We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Lamb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada de la Villa

Posada de la Villa
Calle Cava Baja, 9, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
+34 913661860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 6,858 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $64 - $79
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: The Inn of the Villa is a restaurant located in the center of Madrid, in the first Old Inn of 1642. It has a traditional Madrilean style cuisine with some specialites: The Roasted Lamb in Wood Oven, The Madrilean Pot, Meats, Fishes and typical desserts of the city. It offers an extensive wine list and a valet parking service.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab Lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Went several time there, and always had great food and wine. Did recommend to friend from Dubai, they just called me god the day after!! Will go again next time am in Madrid

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    114
    35
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Sat for 20 mins - no drinks & ignored by all the staff. 6 professional women on a city break - definitely not made to feel welcome & will not be back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had a great night there.

Service was amazing and really added to the experience.
We were 20 or so people.
Lots of tapas, which were amazing. Chorizo, ham, etc
and then most people had the lamb main course.
I'd have it again and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Booked our 9PM reservation at this popular restaurant on-line through the link here on Tripadvisor before we left for our trip. 9PM in the US would be considered late, but in Madrid it is very early. This was our 1st night in Madrid, having arrived from NY early that AM, so I thought a reservation on the "earlier" side (Madrid definition of "earlier") would be best. Next time, I would do 10 or 11PM. There was only a few other tables of diners when we arrived, but by the time we left most of the tables were filled. The ambiance is wonderful and warm, even from the outside, with a feeling of old Madrid and tradition and aromas pulling you in. We were welcomed warmly and seated at a table next to an adorable old hearth oven. The specialty here is roast suckling lamb which my husband and I shared - It was outstanding. We also had the baked clams appetizer which came with 12 clams and would have been plenty for four people, and the grilled asparagus, and ordered bottle of the house red wine, which was excellent. I thought the service was superb. This was a perfect choice for our first night in Madrid.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really good food and very good value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Ate here on the suggestion of a local Madrilena and were not disappointed. Our group of 5 ordered a wide variety of dishes including fish, lamb and beef and all were simply cooked and to perfection. The accompanying salads and vegetables were also great, especially the grilled asparagus! Wine suggestions were excellent. We lingered all afternoon and were the last to leave but there was never any pressure to finish. A lovely experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada de la Villa also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Posada de la Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada de la Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.