We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding restaurant near the Madrid airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Taberna

Bahia Taberna
Calle Bahia de Palma 9 | Esquina Bahia de Almeria, 28042 Madrid, Spain
91 747 69 44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 6,834 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $38 - $48
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Este proyecto nace en respuesta a un progresivo desarrollo de la alta cocina. Se ha renovado el ambiente tradicional de una taberna conjugando los conceptos de las ultimas tendencias artisticas y gastronomicas. Asi se pueden degustar modernos pinchos y platos creativos, en un entorno tradicional y de cocina de mercado.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant near the Madrid airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent food, innovative dishes, in a completely unexpected location -- near Barajas airport. Bahia Taverna serves traditional tapas, with creative updates. Service is outstanding. The young people who run this place will go far, I predict.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hello BettyLouAnn, thanks for your review, it´s great to know that you were fascinated with us. We hope to see you again. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    53
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, NM
1 review
“Wonderful food near Barajas Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stopped here for dinner on Jan. 11. We found it with an online search for restaurants near the airport, but we were not expecting anything very special. Luckily for us, we stumbled onto an absolutely wonderful restaurant. We took the degustacion menu and were totally amazed at the creativity, subtlety of the food and its preparation. Each course was outstanding and so attentively served that we were totally astounded and, of course, delighted. If you have to spend the night near Barajas Airport, as we did, this is a wonderful opportunity for fine dining.
The restaurant itself is small and not especially fancy, though they have a small area set up with the full linens and plates of a fancy restaurant. You can see the chefs at work. The price for this outstanding meal was very inexpensive considering the product delivered.
Thanks to Bahia Taverna for an unexpected terrific meal before leaving Spain.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello pajaritomt, our intention is always that you have a great experience visiting us and we appreciate you enjoyed. We hope to see you again, kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Refined tapas near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Situated near the airport in a not to interesting - but quiet - neighborhood, that allowed me to enjoy the evening sitting outside. The waiter - who spoke english - asked me if would like him to find a range of tapas that - in his opinion - represented the style of the restaurant. I accepted, and smiled!
Without going into detail, a range go good to really tapas was served. They were in general visually very nice. Except for water I only had a glass of Sherry, that was average. After the meal the waiter said that they made the best Gin Tonic in the area, and I asked him to prove that. A big show on a rolling table next to mine was performed, making the GT with a very dry vintage gin, and the result was indeed one of the best GT's I have ever tasted. A lovely evening. I will for sure come back if I again stay near the airport...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for your review Lars B, we hope to see you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow!!!! Great experience. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place is near the Madrid airport and slightly out of the way if your staying in Madrid. Having said that, you MUST try this place out. We couldn't get into a Resturant in the city and made the 15 plus minute trip out. IT WAS WELL WORTH IT! The meal is prepared to for you ( taking into account your likes and allergies). Let them go with it. Four or five small courses are served for each person, tailored to the individuals likes. Did I say WOW!!! Don't pass this place up. You will enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much Ralphfjr, we are pleased to know that your perception has been so positive, we hope to see you again here. A greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You will repeat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very good restaurant and a recommended stop when you're in Madrid. The servers knew the menu inside and out, and the chefs and maitre were excellent advising on what to order. Simply delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello WajdiA, thank you so much for your review, we hope to see you soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Taberna also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Bahia Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.