We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Avenida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Avenida to your Saves list
Hostal Avenida
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Gran Via 15, 4-A, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 240 Madrid B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Location:
I can't say enough about its location. Very central and easy to find. Once you get off the metro station, look for McD and it is in the same row with it. Gran via is the place for shopping so if you are into shopping this is the right place. Also very close to metro station and accessible by airport shuttle.

Check in:
The owner does not speak english at all but we manage to communicate with sign language. So we pretty much figure out ourselves where to go and how to reach the place but madrid is an easy place to navigate (for us at least).

Room:
Quite a small room but very clean with attach bathroom. Wifi available for free. The heater didnt work but we didn't complain because nobody spoke english. There was a flat screen tv with spanish channel. Towel provided and changed daily. We got a room with gran via view. You have to close the window so that you won't hear the noise from outside.

Hotel:
It has elevator so convenient to us with heavy luggage. It shares the same building with other hostal so make sure you knock the right door.

CHeck out:
During check out a lady who happened to speak english stored our bags for 3 hours since we had a later flight. The price is cheap consider its location. So I recommend this for those on budget trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Great location 2 minutes away from Gran Via Metro.
I had a single room at the front of the hostal but there was no real road noise and I slept very well. The weather was quite chilly but It was very warm in the room , I had to turn the radiator off. The room was compact and very clean.
Excellent place to stay if you want to be in the center of the buzz.
Loved Madrid, great place for a weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

It's difficult to find anything particularly thrilling to say about the Hostal Avenida: it's very central, very clean and reasonably priced; the back room we were in was very quiet with a functional, clean little bathroom; the beds were comfortable. The only thing that might be problematic for some is that not all the staff speak good English, but in their defence they are all very helpful and friendly and do their best to communicate, so despite my atrocious Spanish we had no problems. Comfortable, relaxing stay - would go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hostel did not even seem like one. It is in a beautiful building (full of other hostels on other floors) on a main street (gran via), which made it close to the subway and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. The staff was wonderful. They stored our luggage, gave us wonderful directions, and welcomed us. Unfortunately, the wood floors are creaky. We had the room at the end of the hall (no view, but a private bathroom) which you think would be the most quiet, but everything echoes. I woke up when others came in late. However, the room was under $100 for two people for one night, and in a great location. Can't complain about that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Granted, it's a little noisy sometimes with the cars passing along the Gran Via and occasionally, the demonstrations (which could be a good thing too, since you can just watch the action from your balcony), but that's a given since the hostel is so centrally located. You're barely a couple hundred meters from Puerto Del Sol and the Gran Via metro, from where you can get to many attractions without transferring, is but a couple minutes' walk away. The room is pretty spacious and everything is very clean. (I had no qualms lazing on the bed coverlet). Towels are changed everyday and you even get a small tub in the bathroom. The reception can be considered 24hours - the staff would be at the counter early in the morning till late at night (about 11pm) and in between, the security guard on the ground level would help out with the reception. Internet is very consistent as compared to what we got at a hostel in Barcelona. Seriously, I don't know how else to put it but I'm fussy and I like this place! Well worth the price you pay!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

The big selling point of this hostal is its location on the Gran Via very near to the metro station and easy walking distance of the whole of the centre of Madrid.

WE paid 65 Euro a night for a room with a double bed.

Number 15 was quite easy to find once you work out building numbers and there is a plaque in the doorway to confirm the location.

You have to take 1 of the 2 lifts to the 4th floor. Once there ring the door bell for the hostal. There are several other hostals on that floor as well.

Check in was very easy and the room (number 10) was perfectly fine, with a reasonable amount of room and an en-suite toilet and shower.

The thing that surprised us was how quiet it was, the window opened to an inner courtyard and there was no noise from the Gran Via.

The only thing that could have been problematic was that the reception desk closed at about 21:00. After this time you have to ring the door bell on the main building and a night porter will take you up to the 4th floor, open up the hostal and give you your room key.
We arrived back at between 1and 2am both days we were there and we had no problems at all, but if the porter was letting other people in I can see that you might have to wait a couple of minutes for him to return downstairs.

All in all a good find. When I next go back to Madrid I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Hostal Avenida is a relatively decent guesthouse in a very convenient location on Gran Via, however what really lets the place down is the service and there were a few frustrations staying there.

• Firstly, it's location on Gran Via is excellent. It's only a 2min walk from Gran Via Metro underground. Many of Madrid's main attractions are within walking distance: Parque del Retiro, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Palacio de las Comunicaciones.

• Whilst it's in a good location, it's not very easy to find and not signposted from the outside. We walked past the building twice before realising it was there.

• There was only one staff member & he didn't speak a single word of English which proved to be quite frustrating, if not mildly amusing as we had to resort in charades. I only understand basic Spanish. We pre-paid for the room on the web, but he was asking us for money, so it was difficult to communicate this and he didn't understand "PRE-PAID" on our confirmation sheet. We got thru to him eventually (phew!).

• No wi-fi it seems?! They claim they do, but my laptop couldn't find a network. When I asked the staff whether they had 'wifi' or 'internet' (and even showed them my laptop), they still didn't understand what I was asking them. Instead I went to the McDonalds around the corner and used their wifi, very slow, but it worked.

• Rooms are basic, pretty small but clean, nice looking and relatively quiet despite being on Gran Via, just keep the window closed at night if you're a light sleeper.

• Every time you enter the hostal you have to ring a doorbell and wait for someone to let you in. There's usually someone there at reception but sometimes it can take a minute or two.

• The lock-out after 11pm was quite annoying, esp as this wasn't communicated to us at all. After 11pm they close the front door to the building & you have to call the doorman to let you in. The doorman however was not there once and we waited for about 15-20mins for him to return. He then takes you up in the lift to the hostal which is also locked.

Whilst there were no major dramas staying at Hostal Avenida, it certainly didn't come across as professional as their marketing and website suggest and was not good value for money. Being unable to communicate whatsoever with it's staff was also frustrating. With it's greatest asset being it's location, I'd recommend looking at other hostals in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avenida

Address: Gran Via 15, 4-A, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Avenida 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.