We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food .... huge bill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Afternoon Tea at the Lobby Bar

Afternoon Tea at the Lobby Bar
Plaza Lealtad, 5, 28014 Madrid, Spain
+34 917016767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,120 of 6,815 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $50 - $80
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“OK food .... huge bill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you like $20 for bottle of coke, and $30 for a sandwich...enjoy.

Views are good, service is slow. Price is out of line.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“regal drinks and food in the lounge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

$$$$$$$$$$$$$ Beware $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ Having drinks and snacks in the lounge is definitely not inexpensive, but is definitely worth the experience if you have the budget for it. There is piano player and the lounge is just beautiful! We had a round of very expensive martinis over complimentary almonds and potato chips, followed by yummy fried calamari (shoestring style!). We were not happy with the chicken meatballs or the spicy potatoes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Peace and Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Ritz in Madrid is a must. It is a step back into a glorious past of luxury. I sat in the Ritz Hall and enjoyed some tea, lovely piano music and read my book. The staff is polite and very attentive. I look forward to returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like a king”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

this place truly has that Palace feeling! As other reviews say, it does need some update even though the decoration has it´s own style and don´t think it can be changed (but yes updated). Enjoyed the Sunday brunch, a massive quantity of sublime delicacies! Enjoy also their concierge team, I was making bets with them as was certains there were things they couldn´t get for me but they did... was happy to loose!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The "Ritzy" experience I expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't have a better location for enjoying a relaxing, walking visit to the historical area of this beautiful city. The rooms are very comfortable, but the bathroom is "tight". But, the incredible service from everyone from the maid to the concierge personifies the expression of "lagniappe". I would definitely give this hotel a four star rating!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea at the Lobby Bar also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Afternoon Tea at the Lobby Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afternoon Tea at the Lobby Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.