We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected quite a bit more as far as food...Service was great !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Buganvilla

La Buganvilla
Calle Almagro, 12, 28010 Madrid, Spain
+34 913197550
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 50% *
La Buganvilla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,187 of 6,849 Restaurants in Madrid
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expected quite a bit more as far as food...Service was great !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The restuarant is a good place to bring business associates but not to go with the family.
The food is very expensive as are the drinks. I did enjoy the service which was quick and very professional. However for great rice dishes i would surly go to Saint James for example.
Overall a disapointment....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    31
    15
    4
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MSJAZZ1
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I am not sure where to begin. Because we had only one night to spend in Madrid before returning to the U.S., I carefully searched out what I thought was a great restaurant to enjoy authentic paella. Buganvilla was a huge disappointment! I do not speak very much Spanish but malo, malo, malo!!! My husband and I ordered the original paella, known as the Valencia Paella which was suppose to contain rabbit, and various seafood. We received undercooked rice with the remaining ingredients being overcooked/burnt. An astounding fete to say the least. It contained four pieces of rabbit meat and not one piece of seafood. With the service being lukewarm, in addition the water served, we felt that complaining would have got us nothing so we paid the bill and left. We spent over 30.00 Euros in taxis to get to and from this restaurant from our hotel. Very bad decision on our part. Never again!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“We Went for the Paella but Did not Impress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Restaurant is very nice, great service but our Paella was overdone. What a missed opportunity since they are known for their "Arroces".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great paella in Madrid!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We had just flown into Madrid and did not feel like heading into the center of Madrid for dinner so we asked the concierge for a good, local restaurant. Our hotel, AC Santo Mauro, was situated northeast of the center of Madrid. We were recommended to go to La Buganvilla, which was only a few blocks away. My only complaint was that this restaurant does not open for dinner until 8:30pm and they strictly adhere to this! We walked in at 8:15 and were told to leave and not come back till 8:30.
Anyhow, the food here is great. The restaurant is tastefully decorated with an ocean/boating theme. The paella is the star here. There are all kinds of ingredients and combinations you can have in your paella including rabbit, chorizo, prawns, cuttlefish and squid amongst other options. Our favorite was the black paella which is colored/flavored with black ink from squid. A definite must try when in Madrid!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, not fresh, and a predatory waiter”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

A bad end to a great trip to Spain.

We were going to order the Arroz Negro, but the waiter said "It is only ok.", and steered us to the two most expensive items on the menu. We decided to try one of these - the seafood paella - for 20 euros per person, or 40 euros. The waiter brought out two rolls, but without butter, oil or vinegar. The rice in the paella was properly cooked, but there was less than 3 ounces (75 g) of seafood total - a dozen tiny half-inch clam shells with some garlic and a baby pea-sized clam in each, one shrimp and one langoustine each, and some tiny bits of unknown fish in the paella. None of the seafood was fresh, and several of the clam shells had not opened.

Moreover, the dish was served as is - rice and fish with with no lemon or other accompaniments.

When we got our bill, we found that the waiter had billed us 3.85 Euros for the two rolls we hadn't asked for!

A disgrace in every way. I had our hotel - which had recommended the restaurant - contact them, and we got no response. So this must be how they do business.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buganvilla also viewed

San Sebastian de los Reyes, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Buganvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Buganvilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.