We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lo Pagan Mud Baths” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Menor

Mar Menor
Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Thailand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lo Pagan Mud Baths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a great time for the entire family! The kids loved the mud and we all loved our smooth silky skin once we were done. We wrote up a complete post on our blog "how to take a mud bath" so check out Wagoners Abroad. Lo Pagan is at the North end of Mar Menor near Murcia Spain. It is worth doing this, as long as the sun is out. Make sure you bring a wash cloth or sponge to use during rinse off. Also, do have a location for a fresh water shower nearby. Along the beach there are only seawater showers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    52
    22
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries and Galloway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mar Menor Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a beautiful and very clean beach. There are plenty of beach cafes to sit, relax, have a drink or something to eat. The water is clean and warm. The beach runs for miles so you can always find a nice quiet spot. There is also a promenade which runs the whole length of the beach and is lovely for an evening stroll.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar de la Horadada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Warm inland sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The "little sea" is an inlet from the Mediterranean and is always about 5 degrees warmer. There are many small towns on it's banks with good bathing - the sea is very shallow - sandy beaches - which get verypopular in the summer months. From Santiago de la Ribera there is a ferry which crosses the sea to La Manga which is the thin strip of land partially separating the mar Menor from the Mediterranean otherwise it's a long drive round. Several islands dot the sea - one of which looks like an extinct volcanoe but not sure if it is. As the airport at San Javier is very close the arrival and departure of military (in the morning) and commercial in the afternoo/evening can spoil the otherwise peace an quiet. All in all a unique place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“NICE AREA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from the Mar Menor region of Murcia and the Mar Menor Golf Resort (staying in an apartment on the resort see my review through holiday lettings). The region has some lovely beaches including the San Pedro beach and the Salinas; travel to the far end of San Pedro off the A7 and make your way down to the beach and the laguna; you will see lots of people covered in clay from the sea bed! We did this ourselve; you put the clay all over and let it dry in the sun before dipping into the very warm water and washing it off! An effective spa treatment and certainly an experience.

Other beaches along this area are lovely; see is clear and sand is soft; lots of places to visit without a Brits abroad feel - sorry if this offends!

My only negative is the food; during our 10 days there we found the food was quite basic.

Having said this we would most definately return; the 15 min drive from Murcia airport is also fantastic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mar Menor simply magic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have visited the Mar Menor a number of times and it simply excellent. Safe bathing, no high rise typically Spanish, everything you want from a Spanish holiday.

It is so lovely we have just bought a property there!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Menor also viewed

 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 

Been to Mar Menor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Menor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.