We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin Standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cabana

La Cabana
Urbanizacion Buenavista, S/N, 30120 Murcia, Spain
968 37 98 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 521 Restaurants in Murcia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Michelin Standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

For a celebration, there is no finer restaurant experience. We had a truly exceptional lunch and will probably visit again next time we come to Murcia. It makes your tastebuds quiver and the courses just keep you entertained with sheer magic and inspiration.What a great find!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    17
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“What a find - you must try it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lunch at La Cabana was superb.

I knew the area because of visiting the hospital but had no idea that the restaurant was just behind it. It is a strange location but I have been told it mainly caters for weddings and party functions in the evenings and at weekends, hence the lunch only opening (except Thursday evenings).

We had the "Menu degustacion" which consisted of 7 small  hors d'oeuvres served in a variety of ways. A bit quirky and lots of fun. Then the meal started properly with a selection of 6 meat and fish dishes, not full size portions but a good taste of everything. And finally a pre desert, desert to die for and coffee and petit fours.  There were lots of quirky things on the menu and I am sure the chef has a great sense of humor which is reflected in his menu.  I cannot tell you how good the dessert was and I'm not even a fan of chocolate. Try it - Primavera

We also had the wine recommendations with each course. This consisted of a sparkling, white, 2 x reds and a sherry.  All were good, except sherry - not to my taste.  The  Ribero del Duero was really good, I took a note of it.  

The only thing that let it down slightly was the waiter service was not up to the standard we would have expected, a bit slap dash. Perhaps this is something that needs to be worked on.  Although the maitre'd was very good. The chef came to our table at the end of the meal and I hope I was able to convey our feelings with my very poor Spanish.   We arrived at 2.00pm and left at 5.00pm. It was relaxed and totally not rushed.  

The meal was expensive by Spanish standards but not by British standards, we would easily have paid double the cost at home.  The degustacion was €65 a head but with our wines, aperitifs and my husbands very expensive brandy, we paid a fair bit more. For a special treat it was really worth it.  

Highly recommended and we will go back. 

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zonhoven
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Went with high expectations and more than satisfied. Took some time to find the restaurant as the gps couldn't find it but once arrived it exceeded our expectations.
Went with the family, 2 adults and2 kids of 8 and even for the kids they make a small special menu.
Will certainly return on our next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Taste experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

On a steaming hot afternoon, our experience in the cool calm La Cabana was second to none. The tasting menu offered all our senses an unexpected outing. Visually the food exceeded our expectations and the taste surpassed the visual experience. Eighteen tantalising courses to delight the most discerning palate. I will not describe each one, but just say this was the most delightful meal I have eaten in several years, well worth it's newly appointed star! But also tremendous value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Extreme value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This one Michelin star restaurant opens only for lunch from Monday till Friday with an exception for Thursday evening. Needless to say that you need to make a reservation. We took the Menu Degustation a only Euro 56,-!!! 16 fantastic dishes, starting from a choice of bread and olive oils, till a variety of highly surprising and very delicious desserts. We asked for a wine menu which resulted in four different wines for the 16 dishes, great! This resaturant is worth a visit or even worth to travel to from whatever city in Europe. Never seen a restaurant offering, certainly not those with a Michelin star, offering such great value for money! We will go back soon!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabana also viewed

Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 

Been to La Cabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.