We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in Cartagena - value, harbour location and parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Cartagena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Cartagena to your Saves list
NH Cartagena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Real 2. Plza. Heroes de Cavite | Ensanche, San Gines, 30201 Cartagena, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cartagena
Herts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A night in Cartagena - value, harbour location and parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a good value hotel for a quick stop in Cartagena. We arrived via Murcia airport and only wanted to stay for one night.
If you are looking for car hire we would suggest you use Centauro car hire as the others have huge queues which take forever. They have a hire office in the main baggage claim area alongside all the other well known names. We also got a brand new car so were pretty pleased with the service and car.
To be honest one half day and one evening is plenty in Cartagena. There are some great Tapas bars (Av Colon) full of locals and a wonderful roman amphitheatre and this also leaves you time for a nice stroll around the harbour.
The hotel is clean and well positioned and you have access to a car park under the hotel. The car park lift alone is worth the visit if you are feeling adventurous ( you have to pay extra for parking).
Good location for a short-stop over before you move on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    169
    51
    12
    2
See reviews for
53
161
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel us in great location - walking distance from historic sites. It is really a 'business persons' hotel but offers reduced rates ( and facilities- restaurant not open for dinner) at week ends!! I will return and look out for other hotels in the group on my travels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its central location and that could not have been bettered. We were meeting friends on a cruise ship and the boat docked just a few minutes' walk away. The hotel was pleant and clean and the beds were comfortable although we also neede. to share the one bathrobe and pair of slippers provided. Fortunately,because of the central location, once we had managed to manouevre the car into the car park we did not need to take it out again before our departure as it was a really tight fit in both the car park and the lift down to it.
We upgraded to a room with a balcony and I am not sure that it was really worth the extra 20 euros per night. Also, the balcony rooms seem to have a very high step up onto the balcony and back down in to the room. For an elderly person or a young child it could be dangerous.
Beds were comfortable, the breakfast was fine. I think it gives the impression that there is little choice available because there is no hot food on display as this is cooked to order.
We were happy with the hotel and would return again. Cartagena is a lovely city

Room Tip: Corner rooms would have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A clean, modern hotel ideally situated near the port but also very close to shops. Underground car park was a bit of a squeeze but convenient nonetheless. We chose to have breakfast in one of the nearby restaurants. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We decided to try Cartagena for a short break and chose this hotel due to its central location. The location is very good, really central to shops, restaurants and the waterfront.

Prior to departure we had decided to book a premium room with a sea view and a balcony as the picture showed a nice room complete with a balcony. As we enjoy sitting out in the evening before going for dinner, we decided it would be worth paying extra to have a balcony. Upon arrival, we were given a premium room which had no balcony. We headed back to Reception to say we had been given the wrong room. The chap on Reception said that they only had one premium room with a sea view and balcony and that was occupied. We asked if there were any other rooms with a balcony and eventually chose a room which was very similar, albeit slightly smaller than the more expensive room but it was not sea facing. This room did have a large corner balcony where you could sit and enjoy the sun. This may not be important to some, but I couldn't see the justification in paying more for a room when you can merely look out the window.

Overall the hotel has more of a business feel, but as previously stated, the location is very good. I also agree with other reviewers in that the breakfast is expensive for what is available. I have eaten in lots of hotels where the choice is much wider and the breakfast was certainly cheaper.

For all that the hotel is probably more suited to the business traveller, we did enjoy our stay in Cartagena and would certainly recommend it for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony which may not necessarily be a Premium room. Corner rooms have a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at a tango festival in Cartagena and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. We stayed in a standard room which was a reasonable size with lots of hot water in the ensuite bathroom. Despite the wooden floors- which could have made the hotel noisy- this was not the case. The building seemed well insulated and the surroundings generally quiet at night. The hotel is right in the centre of town and could not be better located. The manageress Eva and her team do a good job at running the hotel with professional, efficient and very friendly service. I liked the fact there were tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Our rate included a generous buffet breakfast (including hot food), served until 11.30am at weekends- a real plus. Another bonus for us avid tea drinkers- a kettle in the dining room so we could make tea with boiling hot water! It was good quality tea as well- no dusty teabags in sight!
The room rates are good value. Cartagena is beautifully renovated and has some interesting sites and is totally uncommercialised. It is small though and could therefore be combined with places in the surrounding area. The nearest airport is Murcia. No public transport from there- taxi costs a standard 40 Euros for the 30 minute journey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Whilst staying in Spain we went on a day trip to Cartagena. What an interesting and beautiful place. We went first to the amphitheatre and found it most interesting. We were also lucky enough to be admitted to a Rodin exhibition which was fascinating. The city itself is very elegant and steeped in history. It is lovely on the sea front. We did all the touristy things like a bus trip, boat trip and went to see the submarine on show near the harbour. We really enjoyed our day here and can thoroughly recommend it for a visit.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Cartagena

Address: Real 2. Plza. Heroes de Cavite | Ensanche, San Gines, 30201 Cartagena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cartagena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Cartagena hotel is a modern 4-star hotel located in the heart of Cartagena's midtown commercial and business district, adjacent to the city hall. Its excellent location is ideal for enjoying all that this beautiful, personable city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your NH Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.