We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sancho Ramirez Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sancho Ramirez Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sancho Ramirez Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Sancho Ramirez 11, 31008 Pamplona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 34 hotels in Pamplona
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed with my partner for a week after San Fermín, in July 2012. The hotel is 20-30 minutes from the old town, in the Yamaguchi Park area, so the location is OK, and line 4 stops near the hotel. It seemed to be a hotel area, as there're other (and better!!!) hotels in the same area. Traffic noise can be a problem at night if your room doesn't look out into the park (less traffic there).
They've got 2 kinds of double rooms, if you get 2 single beds they're big and there's a bathtube in the bathroom. If you get 1 bed, it isn't too big and there's a shower only in the bathroom, a shower where the water splashes everywhere so you flood the bathroom even if you try to be extra careful.
Rooms have wi-fi connection (although we didn't try it), there're 2 computers in the foyer but it seemed you had to pay to get online.
The furniture, doorframes etc were broken, rotten in one room but better in the other. We had to change rooms as the first time that we used the A/C it started dripping and when we realised, the desk (where the TV was) was all wet, there could've been a shortcut.
The buffet-breakfast is good: they offer bread rolls, slices of bread that you can toast, biscuits, pastries, cereal, plums, currants, fresh fruit, yoghourt, cold meat, cheese, jam, butter... Milk, coffee, different kinds of tea bags, assorted juices etc. The lady in the restaurant is nice, but the toaster broke down and no-one came to fix it for days (in fact when we left it hadn't been fixed yet).
They're very strict about check-out. We had to travel at 4 pm but there was no way to cajole them into letting us stay after 12 pm, they told us we'd have to pay half the hotel fare!

Room Tip: Rooms on the park side are quieter. No swimming-pool. Posters said that the hotel gives vouchers fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
17
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tryp Sancho Ramirez July 10-13, 2011. We liked that the hotel always seemed to have someone who spoke English at the front desk, as our Spanish was rusty. Our room was clean and quiet. Housekeeping was very friendly. The hotel was a good bargain compared to the other hotels in Pamplona during the San Fermin festival. The location is a long walk or a short bus ride from the festival's epicenter. The onsite dining was a little pricey, but overall we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Stayed here with my boyfriend during San Fermin 2009. The location is ok, 15-20 minutes to walk from the bus station. Since it's a bit outside of the craziness Pamplona is during the festival, it was pretty quiet. Rooms were okey - not the largest rooms we've seen, but clean and with AC and a minibar. The hotel staff was nice, all the receptionists we met spoke English fairly well. Quite expensive during san fermin, but I guess that goes for all the hotels in the area.

If I return to Pamplona during san fermin, I would however try to find a hotel in the city centre. If not for any other reason, the thought of having your very own bathroom available nearby sounds like heaven when you've been waiting in line for 20 minutes...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2006

Stayed for a night in the middle of the bull-running festival. I paid a reduced price of 170 AUD, 140US a night for one. Good value considering the other prices.

A clean comfortable hotel - not in the town centre but a 20minute walk to the activities. 20 minutes is not worth another 100 dollars.

I would however would recommend to bring just a backpack and book hotel accomodation only for every 2nd night. Time it right and get a shower every day.

The town is alive all night so security is no problem, and if you are young you can save a lot of money and lose not much comfort.

Pack a white shirt and pants and save on having to buy the overpriced festival uniforms (mandatory if you don't want to look like a dumb tourist).

STAY AWAY from the Hotel Castillo de Javier.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — Receptionist for one of the night couldn't speak English. Considering it's a tourist town in season ...
  • Tips/Secrets — Good place to stay
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2004

We stayed there for 3 days during San Fermin 2004. The cost of the room during the festival for was a massive £250 per night but it is standard practice for all hotels in Pamplona to increase their rates considerably during this week.

On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and desptite my complete lack of Spansish other than dos cerveza she checked me in, gave me a standard red neckerchief and a map of where the bull run would happen. She also advised that the hotel could get us tickets for a bull fight and a balcony to view the run if we wanted it.

Disapointingly despite paying all that cash for the room we were also charged 11 Euros for parking per night.

We obtained tickets for the Sunday evening through the hotel which were a massive 72 Euros each for a face value ticket of 16 Euros. Top tip is that after each fight the box office opens and sells spare tickets the following day we got better tickets for just 26 Euros directly from the box office.

One of the real plus points is that each day the Matadors who are fighting that evening come to the hotel for interviews and photographs the manager of the hotel made sure we got a good view. One evening we actually saw a couple before the fight dressed in their full togs who had been staying there.

Our room was somewhat of a dissapointment for the money paid. Whilst it was clean and modern it was very small and faced into an inner square which meant it had NO daylight which was quite depressing during the time we were there.

I also thought the hotel was just a bit too far out of town it took around 40 minutes to walk in. Whilst this meant you were staying in a quiet area it was just a bit too far out. Often we caught a taxi on the way home which was difficult to get.

Breakfast was a little bit of a let down but as I am of the full English brigade I usually find this in continental hotels.

The balcony hire to watch the run organised by the hotel was a big plus point. It cost 36 Euros for a large balcony with space for 6 people if you have the opportunity to do this go for it!

Last time I stayed at the Ac Circuid. This was a similar distance out but with a better room and a free minibar. I also prefered the food there.

However if you are going for San Fermin the Sancho Ramierez is the place to be as it seems to cater much better for those interested in the festival and what a bonus having Matadors in the hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sancho Ramirez Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sancho Ramirez Hotel

Also Known As:
Sol Melia Pamplona
Address: Calle Sancho Ramirez 11, 31008 Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 34 hotels in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sancho Ramirez Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sancho Ramirez Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sancho Ramirez Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.