We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifesaver” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villava

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villava to your Saves list
Hotel Villava
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Pamplona s/n, 31610 Pamplona, Spain   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Pamplona
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lifesaver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

It was late. We had no reservation. It was the middle of San Fermin festival. They graciosly took us in. For much cheaper than the published rate. Somehoq we had booked our orher hotel for the wrong day. But this place made it all right. Very nice staff. Free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
15
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My friends and I had booked a hotel in Pamplona to participate in the bull run in July. Due to various issues with the airline (radio failiure and lightening strike) we arrived incredibly late and the hotel we had originally booked had re-rented our room.
This hotel telephoned the Hotel Villava and they did have a room availible, which was surprising given how busy Pamplona was with the Bull Run.
The staff showed us 2 rooms, one being the 'penthouse' suite room 401. The room was lovely, and we were concerned how much it would cost, but were relived to find out it was £225 Euros a night, and slept 2, but there was a sofa in the room.
The room was spotlessly clean, with a very large balcony, Seperate lounge and bedroom, and a seperate modern shower & bath. 2 TV's and Kingsize bed.
The thing that was so good about the hotel was the staff, as we arrived at 4am, we had not booked, and could speak no Spanish. The staff reception were so accomodating and helpful under the circumstances, and was a godsend to get a hotel at the busiest weekend of the year. The room was incredibly comfortable, and about 5 mins taxi / drive into central Pamplona. I would definitely stay again .
It may not have been the cheapest option but it was a busy weekend, and the price was reasonable when split between 3.
There was a cafe in the hotel which was reasonable and a restaurant (which we did not use).

Room Tip: Room 401 on the 4th floor, great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 via mobile

Yes the hotel is not in the heart of the historic center, but it is very convenient if you have a car. It is located in a business park type area, so not much was open within walking distance as far as restaurants etc (we stayed over a holiday weekend). Our room was clean, good sized and very quiet. The room decor was a little dated, but we weren't in pamplona to sit in our hotel room. Parking and wifi were free. As far as an inexpensive place to stay in Pamplona this fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

One of the cheapest when comparing the prices in Pamplona last year. The service and the quality of the venue was really good, let´s say worth a little higher price.
But of course the location was not so central. There were a bus connection to the center nearby taking 15 to 20 mins and taxi took some 10 minutes. Well, what is far, it is far!
The staff was freindly and they were able to communicate in English, which is not so usual in Spain however. They had a cosy bar opened late in the night. The breakfast was good with quite a range of items. The room was not so large, but very comfortable with an excellent air conditioning and blinding curtains. Beds were comfortable and sheets were fresh and smooth which is not always the situation in Spain. What an experiance was to open the window early in the morning to face the fresh Northern mountain air and hear the birds singing... The factory beside the hotel was of course spoiling some of the view, but not too much to comment it more. I would highly recommend this place for couples and businessmen appreciating good facilities and medium service level.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed here the opening week of the running of the bulls. The hotel is about a 10 minute (3KM) drive out of downtown Pamplona. You only need to catch the Number 4 bus and it drops you a block from the hotel entrance. The first night I got in, It was very late and I hadn't eaten since I had been traveling all day. The owner had his wife whip me up a warm meal that they had in the fridge and bread and drinks. It was great service. The rooms look freshly renovated. Either that or the hotel itself is brand new. There is a buffet breakfast in the morning and there is also a dinner. The prices are pretty par for Pamplona during the high season but I am not sure if they go down during the slow season. Also , since it was the high season, my meals were not included in the price. All in all it was a great hotel. I would have preferred to stay a little closer into town but this was the only hotel I could find for the price point I was looking for (especially during the festival) I would stay here again though I would maybe try to book a hotel earlier next time thus maybe getting something a little closer into town

The room had a flat screen TV with Satellite , and the bathroom was very large and modern. There was also free Wireless Internet in the rooms, which is a big plus when traveling in Spain since many hotels do not have this. The only negative thing about the room was that the hallway noise can be quite loud , especially if you are trying to sleep in. I think it might either be vents or just the doors but you can hear every footstep and every conversation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Rather than repeat, I agree with writer48 review and will add to it. We wanted to be closer to Pamplona than this hotel was. You CANNOT walk, either cab (10euro) or city bus (1.5 euro and 20 minute ride). Small convience store across the street to get water and snacks. Rooms are clean and plain. Bed was not very comfortable. Safe is tricky to use but works. Free wi fi. Overall, if your purpose is to visit Pamplona, then I would not rec. the hotel purely due to location. If you plan to go to other places and use the hotel as a base, then YES this is ideal. Owners are super nice and helpful. We also encountered some new staff members that were not so helpful and seemed to be put out to answer questions for us. Also keep in mind it is relatively easy to get a cab into Pamplona but you may have to wait a long time to get a cab back to the hotel especially at the evening/night times. There is also small restaurant there (we did not try it) and small place to get coffee (good and good price).

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Villava is a suburb of Pamplona, a five-minute drive to the center of the city. We chose this hotel for several reasons including its proximity to Pamplona (with frequent bus service and easy driving and parking facilities downtown), free-parking, and ease of access to major routes (to visit the reast of Navarra, like San Sebastian, the wine regions and much more).
This is a rather modern facility with a small coffee shop/bar on the first floor and a wonderful full-service restaurant off the rear of the main lobby. The rooms are surprisingly large, well-appointed and extremely clean. Free parking is avaiable in an outside lot adjacent to the hotel or in an underground garage.
The front desk was among the most accomodating we encountered anywhere in our frequent travels. Staff is comfortable in several languages and we were especially taken by Pilar and Pili, mother and daughter, who manage the hotel. This is a family-run business and they take great pride in the property and the services.
The food in the restaurant was nothing short of outstanding in every respect with local foods well-prepared and presented.
While Hotel Villava is perhaps better-known as a good business hotel because of its location and facilities, we found it it to be a wonderful holiday hotel, especially with the quality of the restaurant considered. The property has the feel and flavor of a family-run bed and breakfast, but with all the modern amenities of a larger hotel. We highly recommend this property and would most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villava

Address: Avda de Pamplona s/n, 31610 Pamplona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villava 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.