We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual sophistication in Salamanca district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estay

Estay
Calle Hermosilla, 46, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)
+34 915780470
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Estay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,141 of 6,834 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Salamanca
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Casual sophistication in Salamanca district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I lived in Spain in the late 1970's and recently returned for a visit. I loved Estay - it somehow reminded me of the old Madrid I remembered from the past yet in an updated fashion. We enjoyed a casual late evening meal with great wine on the first floor. The service, handled expertly by professionals in white jackets, was perfect. We ordered many different pinchos or tapas at staggered intervals, but the waiter was never flustered. Everything we tried was delicious, from the more traditional tapas - tortilla espanola, fantastic anchovies, the best cheese, to more creative small plates. The place was packed with people form the neighborhood; meeting friends, dining with family, enjoying wonderful food in a convivial atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hidden away in Salamanca district. Great atmosphere. Frequented by locals. Very friendly atmosphere and staff. Has formal dining room upstairs, but will need advance reservations to avoid disappointment.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loads of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Friends of mine who live in Madrid had billed this as a great place and when I finally went I realized they were right! I've been there about five or six times now. The bar tapas (sorry, "pinchos") are class, they pull their beer just so and have a really good range of wines by the glass. But a discovery for me was the upper floor dining room, it's packed and buzzing, good food, nice atmosphere, goodlooking people.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

It never changes. After years going with family and friends I find the same quality and service (especially in the bar). Good and variated tapas

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I ate at this place last year and since I stayed in the same neighborhood on this trip, I thought I would go to this place again. This seems to be a place frequented by the locals. Both times I went there, there were families with kids, so it caters to all age groups.

The waiter provided friendly service and made some recommendations from the menu. I eventually ordered the chistorra navarra, foie de pato and surtido de ibericos. I thought the surtido de ibericos plate was very well priced at less than €17. Other places have this at around €19.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estay also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Estay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.