We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Fermin Respite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Albret

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Albret to your Saves list
Hotel Albret
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ermitagana 3, 31008 Pamplona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Pamplona
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“San Fermin Respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here during San Fermin and would recommend it. It's about a 30 minute walk to the festival activities and even shorter via bus 12. Very clean, it has one of the most outstanding breakfast buffets you will ever find (though it is pretty pricey). Free WiFi services are available, but are not very reliable (like much of Spain).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    42
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
31
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel's location is excellent - a few minutes away from the centre but in a quiet area. Parking our rented car was not a problem. We could have used hotel's garage. However we opted to park it in the parking spaces outside the hotel. The receptionists were welcoming and extremely helpful. The room has well sized and spotless, with a large TV, A/C and minibar. The TV channel lineup was rather disappointing as only four channels were on offer. But who would stay in when there's so much to do in Pamplona? Wifi was available in the lobby and hotel room for free and the wifi strength was excellent. The hotel cafeteria made a mean cafe con leche. However, we opted to explore other cafeterias in the area for breakfast and were never disappointed. There are a couple of parks near the hotel should one feel like an evening stroll. This hotel is a keeper!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the residential area at the side of the hotel since these are sunnier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I've stayed here each of the last two years for the San Fermin and will stay here again. Very clean, American style hotel rooms, air conditioning, great bathroom. Very nice - it is a good 20-30min walk down to the city centre and that is something to think about for the morning encierro, but it is very quiet and a great staging point to enjoy the festival.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great accommodations.. Just down the hill from the festival.. Buses run every 10 minutes, and stop 40 meters from the front door... The Albret has an outstanding restaurant with reasonable prices, even at the time of the festival of San Fermin.. This is my fourth stay at the Albret, and I can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during the San Fermin Festival and the Running of the Bulls. The hotel was good, although it is about a 1.5 mile (30 minute) walk from the old section of Pamplona.

THE GOOD:
-Rooms: Clean, modern
-Cleanliness: Everything was spotless as near as I could tell
-Staff: Not all of them were fluent in English, but this is Spain, so you should be used to that. Regardless, the staff were very nice and accommodating of my lackluster Spanish
-Breakfast: Varied and filling, although about 11 EUR per person per morning (was NOT included when I booked through Expedia)
-Sleep: Comfortable beds, blackout curtains, cold A/C. What more do you want?
-Maps: Just a little thing, but helpful-- they had very informative and free maps in the lobby to take with you

THE MEDIOCRE:
-Internet: It was SLOOOOW in the lobby and did NOT work at all on the 6th floor. That being said, it was free, albeit frustrating at times.
-Location: It was a doable walk into town with only 2 or 3 turns, but walking it a few times a day got old very fast.

THE BAD:
-Nothing. The location would be bad if you aren't prepared to walk, but you should be able to catch a nearby bus or taxi.


Hopefully the internet issue is soon resolved-- otherwise, except for the walk, this was a great hotel. No other complaints.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are smoking rooms in this hotel (even through Europe seems to be banning smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I thought this hotel was great! It rooms are beautifully laid out and the staff is kind and accommodating. It is also very quiet at night so that you can get a good sleep. The hotel has a nice cafe and a continental style breakfast. However, if you are traveling to Pamplona for the San Fermin festival you may find it to be a bit out of the way. I found it hard to navigate my way back to the hotel from the city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We picked this hotel because it was out of "party central" during the running of the bulls. A little too far out, it was a 30 minute walk. I would pick to stay at Tres Reyes if you want to be closer. It was clean and spacious, beds were a little hard. It was part of our package with SPYNS tour company, I would definitely use them in the future. Spyns was the way to go!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Albret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albret

Address: Ermitagana 3, 31008 Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albret 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Albret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albret Hotel Pamplona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Albret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.