We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Les Monges

Pension Les Monges
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alicante Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Les Monges
Save
You added Pension Les Monges to your Saves list
Calle Monjas, 2, 03002, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 464 Hotels in Alicante Province
switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“It's just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2005

The room is very small. The bathroom can barely fit one person. Having said that, we only paid 39 euro a night so given that price, I can't really complain. The location cannot be beat - smack right in the old town where all the action is at night.

People in Spain are friendly but my general experience with hotel staff is that they are not that friendly. Our spanish is limited and the staff does not speak English well so it was difficult to get information about the town. But then it is such a small place it is not difficult to figure out the layout/places to see.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2005

We had booked 16 days in hostels in Spain, Switzerland, Austria, Germany, and Czech Rep. After 10 days of cold and rain north of the Alps we decided to fly back to Spain early for the warm sun but no hostel booked. We randomly picked Les Monges and what a find! The location couldn't be better. We were close to the beach, close to the barrio, in a very historic area. It was quiet, clean, modern, stylish, comfortable, and very affordable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I will never want to stay anywhere else in beautiful Alicante.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2004

Last september, i booked a room at LOS MONGES for my in-laws.
The person asked them to pay a one night deposit (37 euros) which was duly debited on their bank account...
SURPRISE... when they arrived at the hotel, no room was booked for them... and even more interesting, the man assured that they had never booked or paid anything... but ''kindly'' directed them to another hotel for his was fully booked!!!!!
He never accepted to admit that he had debited this 37 euros!!!

A place to avoid at all costs!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2004

I stayed at Les Monges last week on my first trip to Alicante. The rooms were immaculate, stylishly decorated, and the building itselt stood out. What a great place at a great price! Even the minibar drinks were reasonably priced. I would recommend this place to anyone and would surely stay here again when in Alicante.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2004

We had several issues at this hostel and if I could do it again, especially for the price since you can find better, I would stay somewhere else. The management was rude and unaccomidating and the night man was grouchy to say the least. Plus we got an added charge of 35 dollars becuase we had people in our room for 2 hours even though this 'rule' is not stipulated anywhere on the hostels summary. As any young traveler knows this sort of a fine is significant to say the least...can you afford to throw away extra money?

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2004

This was a fantastic find. It was incredibly cheap but offered an excellent standard in accommodation. The rooms are stylishly decorated with each one having a different theme. We stayed in a Moroccan themed room with a four poster bed and pretty tiles. This was fantastic value for money and really added to our experience of Alicante. Also check out the castle tourist attraction which is nearby. The park on the other side features some nice outdoor architecture and inventive water features.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2004

You won´t find a better Hostal in Spain for the price.
The Hostal is located in the lovely Old town of Alicante only 500 meters away from the fantastic playa del Postiguet. Bars for breakfast are close and for those who wish to do "fiesta" all night long: it just takes 20 steps to the Barrio with a great variety of bars and Pubs. Nevertheless the hostal is a quiet place and offers air conditioning which you definetly need during the summer. The rooms are tidy and clean, with shower and toilet. The price for a double room is 35 € plus 5 € for the air conditioning.
There is no wonder why it is absolutely necessary to make a reservation some weeks in advance.
Enjoy your stay!!!!

  • Stayed November 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Les Monges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Les Monges

Address: Calle Monjas, 2, 03002, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 464 Hotels in Alicante Province
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Pension Les Monges Hotel Alicante Province
Hotel Les Monges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Les Monges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.