We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gastroenteritis” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Asador Casa Juan

Asador Casa Juan
Infanta Mercedes 111, 28020 Madrid, Spain
914490380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #683 of 6,858 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $36 - $143
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gastroenteritis”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I was there yesterday and now I have severe gastroenteritis- never go back again.
Food was ok until the infection started 3houres after the dinner

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    134
    49
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“So much food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

An old school establishment for celebrations and special occasions for the most part. In proper Spanish style, the restaurant does not open until after 9pm and only does dinners.

From what I could tell, we were the only non-Spanish persons there and like most of the diners we chose on the the degustacion menus. A must if you are going to come here. I lost count of how many dishes were brought out but the partridge pate and the mushroom and goat's cheese mousse with honey were lovely starters. The main course consisted of a brazier being brought out and you cook your own slices of meat on it to your desired doneness. Dessert was included despite the fact that we couldn't touch it and drinks, after dinner chupitos and coffees were included.

It's a bit of a jaunt to get there but you will not be disappointed. Any trips I make in the future to Madrid will involve a stop here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Maybe a 9.30pm mid-week booking in August is the wrong time to judge this clearly popular restaurant, but the first impressions of Casa Juan were not the best. The restaurant was near-deserted and there were almost more waiters than patrons. We were sat at a table and seemed to have three different waitresses serve us. This, while quick, led to much difficulty when it came to communication. However, impressions changed as a feast of appetisers were brought on unprompted! Some lovely sausages, some foie and a block of special cheese in oil along with bread were a lovely surprise and we had to be careful not to fill up on them.

Due to cost and because the madrileña I was with insisted I tried it, we went for the seafood paella for two, which cost €42 a la carte. After being told it would take 25 minutes, it arrived on time and was delicious. The rice was a solid, but fragrant base, and the seafood (large whole king prawns, smaller prawns, squid, octopus and even lobster) was cooked amazingly. A very generous portion as neither of us were able to finish the whole thing, but made sure not to leave a morsel of seafood.

We asked for the dessert menu and asked the waitress for a dairy-free option but despite two of them trying their hardest, I was left dessert-less. The effort to try and help customers with dietry issues was very much appreciated though. Even without asking, a tray of candied walnuts, a basket of almond biscuits and Lindt-style truffles somehow arrived at our table and we were being offered aperitifs. Neither the appetiser or "digestifs" were added to the bill and it came to a reasonable €55, given the experience. I would recommend Casa Juan to anybody, just save up your money and pick a time when it's likely to be teeming and I'm sure the true nature of the restaurant will shine through.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Traditional spanish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Dont expect to eat other thing that Spanish cook. Good quality, a place to chat with your friends, fish or meat doesnt matter.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Was on a business trip to Madrid and our host took us to Casa Juan. Food was great and kept on coming for 3.5 hours, wine glasses kept on being filled and the resulting atmosphere was great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asador Casa Juan also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Asador Casa Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asador Casa Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.