We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find near the Main Train Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodegas Rosell

Bodegas Rosell
General Lacy, 14, Madrid, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #793 of 6,833 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A great find near the Main Train Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had just arrived in Madrid and our Hotel, the AC Atocha, recommended this place. Thanks, it was a great find. We got there at 7:30 PM and were the first ones there. By 8:30 PM it is packed, standing room only. The food, service, and atmosphere were excellent. If you are in the area, do not miss Bodegas Rosell.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    73
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stay away from this sacred location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Don't any of you guys recommend Rosell's! They do not need our business; they are packed on weekends and full on weekdays and you would just be wasting an expensive taxi fare getting there and not finding an empty table. The loyal locals and their friends and relatives keep this place humming, and they are proof that you can eat well with good wine all for under twenty euros in Madrid- naysayers be da__ned! Anyone saying that this place lacks color, is only saying this to protect it from weirdo foreigners. BUT- if you are already in the neighborhood of Atocha or the Palos Fronteras s Metro.... and IF it is a slow day, say a cold Tuesday, and IF it is still early, say at about 8 PM, then try and look normal and sneak in as a regular and enjoy a taste of wine from small bodegas in cahoots and traditional tapas from all over the country, prepared with style and alacrity. But FORGET about waltzing in here at 9 PM on a Saturday and expecting a good table- you'll be lucky to find a table on the sidewalk. Even then the waiters here will treat you with every respect (unusual for Madrid) and you will get a great deal on great food and wine. But please don't bring any friends from Barcelona! jk

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers Lake, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great local tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Try everything on the menu! Baby artichokes, potatos with ham and egg, sardines in vinegar, the canapes of the night were fantastic, pureed tomato and bread with egg and ham, chorizo in wine, and the roejo to wash it down!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Aussie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Perhaps it was unfortunate that we arrived just as they opened. Nevertheless I was unimpressed by a waiter reading a newspaper at the bar while we attempted to order tapas for the first time. There was no music and no atmosphere. BORING!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, IN, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great little local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Clearly a local hang out. Good service, better Tapas. Nice wine. Reasonable prices. Get there early if you want a table outside. They were great about recomendations for different wines and tapas. We were 2 blocks from here so we went twice in the 5 days we were in Madrid.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodegas Rosell also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Bodegas Rosell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodegas Rosell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.