We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra modern chic just just out of central Pamplona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso

Save Saved
You added AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Beloso Bajo 11, 31006 Pamplona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Pamplona
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Ultra modern chic just just out of central Pamplona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Muga de Beloso is a super cool design hotel set in the swathe of parkland along the river flats of Pamplona. It is not really on the outskirts of town - there's plenty more development further out - but it is about a 15-20min walk to get to the Plaza de Toros which is the beginning of the central area where all the action is. There is a bus, or just take a taxi, it's not far and won't cost much. We found being just out of the centre was actually very relaxing, and it certainly made it easy to arrive by car - no navigating tiny, windy, one-way streets in the centre of town.

The hotel itself was very stylish in a modern, minimalist kind of way. Walking down a black corridor with black carpet, tiny windows way up high and doors that look just like panels in the wall, only distinguishable by the finger print scanner next to them, it did feel a bit like we'd just checked into the best hotel on the death star, but it was certainly very cool. The room was large and well appointed: Free wifi, free non-alcoholic mini bar, good toiletries, fluffy towels and robes, comfy chairs and electric blinds that block out all light were all nice touches. Staff were friendly, efficient and multi-lingual, the pool/spa area was very cool, the views from the room were unexpectedly green and relaxing, there is a full restaurant and bar on-site, supermarket, bakery, etc a short walk away, on-site parking and a large garden/courtyard/lounge area, very designishly fitted out with couches, tables and lamps.

Overall, this hotel represents excellent value, and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    50
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
33
112
7
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Muga de Belosa is an all suite, modern hotel on the outskirts of Pamplona and has easily been our favourite stay of our trip to Europe so far (Spain, France, UK).
Why? Four reasons.
1. Spaciousness - the rooms are extremely large, well designed layout and therefore super comfortable. The expanse of landscape viewed through the huge floor to ceiling windows across one entire wall was restful and bucolic. A perfect panacea to the hustle and bustle of Barcelona from the day before
2. Quality - all appointments are of a high standard, fluffy towels, bathrobes & slippers, Malin + Goetz toiletries, exceptionally comfy beds, pillows & doona (a rarity on our trip so far), great loungers and ottomans etc etc
3. Quiet - the location on the fringes of Pamplona along with acoustic attenuation that actually means you can't hear your neighbours & passers by in the hall (again a rarity so far on this holiday) meant that we actually had a full nights sleep without interruption. Bliss. It does mean you need to take a taxi into Pamplona if you don't have a lot of time or energy, but this is quick, sub 10 euro ride and worth conserving time and energy for Pamplona itself
4. Service - sadly we can't speak Spanish but we had no issue as mentioned by other reviewers with English-speaking staff. We had breakfast, room service and dinner, ordered taxis and all our needs were met without language issues
Our only negative was an unimpressive dish as part of our room service. Upon mentioning this on check out, the whole cost of the room service was quickly and graciously removed from our bill. Very generous.
The complimentary wifi, mini bar and the willingness to allow us to check in very early (10am) all added to a very positive experience.
We hope to return and would certainly recommend Muga de Belosa to anyone lucky enough to visit Pamplona

Room Tip: If you can, take advantage of the extra room (60m2 & private terrace) and book a grand exec suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose the Muga del Belose because it appeared spacious, offered parking and seemed reasonably located for getting in and out of the city, perhaps even close enough to walk, it also appeared to offer something rather different. So where does one begin? The hotel is “attempting” to be ultra modern minimalist chic, and to be fair, boldly succeeds on most fronts. Modern; finger-print access to your room which I have to say worked on all occasions. Minimalist; certainly very few staff, and every attempt has been made to remove visual clutter, some might suggest it appears too plain. Chic; undoubtedly though it has to be said, the designers managed to get almost as much wrong as they got right. The panoramic view that greets one when you open the electronic blind in your room requires someone to actually get out of bed to press the button; some bright thing missed a trick there. That you enter your room through the bathroom , then through a sliding partition into the sleeping area was a difference that took a few moments to come to terms with, its all about preserving the uninterrupted view from your bedroom, which considering there was very little to see, was actually spectacular, a genuine wide screen vista. In attempting to keep things to a minimum, it can sometimes be difficult to navigate around the place, particularly the set of lifts that operate in conjunction with the car park. It is also worth noting that certain rooms (including ours) are a considerable walk from the reception area, useful to remember when meeting taxi’s etc.
And now to us, spacious, the whole hotel feels incredibly spacious, both in your room and in all the internal public areas, not quite so, outside in the “extensive” grounds. Parking; is underground, secured, huge and ultra modern with “access” to all floors. Proximity to the city; yes you could walk, but you would be doing Pamplona and yourselves a disservice, the hardest part is actually walking out of the hotel onto the main road, as the hotel is well below main street level, something that completely took us by surprise and our attempts at short cuts via the sports club next door foundered badly. There is an excellent bus service (No 4) into the main pedestrian area, though the bus stops are well spread out, or as we succumbed, the taxis (on meter) charge approx €10 each way. In conclusion, this is so far from my usual type of hotel, I did my darnedest not to like the place, but there are so many things about it that grew on me, it feels experimental, but having seen how it works I actually liked much of it. .

PS We managed to find the hotel without map or SatNav, a quick look on Google maps before we set out, and a lot of luck. Important to remember that the hotel is below street level, but is actually on a very major arterial road..
PPS Plaza de Castilo, Pamplona on a Saturday evening is not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very modern hotel (no keys, fingerprints). Spaceous rooms but as typical of Spain mostly only Spanish spoken [et je parle francais, ich spreche deutsch e parlo Italiano!). A short taxi ride to the action in the old town. I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my favorite of all our hotels on our trip, and we stayed at all fabulous hotels. This however, is something else again, which is why I picked it. I'm not all that much for hanging around a hotel all day, and we really didn't, even here, but one day it was much of the day, and it was awesome.
The room was just enormous and amazing. huge windows, balconies, just spectacular. The pool was sublime and the sunning was very relaxing.
True enough, it is not right in the city, and that walk can be a little grating. We figured that out soon enough and rented bikes. Solved. Fantastic. With the bikes I could have lived here.
Would go back just to stay at this hotel. Any day (in the summer!).

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just returned from a road trip around the Basque Country, in terms of hotels this was the highlight. Amazing room, total luxury with a huge window overlooking the countryside. Pool is a gem, nice gym, helpfull staff. It's a five minute cab ride from the Plaza de Castillo! Sat nav finds it hard to find so look out for the sign on your right as you exit Burlada. Brilliant place highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Español en Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are looking for a sophistacated, modern and high service level hotel do not think twice. It was my first time in Pamplona and it was amazing. The spacious bedroom, the best confort and exceptional service made the weekend unforgetable. Highly recomendable, do not miss it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso

Address: c/ Beloso Bajo 11, 31006 Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a unique building situated just minutes away from the centre of the city of Pamplona in Navarre. The city has emblematic highlights which include the famous Sanfermines festival and the Camino de Santiago. The privileged location enables clients to enjoy both the urban surroundings and a great variety of nature in an unbeatable setting. A design hotel that is modern and avant-garde with its own personality , it seeks to surprise and offer its clients new experiences. In order to meet the needs of its clients , it provides magnificent areas and services which gibe all events glamour and exclusivity whether they are family or business events, a private celebration or a banquet. The hotel has an outstanding meeting room for events and conventions. With capacity for 350 people , it is an open room with impressive views of the mountains surrounding Pamplona. It has the most advanced equipment in terms of sound, image and communications, and is the bests place for this type of event in the city . All rooms are outward-facing with a minimum surface area of 35m2 until 150 m2 . They have king size beds especially designed for AlmaHotels. The are also equipped with the most up-to –date technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.