We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lua

Lua
Paseo de Eduardo Dato n05, 28010 Madrid, Spain
+34 91 395 28 53
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Lua is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 6,849 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lua turned out to be better than expected. We had the tasting menu and everything was wonderful, from start to finish. The cooking technique and style were well balanced, with traditional and "molecular" style well presented. The wine pairing was particularly wonderful and generous. We couldn't have been happier. I wish we have some place like this in the Bay Area, where the restaurant prices have gone to the roof in recent years but sadly not the quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    49
    33
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

If you ever visited Seggar's in Atlanta, then this is very similar to this now closed establishment. The meal is well prepared and plated. Much care in the delivery. Not for everyone but I do recommend if you want a fine dining experience with excellent food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy a new taste sensation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Madrid dining starts at 9pm. This is not dinner. This is an experience. No menu. You are brought the tasters, starter, main and desserts. Accompanied by paired wines. We found the tastes challenging initially but once we had a couple of bites, we 'got it'! A lightbulb moment! Ah, I see what they are doing - clever! This will not suit everyone but it suited us. The staff were great, the food was outstanding, our experience was perfect. I would say try this if you are adventurous, if not, then stay away. Muchas Gracias Lua!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Männedorf
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Left a Bad Taste in my mouth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had High expectations After Reading the excellent Reviews on tripadvisor And Looking at the rather High Price Tag. All courses except One tasted weird. one was unedible. we had to give back the meat main course. it was cold, had a texture like chewing gum and an awful taste. i have to wonder where all the good reviews are coming from. do yourself a favour and go to a place where the food is more traditional but at least you know whats on your plate. this is modern cuisine gone very wrong. one last warning: don't go there hungry. they serve huge pieces of bread to accompany the dishes and seem to know very well why.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Incredible meal, incredible value, incredible dining experience. We made reservations about a week in advance, I would recommend that. It was just really a wonderful meal, a great value ( about $80 US dollars with wine pairing) I highly recommend it and will certainly go again when I am back in Madrid.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lua also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.