We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Eduardo Zaplana, Rotonda Del Fuego S/N | Terra Mitica, 03502 Benidorm, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 192 hotels in Benidorm
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely resort to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

To start with, the hotel is not actually in Benidorm but outside of Benidorm, which is a big plus. If you know Benidorm you know this means no marauding hordes of drunk people. The rooms are very spacious and well- designed. The concept for the bathroom is actually very clever with separate units for shower, loo and bathtub. You do feel very comfortable in the room and it's very quiet. There are a bunch of stealth cleaning angels who appear in your absence (every time you step out!) and clean the place within an inch of its life.
The design looks Moroccan with loads of Buddhist/Eastern details. The gardens are amazing and very well maintained. The hotel is located on a hillside so you get amazing panoramic views of Benidorm and the sea. I really liked the feel and design of the place.
Service: the service is good. Everybody is polite, professional, efficient and friendly.
Pools: there are quite a few of them and they are amazing.
Food: I read a lot of bad reviews about the food but so far my experience has been different. We ate at InBlack and Palapa and the food was very good and the service was even better.
Spa: we also had a Thai massage and it was very good. We had Thai masseuses and they were very professional. The spa also has a lovely pool, a jacuzzi and a steam room. It is a great place for relaxation.

All in all I would most definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: We got the basic one and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    163
    57
    17
    14
See reviews for
130
355
16
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went multiple times to Asia Gardens for their good restaurants as an external guest. I was invited by friends who booked this resort to visit their room, and I must say it is high class, and much better than most of the Benidorm usual standards!
Rooms with a view are particularly appreciable I think! The gardens are really a pleasure to walk through, the pool is huge, and the service follows Asian standards of friendliness...what else to ask for? Just be ready to pay the price!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A beautiful Thai style hotel, with amazing gardens and swimming pools, all really well done. Bedrooms and ensuite also luxe Thai style. The staff throughout the whole hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. It is hard to believe that this hotel is only ten minutes away from Benidorm, it's like being in another country! Very calm, serene and zen like. Breakfast was very good, loads of variety. As was the evening meal, a help yourself buffet, with vino de la casa included.

Our only small complaint was the fact that certain areas of the amazing gardens/pools, are chained off with a notice - only for clients staying in suites - in other words, segregation, which is a bit off putting considering the prices charged, it feels a bit demeaning.

Apart from that minor detail would definitely stay there again. It was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were not sure what to expect from an Asian hotel in Benidorm but it works - staff are fantastic, the location is great, we loved the rooms and the pool areas are magnificent. There are a variety of very good restaurants in the complex - we tried all of them and they are all different but very good. Breakfast is opulent and again - the staff in ll restaurants are just amazing. We did not even go into Benidorm once but managed to do some shopping in a nearby shopping centre. The Spa is brilliant - all staff we met were trained in Thailand and were very experienced. The only comment I would have is the charge for the indoor pool - at 20 Euros per hour/per person when the weather is not good is just over the top. Apart from that - very good - we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having had a weekend in Benidorm, we decided to call in at this hotel to check it out for a future hotel to take a number of friends. We did not get passed the gate, we were refused entry and told that it was not convenient to visit the hotel and have a look at that time and could we call back later in the day. Not sure I would a) recommend to my friends or b) give them the business.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently visited this work for a sales conference. Transfer from Alicante airport was approx 30 mins. The lobby/atrium of the hotel is immense, high ceiling, Thai themed but not at all tacky. I was in block 8 which was approx 5 mins walk from the reception through the stunning gardens.

My room was massive, large balcony overlooking Benidorm. The hotel is set approx 15 mins up into hills above the resort but its like being a world away! The bathroom was very luxurious with sliding doors you could open into the bedroom whilst in the bath. There is an iPod docking station which was superb sound quality and it charges your iPod. Maids were very attentive, tidying very efficiently, I had to search for my bikini a couple of times as they had tidied it away. There was also a turn down service every evening.

We were lucky to have free time in between the conference sessions and took full advantage of the heated Zen pool. Technically this is the children's pool, but it also has a snack bar. Refreshments and food are not cheap here. Pizza was 11 euros, sandwiches 12 I think. Large beer was 4.50 euros and spirits ranged from between 5-8 euros. You do not get service to your sun loungers but if you order at the bar, they will bring your drinks across to you, with complimentary crips and peanuts. The pool was really warm, like a hot bath. It's an infinity pool but good for children, there is a jacuzzi here as well. The other pools looked amazing but were absolutely freezing. There are plenty of sun beds and you can get towels from a hut down near the main pool. The restaurant near the main pool is very expensive, 15 euros for a salad and only really offers a Thai selection of food.

We ate in the Udaipur buffet restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Massive selection of food for breakfast, continental, hot - bacon etc and the chef will make omelettes fresh for you. Lunch was equally good, really good selection of food (and I am a fussy eater).

The gardens around the hotel are amazing, little pathways leading between the different blocks of rooms. There are pools with goldfish, bird and frog sounds (which we think were piped recordings), waterfalls and lots of lush green shrubbery.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and there is a great air of relaxation in the whole resort, yet you are only 15 mins (approx 15 euros) away from Benidorm.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want a luxury, peaceful holiday. Although it is suitable for children, I think you'd have to be fairly wealthy to cover the costs of all the meals, refreshments etc. the hotel is very secluded so there isn't the option of popping to a supermarket for supplies.

Room Tip: Try and get a room not on the lower level 0 as you don't get a balcony or view. I was in room 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights at the Barcelo Asia Gardens of Benidorm at the beginning of April, and we have so many good reasons for us to recommend this place!
Arrival from Alicante airport was late but we had pre-warned the hotel beforehand. Taxi was quick (about 35 minutes to reach the hotel). Wheather was fine at our arrival (about 17-18°C at 10:00 PM), especially considering that we were coming from northern Europe with temperatures not higher than 3°C.
Check-in at the hotel was quick with very efficient and friendly english-speaking staff. The lobby is just grand and you straight away have the feeling that you are going to have a great time in this resort. We were then brought to our lovely room and despite the night time we could already feel the luxuriant pieces of gardens. Our room was large, clean, finelly decorated with a lot of dark wood. Our bed was huge and very confortable. We were located in one of the fartest building but what seemed to be a big distance on the resort map was finally really a short walk from the lobby bulding. Free wifi was very much appreciated.
The next morning, after a buffet breakfast with pretty much enough food choices to make anyone happy for the day, we discovered the whole resort. The gardens are just magnificient and have nothing less than what can be found in many resorts...in Asia. It has two lovely heated pools (at this time of the year, this is a must) as well as a large un-heated pool that is divided into several portions (amazing... and must be so much fun during summer!).
We tried the All Black and Kho Samui restaurants. Food was very good and wine selection a great discovery. The buffet dining at Udaipur restaurant was not bad either but somehow a level below the two other restaurants we tried.
It was our first time in this resort and we really felt positively surprized by the highest standard of quality that are found in this place. We have travelled quite a bit in Asia and we were also amazed by the fact that you could find such a resort in Southern Spain that has the same features of what can be found in many places in Asia. Surely a place to recommend to couples and families. We will get back there for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa

Address: Avda. Eduardo Zaplana, Rotonda Del Fuego S/N | Terra Mitica, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#14 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#22 Business Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Barcelo, Splendia, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel And Thai Spa
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Benidorm
Barcelo Hotel Benidorm
Barcelo Hotel Asia Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.