We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for the Pamplona Celebrations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Ciudad de Pamplona by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Ciudad de Pamplona by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Ciudad de Pamplona by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Iturrama 21, 31007 Pamplona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Pamplona
Dunstable
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for the Pamplona Celebrations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

For years I had desired to go to see the 'Running of The Bulls' at the San Fermin festival in Pamplona. After much research I learned that accommodation prices can triple during this two weeks of celebrations.

I was pleasantly surprised to find this small Marriott hotel just one mile away from the centre of the old town which is a 25 minute walk at moderate pace to the the Plaza de la Castillo at the heart of all the main historical sites. In addition you can catch a number 2 bus that takes 10 minutes and taxis are located nearby. The hotel is impressive in chic modern style and the rooms sumptuous and welcoming and cool as air con was on for when we checked into the room. There was only one niggle and that was although there was free wi fi in the lounge area downstairs you had to pay to use it in your room which surprised me as most hotels nowadays supply this free as standard.

I never got to use the restaurant so i cannot advise on this but there is a small room service menu available 24 hours there's lots of bars and cafes nearby and the odd restaurant.

This Hotel exceeded my expectations I was very pleased with it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    75
    33
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
53
11
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great little hotel, located close to the old town of Pamplona. We stayed in a deluxe suite which had a separate lounge and study area. The rooms are clean and well decorated, it is easy to find the hotel and to park your car close by. It is an easy walk into town. The staff are helpful and courteous and the free wifi in the public areas was useful and reliable. We didn't dine at the hotel so I don't know what the food is like. I would recommend the hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: If you stay on level 1, you can access the free public wifi in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Quality hotel in residential neighborhood. All staff evidently trained to provide a "memorable" experience for guests. Secure parking and plenty of restaurant choices in area. Within 15 minutes of historical district and "toro" heaven.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a very nice property away from the city center, but within a 20 minute walk, or bus ride.
Built for the business community, I stayed while resting on the Camino. It is in a quiet neighborhood with lots of shops, and a University close by.
There is an ample cold buffet breakfast with Spanish hams, cheese, etc.
There is one English-speaking channel which is difficult to find on the remote (ask at the desk); and the volume button is set for "low" and I could not change it?
There is a nice lounge/bar area off the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been staying at the AC Hotel since 2006 and was back last weekend for Spyns running of the bulls tours guide training. The hotel was recently taken over by the Marriott group with some changes - some good, some not so good. Starting with the positives, the AC Pamplona has hands-down the best service in town. Capably run by a manager named Gabriel, it's a tribute to his management style that the staff hasn't really changed over the years, save for the addition of several newcomers. The front-desk staff are friendly, multilingual, and highly efficient. I think the head housekeeper deserves a medal because the AC is also one of the cleanest hotels in Pamplona. While most hotel rooms look a bit worn, my recent stay in room 106 felt like visiting a showroom. So I take my hat off to the head housekeeper and her staff. If you're planning on staying here during the running of the bulls, it's a 15-20 minute walk downtown which is far enough away from the noise so you'll have a good night's sleep. Now on a more critical review. First, only a corporate office in another country could have come up with the idea to install a massive sales kiosk in the hotel lobby. Yes you can buy a Snickers and Marriott t-shirt, but it darkens the reception area and cheapens it a bit. I'd get rid of it. Second, despite my years of protest, the hotel is still charging for in-room internet. Roughly $15 (12 Euros) for 24 hours is both expensive and outdated. Third, the quality of breakfast has come down quite a bit. This is the second time I've found too few glasses and not enough selection at breakfast. Clearly there is a certain degree of head-office cost-cutting and attempts to boost revenues (the smoke-shop in lobby for example). Despite these negatives, the friendly welcome, clean rooms, excellent showers/bathrooms, and close proximity to the festival make the AC our most popular hotel for Spyns running of the bulls tours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having worked with the AC Hotel since 2006 and following a recent stay here in November 2012, I know why this is Spyns former clients' favourite bull run hotel. Spyns runs group tours to Spain's bull run festival held in Pamplona every July. The AC has hands down the best customer service I've had in Pamplona, both during the festival and the rest of the year. Check in is always prompt, friendly, and professional. The rooms are always very clean, well-appointed, and have great bathrooms. I had a standard double during my November 2012 and it looked as spotless as my double room back in July 2006. The beds are huge with very comfortable mattresses (an improvement over 2006) and the sheets felt brand new. Towels were light and fluffy, meaning the hotel regularly replaces them. Water pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water. I'm a light sleeper so the heavy curtains, quiet neighbourhood, and quiet hallways (off season our during the festival) are heaven. The hotel doesn't serve a hot breakfast (no bacon or eggs) but they do lay out an excellent buffet. I was pleased to see the hotel finally moved away from an overpriced paid in-room Wifi service to a simple, free, code-based system. But they still have rather outdated in-room phones. The Wifi signal was strong and fast on both the ground floor or in my 6th floor room. This has long been my favourite hotel for the running of the bulls and we'll be back in 2013 for the July San Fermin festival.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This chain is quickly becoming one of my new favorites - we also stayed at an AC Marriott in Madrid. We are Marriott members but this is really a cut above when you compare the value for the quality. The rooms are ultra modern, really comfortable and this particular hotel had a shower that was to die for..since we are members they comped us into one of the suites - not sure if the standard rooms have the multi head shower stalls...This is in the central business district but it was only about a 15/20 minute walk to the historic center of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Ciudad de Pamplona by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Ciudad de Pamplona by Marriott

Address: Calle Iturrama 21, 31007 Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
#14 Business Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Ciudad de Pamplona by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AC Hotel Ciudad de Pamplona by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Pamplona
Ac Hotel Pamplona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Ciudad de Pamplona by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.