We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel "No Bull"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maisonnave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maisonnave Hotel to your Saves list
Maisonnave Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nueva 20, 31001 Pamplona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Pamplona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel "No Bull"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Really friendly reception staff lovely modern hotel with smart room and all mod cons. Comfy bed and good bathroom. A lively Tapas bar was attached to the hotel and an excellent restaurant. If you want to explore you don't need a taxi its all outside the door! We shall return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    203
    44
    9
    3
See reviews for
67
197
17
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very central location. The rooms are spotlessly clean. When I checked in my room was very warm. The staff changed it in minutes for a different one that was much cooler.

Very helpful, efficient, friendly staff.

Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ahhh Serendipity… I was a pilgrim walking the Camino into Pamplona. I was tired, hot, sweaty and NOT at all looking forward to staying in the city’s large albergue! As I was waiting to cross a road in the nearby town of Villava and a local gentleman struck up conversation with me. When he found out I was looking to stay at a hotel in Pamplona he emphatically insisted I go to The Maisonnave Hotel.

I thought I would give it at least a walk-by. When we approached the The Maisonnave Hotel we paused… It was very nice… in fact, from the curb it looked like it may have been too pricey for our budget. My husband and I debated, then we decided to go in and just ask for the cost and if it was more than what we could afford, we would ask them for a recommendation for another hotel.

Not only was the cost very reasonable, the charmingly-friendly, informative and English-speaking desk clerk changed my whole Camino! The Maisonnave Hotel is part of the Posadas del Camino (www.posadasdelcamino.com), the Posadas are not a chain… but a group of nice establishments along Camino de Santiago de Compestela. If you stay at one, get their Camino Card and you get a 10% discount from any subsequent posada stays!

We stayed at The Maisonnave Hotel for just one night. As I mentioned before, we were tired, sweaty and dirty… we had just walked 30km! We shuffled in, complete with backpacks and without a reservation. We must have been a sight, but the staff never batted an eyelash at us. We were treated very well. The hotel is centrally located – about 100 yards from the Tourist Information Center at the Town Hall. Our room was a nice size, clean and comfortable. We had a double bed and the bathroom had a shower and a good-sized tub! We had plenty of hot water and the water pressure was invigorating. WiFi was free and the speed was good. Our room had street view and yet our room was very quiet. The next day, refreshed and renewed, we continued our Camino. The subsequent Posadas suggested by The Maisonnave Hotel were also incredible. One of the luckiest things that happened to us on this trip to Spain was learning about The Maisonnave Hotel!

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

we were on a motorbike touring trip and found this hotel by accident . the outer view of the hotel made me a bit suspicious of what they would want per night each but we were pleasantly surprised 35 euros each, then we paid extra for breakfast, on our trip we stayed at another hotel in this group. the bar area has an old world feel and charm to it and is very pleasant to have a beer or coffee, the rooms are modern in style and very comfy to sleep in
the hotels location is excellent to just walk out at night and eat or drink locally, we didn't pay extra to use the garage area as it was 9 euro each , which for a bike was a bit steep, we had no problems leaving the bikes on the st anyway. staff were very good and directed us out of the hotel to where they thought we would enjoy a night out. no complaints about it at all

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork,ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

everything about this hotel was wonderfull excellent rooms wonderful staff and great food.The hotel provided secure underground parking (pay) which was well worth the cost. This hotel is right in the centre of the old town of Pamplona and all major attractions are an easy walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for just one night. The room was contemporary, clean and comfortable, wooden floors (which I prefer to carpet.) Comfy bed, really everything you would expect. Wifi was free, but a bit hit and miss in the room (Ok on the toilet curiously).

The staff were very helpful.

I will however focus on the food!!!! We were enroute to France, so fancied Pamplona as a stop over. Its a nice town worth a visit, but by early evening we hadn't spotted a restaurant we fancied so decided to try the hotel grub.

The restaurant is not huge and being early was fairly empty. I expected standard fare, but was I wrong! We had the menu del dia, three courses plus wine and coffee. Whilst we waited they served us an samll appetizer of soup in a shot glass. For a starter we had a faux rice (fresh pasta) dish with gorgonzola and roasted goats cheese salad. I wish I knew what they did to the goats cheese, it was fabulous. We went and bought some pasta to try and recreate the faux rice at home.

For main we had a cod dish and a beef steak dish. Both were exceptional and washed down with a bottle of house red, really good. We both had a cheese mousse dessert, very light and fluffy, then coffee, served with chocolates.

Service was attentive and very professional. A lovely experience.
Heres the good bit, the whole meal was 21 euros (each). I thought this was stunning value.

Breakfast was included, there was a wide choice of standard cold meats etc plus warm food. My fave was a leg of ham from which I carved what I wanted.

Would I stay again...you bet, would I eat there again? Absolutely.

The hotel has its own underground parking nearby. If you have heavy bags you can drive to the front door, however it is a one way street, so you have to go around the block to get back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a larger hotel than many that we are staying in on the camino but was very well done, and the rooms were clean and modern. Great value and nice amenities but we didn't really use them as the nearby tapas bars beckoned. Easy to find on the Camino.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maisonnave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maisonnave Hotel

Address: Nueva 20, 31001 Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pamplona
#5 Family Hotel in Pamplona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pamplona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maisonnave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maisonnave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maisonnave Hotel Pamplona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maisonnave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.