We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alfonso XIII

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alfonso XIII to your Saves list
Hotel Alfonso XIII
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Alfonso XIII, 40, 30203 Cartagena, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cartagena
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I wanted a base while I visited family. It was comfortable, felt very safe, they were helpful and I had everything I needed. I had a room overlooking Alfonso XIII main road but it was a good size and not noisy - there are shutters, good windows and 3 layers of curtaining! Even though not standard in each room, they immediately provided a kettle and cups for my room so I could make tea etc. There was nothing else I needed. Restaurant for breakfast a bit bland and boring. The range of yoghurt and fruit was not fantastic - I'm a fruit and yoghurt addict - but if you like melons, kiwi fruit, bananas - it's fine and in any event it has a more than adequate range of cereals, cooked items, cheeses etc. There is a really great resturant/cafe/tapas bar a few doors up the road (in opposite direction to city). 10 to 15 mins walk to shopping centre; 25 mins to Port but a lovely, flat walk so no problem at all.

Room Tip: I was told from previous reviewers not to get a room with windows that faced a wall. i think that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroGarcia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you very much for your comments but also for your useful remarks.
We are very happy and proud that you liked the room and location. With reference to the breakfast I apologize for not exceeding your expectations about the selection for fresh fruit and yoghurt.

Thank you very much for all your suggestions, helping us to constantly increasing our standards.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
37
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stromness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This trip was a treat for my Mother and I was hoping that the hotel would be suitable, it met our expectations.On arrival at the hotel we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and helped to the lifts with our cases. The hotel foyer looks very elegant ane welcoming.
The room was clean and well provisioned with laundry, toletries and mine bar. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. The windows overloked the street but the double double galzing kept out any street noise and we were not disturbed.
The Alfonso XIII is perfectly located for the historical center, cafes, resturants and shops, all within walking distance.
We had a very enjoyable stay and the staff were always friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for va comfortable stay in Cartagena.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear guest:
Thank you very much for your opinion about your recent stay.
Your feedback is very much appreciated. With pleasure I will pass on your kind words to our staff.
Again, thanks for taking the time and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Have stayed here a few times - does exactly what it says on the tin. Easy check-in, comfy bed, good bathroom, quiet for the night. Easy access to all of Cartagena's sights. Very good VFM Chinese just down the road (turn left) with wine at 4E a bottle!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Dear guest:
Thank you very much for your opinion about your recent stay.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.
Again, thanks for taking the time and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night and arrived at 11.30 am. Although check in is officially from 12 noon we were immediately checked in with good humoured efficiency. I had sent a fax requesting that we were not given a room facing a wall, and this request was confirmed and adhered to. The underground car park is 13 euros per day and it can be difficult to manoeuvre into some of the spaces, although the attendant is on hand to assist. Our room was pleasant and faced the main road, but closing the window kept out most of the traffic noise. The typical Spanish buffet breakfast was more than adequate although the hot food was merely lukewarm. We did nto try the restaurant but some of our friends who were also staying there, pronounced it exellent, if a little pricey. The hotel is very well located and is on the main road as you leave the motorway, which means that when leaving, one is on the motorway in minutes. It is comfortably within walking distance of the port area and most places of interest. It is worth mentioning, that the hotel website states that the rooms contain tea and coffee making facilities. In fact they do not, but these are available on request. We queried this at reception, and on returning to our room, a gentle tap on the door a few minutes later, revealed a maid with a large tray on which were a kettle, cups and saucers, tea, coffee, milk and sugar. Nicely done!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear guest:
Let me start by thanking you for your opinion about your recent stay at our property.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We hope to see you again.
Again, thanks for taking the time and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

The hotel was conveniently strolling Located in easy Reach of the main sights in Cartagena, the room was comfortable and quiet and There Was free internet access in the lobby. WAS by the hotel parking in a secure car park. We Were Treated courtesly and warmly by Both the hotel and everyone we met in Cartagena. Both would recommend the hotel and Cartagena as worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
Dear guest,
We are pleased to read your kind words. Your opinion is very important to us.
I esteem very much that you like Cartagena and its people. We hope to see you soon. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We've booked two rooms . Once we've entered inside we have noticed a strange smell in the room ......
At the moment when we want to get out we have noticed that one of our room's door cannot be closed ; so , they've changed our rooms .
Nothing to worry us .... we came to the hotel around 12 pm and BIG SURPRISE ; once we have started the A/C equipment ( being end of July and the outside temperatures during the day being heigher of 30 degrees Celsius ) , a bad smell came inside ( like being directly from the toilet - you know what I mean ) .
no air comming on the windows ( the rooms being on the inside part of the hotel not to the street ) .
in conclusion , one of the worst night we've spent during our vacation in Spain.
In the next morning after we've ckecked out I have asked to talk with the Manager in duty of this hotel ; he does not appear at all .....
advise : if you ever visit this hotel ask for a room facing the street
To the Best Western Cartagena manager ; try to speak with your customers and in this way you'll find a lot of interesting things about your hotel !!!!!!! if you care about your customers ......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director General at Hotel Alfonso XIII, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear guest:
Let me start by thanking you for writing your suggestions about your recent stay at our property.
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
When I have read your suggestions, I remember I went there to see you, but already you had gone. I am sorry if I was late but I had a visit.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Juan Carlos García
Director
Best Western Alfonso XIII
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbella
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

not an impressive 4 star, but you get more than you pay for in my opinion.
room clean and big. asked for wake up call that never came so missed our bus.
hotel refunded tickets and gave us the taxifare to bus station and home in the other end.
this amounted to much more than our hotel bill, very impressive service.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alfonso XIII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfonso XIII

Address: Paseo Alfonso XIII, 40, 30203 Cartagena, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alfonso XIII 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII is located in the centre of Cartagena, close to the monuments and tourist areas. The hotel offers various services such as free WiFi access in all hotel areas, game room with PS3 and XBOX 360, restaurant and even large halls, ideal for events such as weddings The Sercotel Alfonso XIII offers 124 rooms fully equipped with a classic and welcoming style, designed for the customers comfort and complete enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alfonso XIII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cartagena
Cartagena Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alfonso XIII, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.