you prefer to go to the beach you will have to pay for sunbeds and umbrellas, which at 4 euros for each item, can soon add up over the week. Also the beach is raked in the early hours of the morning and tends to be noisy, it can impact on your sleep quality. Would we go back to this hotel? Yes! Definitely.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are OK if you don't mind the noise of the tractor raking the beach in the early h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Brighton Bella1
Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate all positive comments and are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer, your satisfaction, fulfilment of expectations and enjoyment. and reviews like yours help us understand we are acomplishing our objectives.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays a special one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    290
    98
    29
    27
See reviews for
395
609
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just finishing a week at the hotel villa del mar and must say it's lived up to our expectations.
We were a family of 4 (12) (16) year old's . As have previously stated the alcohol served are international brand's , Smirnoff', Heineken etc. Whist there was a slight problem with the Internet it was dealt with in a swift and a apologetic manner as you would expect from a 4 * hotel. The hotel is situated in the old town of Benidorm but is with in walking in distance of numerous bars and restaurants if you decide to eat out for a change from the all inclusive as we stayed. We arrived early in the morning and they done there best to get the room ready as quick as they could and when we got our room there was a bottle of wine and fresh fruit already waiting for us :) . We have stayed in benidorm a number of times over the years in various hotels 3* and 4* and must admit this is one of the best 4* Not your usual pack them in treat them cheap hotel . On a last note they have bbc1 and bbc2 itv1,2, and it4 English Chanel's on a 32" wall mounted tv ;)

Room Tip: Sea view room, breath taking :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Kaijack
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'd like to use your opinion as an example of what the main goal of our establishment is, None other than your complete enjoyment and fulfillment of your expectations.

Your kind words about our staff make us really proud and will be directly passed to all of them to congratulate their hard work on making people's holidays the best.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays special.

We look forward to welcome you back in a close future.

King regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last week and were greater by the most welcoming staff I have ever come across. This was our first holiday as a family abroad and we picked a good hotel. Our room was very clean and had everything a family needed for a great stay. The food was good with Lots of choice, but my wife is a vegan and the chef had difficulty understanding this requirement. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the old town and if you really want a big night out, it's only a 40 min walk to the new town. We went all inclusive and I recommend you do this as the alcohol and soft drinks in Spain are expensive, especially with children who want a soft drink every 10 min. The beach is very clean and very accessible from the hotel.
All in all this was a good holiday. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that the pool is small and my wife was not catered for. I think the hotel should also enforce its policy on people holding beds, number of times I saw towels holding beds for over 2 hours and the policy was that you could on,y do it for 30 min.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Richard C
We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor these comments to manage improvementes in our services to match all of our guests expectations. Sometimes we make mistakes but in order to improve we need to be reminded of them.

In Magic Costablanca and Hotel Villa del Mar we work hard to be better day by day and to always accomplish your satisfaction and enjoyment, therefore we would like to recommend you to ask for our special amigos cards in reception on your next visit, and benefit from it's special advantatges.

We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Travelled 12th june 2013,
After a very stressful time getting to hotel after flights cancelled, veronica and her team we'r there to great us with a smile, nothing was too much trouble for them, we had 3 rooms booked and had 1 room upgraded to a spa room without our knowledge wow!!! The rooms wer just as the photos fantastic and a bottle of bubbly and and chocolates, nice gesture, the alinclusive was very good, never had such large measures and there was proper coffee!!! Food excellent and plenty of choice, always replenishing it so always fresh, excellent location right on beach 10 mins walk to old town, always get a sunbed, 4 euros a bed or umbrella, same price as 2yrs ago when we were in benidorm,
Well done villa del mar to all your staff, very well run hotel

Room Tip: Ask for seafront, rear view not so good, all thou rooms are just as nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sallyjoyce
Thank you very much for your kind words of our staff. They work very hard every day and focus their efforts in fulfilling all of our customers expectations. We are proud to read this opinion to know that all their hard work is achieving our main goal wich is your satisfaction and enjoyment.
I can assure you that all of them, me included, look forward to welcome you and your party, back in a near future.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here from 17th - 26th June 2013. Before we arrived we were concerned about the reviews regarding others being moved to the sister hotel. When we arrived we were greeted with fizz and told that we all had sea view rooms (there was 9 of us) which we loved. The rooms were cleaned everyday along with clean towels daily. The hotel was immaculate and plenty of room. The pool is smaller than other hotels that we have been to however, as the hotel is quite small there was enough room for everyone. If there wasn't enough room at the pool there was always room on the rooftop (which was amazing!). The food was good and there was plenty of choice for everyone, even fussy eaters. The restaurant was quite busy a few nights however we always managed to find a seat. The staff throughout the hotel were great and attentive, reception staff were great and helped when our transfers were incorrect and with a dash to the hospital! We celebrated a 70th Birthday whilst we were there and the staff organised a cake which was brought out in the restaurant with some more fizz along with the entire restaurant singing! ! The location of the hotel is a massive advantage. It's literally bang on the beach and only a 5-10 min walk to the Old Town. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Nicole W
Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate all positive comments and are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer, your satisfaction, fulfilment of expectations and enjoyment. and reviews like yours help us understand we are acomplishing our objectives.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays a special one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife booked this hotel 6months ago with three sisters and three friends through travel republic to celebrate a 50th birthday.this hotel was chosen as it is opposite the beach with generally good reviews leading up to the holiday we had noticed a few reviews of guests being turned away as overbooked and sent to the sister hotel called magic rock.Obviously we were slightly concerned but dismissed it and decided to go anyway you guessed it on arrival we were told they had no rooms for us and that we should have recieved an email a week before letting us no ( I check my emails every day certainly did not recieve one) .We were then sent to the cheaper hotel with no refund offered this obviously happens more often than they let on and the magic rock where you get sent is a dump so don't book this hotel as you may not get the chance to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear 847garyw
We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor these comments to manage improvementes in our services to match all of our guests expectations. Sometimes we make mistakes but in order to improve we need to be reminded of them.

In Magic Costablanca and Hotel Villa del Mar we work hard to be better day by day and to always accomplish your satisfaction and enjoyment, therefore we would like to recommend you to ask for our special amigos cards in reception on your next visit, and benefit from it's special advantatges.

We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 13th until 21st June third visit to the hotel and by far the best hotel in benidorm staff all very helpful Ali and the Girls in the resturant and the bar staff our the best, also thank you to the maid who cleaned our room every day and left it spotless and clean towels everyday we stayed in room 808 which was a dream thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Steve 14051955
We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor these comments to manage improvementes in our services to match all of our guests expectations. Sometimes we make mistakes but in order to improve we need to be reminded of them.

In Magic Costablanca and Hotel Villa del Mar we work hard to be better day by day and to always accomplish your satisfaction and enjoyment, therefore we would like to recommend you to ask for our special amigos cards in reception on your next visit, and benefit from it's special advantatges.

We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Mar Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 194 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa del Mar, totally refurbished this winter, in first line of the Poniente beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Del Mar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.