We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly modern food feast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bazaar

Bazaar
C/ Libertad, 21, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
+34 915 23 39 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,209 of 6,833 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $25 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly modern food feast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were recommended by our hotel to visit this restaurant for the menu del dia (midday meal = late lunch), which is served by most restaurants between noon and 3pm (or so). The restaurant was located on a side street in an old building but the interior looked surprisingly modern and bright. The meal consisted of a few choices for an appetizer, the main course and the dessert. The food was delicious, for how much we paid (9€pp), and also included a jar of wine and coffee. Note that this was not a fancy dinner but a great and very filling lunch. Recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    242
    117
    61
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Modern Spain with a twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Nice and very popular restaurant in Chueca. I have been there several times over the years and it is often hard to get a table - especially upstairs. Luckily their basement is nice as well. Friendly asian staff and modern spanish food with a twist. Great gaspacho. Risotto is mediocre.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great idea - terrible execution”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This could be so good, but unfortunately it is very disappointing. Decor and menu concept is great. But the delivery is industrial and mechanical with no soul what so ever. Food is prepared using all the tricks in the trade to cut corners ( the result is great menu discription but plates with no flavor and tired ingredients) and the staff would clearly like to be some where else - probably anywhere else if they could. Don't be fooled find something else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Speedy service but food and surroundings very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Its a very nicely designed restaurant with an ample good menu to choose from. We had a couple of starters which were very large portions. Delicious food which looked and tasted good. I liked it but my co-diner was put off by the haste of the service. It wasn't as though they needed the table in a hurry - the restaurant was not full, however for some reason it all felt rushed.

The style of cuisine seemed to be chiefly Italian although the staff and management Chinese. Bit of a strange mix until one gets to grips with it!

I had the Three Salad Starter and the Mushroom Spaghetti - both were very good.

Food adequate, service rushed. Good value though - total cost for two €50,00

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a shame!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Fab restaurant with cool decor. But the no booking policy means we were rushed through our meal. Waiters cleared our table with one of the group still eating. We asked for a 5 minute rest before our pudding but they came straight back with menus and three waiters bombarded us for our order. Staff don't look very happy and we agreed we won't be back. What a shame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazaar also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.