We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined tapas near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Taberna

Bahia Taberna
Calle Bahia de Palma 9 | Esquina Bahia de Almeria, 28042 Madrid, Spain
91 747 69 44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 6,849 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $38 - $48
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Este proyecto nace en respuesta a un progresivo desarrollo de la alta cocina. Se ha renovado el ambiente tradicional de una taberna conjugando los conceptos de las ultimas tendencias artisticas y gastronomicas. Asi se pueden degustar modernos pinchos y platos creativos, en un entorno tradicional y de cocina de mercado.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Refined tapas near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Situated near the airport in a not to interesting - but quiet - neighborhood, that allowed me to enjoy the evening sitting outside. The waiter - who spoke english - asked me if would like him to find a range of tapas that - in his opinion - represented the style of the restaurant. I accepted, and smiled!
Without going into detail, a range go good to really tapas was served. They were in general visually very nice. Except for water I only had a glass of Sherry, that was average. After the meal the waiter said that they made the best Gin Tonic in the area, and I asked him to prove that. A big show on a rolling table next to mine was performed, making the GT with a very dry vintage gin, and the result was indeed one of the best GT's I have ever tasted. A lovely evening. I will for sure come back if I again stay near the airport...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for your review Lars B, we hope to see you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    54
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wow!!!! Great experience. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place is near the Madrid airport and slightly out of the way if your staying in Madrid. Having said that, you MUST try this place out. We couldn't get into a Resturant in the city and made the 15 plus minute trip out. IT WAS WELL WORTH IT! The meal is prepared to for you ( taking into account your likes and allergies). Let them go with it. Four or five small courses are served for each person, tailored to the individuals likes. Did I say WOW!!! Don't pass this place up. You will enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much Ralphfjr, we are pleased to know that your perception has been so positive, we hope to see you again here. A greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You will repeat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very good restaurant and a recommended stop when you're in Madrid. The servers knew the menu inside and out, and the chefs and maitre were excellent advising on what to order. Simply delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello WajdiA, thank you so much for your review, we hope to see you soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place is excellent! I enjoyed every single dishes! I suggest this place to everyone who lives or simply comes for a short visit to Madrid. Don't be scared, even if is near the airport, this is not the classic spot where to come just if you are traveling for work! Every minutes spent reaching the restaurant is worth it. We didn't even look at the menu, the chefs guided us through an unforgettable journey of Spanish cuisine mixed with first class Italian products.
They offer also a great selection of wines and cocktails if you plan to spend there a more time than an usual dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Valerio B, we appreciate that you've bothered to write that opinion about us. Vlover hope to see you around the restaurant. A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Trip Advisor does it again. What a great find. On arriving we were concerned we'd turned up at a corner café with a beer and baguette on the menu - how wrong we were. The waiters, chefs, everyone at the restaurant were great. There is something so cool about Spain, when you can have an excellent top quality meal, served by knowledgeable waiters and competent chefs who are casually dressed under their uniforms - it is totally relaxing. We were offered a taster menu and seven courses later we were still amazed by how good each course had been.
Each dish was served with an explanation including an award winning course that included fresh puree chorizo and squid.
I want to go back to this restaurant and try every single item on their menu - it's absolutely excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Shaun H, we are proud to read your comments and see that everything that we intend to offer is perceived by you. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Taberna also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Bahia Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.