We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a fish restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rafa

Rafa
Calle Narvaez, 68, 28009 Madrid, Spain
+34 915731087
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Rafa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #664 of 6,820 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $44 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Rafa is one of the best and most famous seafood restaurants in Madrid, with more than 50 years of experience. This classic style restaurant is specialized in fish and seafood from the Spanish coast and has been awarded in several times with a Sun in the Repsol Gastronomic Guide. Monday night closed for rest of the staff.
dungarvan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not just a fish restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having got lost we stumbled upon this restaurant so we had no idea of what it would be like. We ate upstairs in a formal restaurant (lots of linen). It is predominantly a fish restaurant, but they do have a good range of choices, although it is expensive.We had steak and lamb dishes both of which were delicious. They have an excellent wine list, the wine we selected was the best we tasted in Spain. The desserts were satisfactory although not to the standard of the main course. The service was formal, but friendly and efficient and they provide the menu in English if required. Overall, expensive but delicious main course and wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    23
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Seafood is expensive, there doesn't seem to be a way around that. We had Sunday lunch surrounded by Spanish families feasting on incredibly fresh seafood. Service was excellent and the server's recommendations were spot on. His wine recommendation was perfect and not expensive. Grilled Octopus with creamed potatoes as a shared starter was perhaps the best octopus I've had. I had Sea Bream and my wife had garbonzo beans with pheasant for mains. Both very good but not as outstanding as the starter. I think if I get lucky enough to go back I'll dine on starters instead of starter and entree. Altogether a lovely afternoon at a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great combination of service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

You have to love a restaurant that combines a very professional wait staff and excellent food. I had calimari and then rice combined with octopus and monk fish. Then a Spanish grappa and espresso. Very enjoyable .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a really old fashioned local restaurant that specialises in sea-food. Service was good and friendly, although the average age of the waiters must be around 60 years old. The food did not disappoint. This restaurant was a great find!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best Madrid experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Came with 12 colleagues, visiting from all over EU. Wonderful experience, next time we will come back again.

Stylish, great food and service.

Highly recommended for wine and food aficionados.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafa also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Rafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rafa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.