We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing on this occasion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Gloria de Montera

La Gloria de Montera
Caballero de Gracia, 10, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
+34 915 23 44 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,186 of 6,820 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $25 - $37
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: Cocina de Mercado. Elegante e intimista, una sofisticacion clasica mezclada con una propuesta gastronomica de mercado, de base tradicional y mediterranea con pinceladas contemporaneas. Recetas de toda la vida, cocinadas a fuego lento y con los mejores ingredientes del Mercado en un ambiente e interiorismo formal.
Granada, Spain
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing on this occasion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have visited on several occasions whilst visiting Madrid, and were aware of the minmalist decor and the efficient rather than friendly staff.
This place is always packed,and that usually speaks for itself. However, on our latest visit, my wife oredered monkfish in cheese sauce for starters, which arrived frozen in the middle!, my starter of patatas bravas was not authentic. Our main courses were better but the experience of our starters had taken the edge off the evening.
Portions are large, and good value, usually. Perhaps we had a bad day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    192
    89
    39
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We ate there 2 nights and had really nice service. Some dishes are better than others. I really enjoyed the gazpacho soup and the loin of hake. The portions are huge; you can easily split entrees. The wine is very reasonable as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Close to Hotel Europa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went there on the recommendation of the Hotel.
We were really surprised at the lunch menu of about 10 euros!
Appy , main course--whole sea bass, lamb shank, etc, dessert and a 1/2 liter of wine 10 euros???
We were blowen away.
The food comes up quicker than possible and is very good.
We also ate at a sister restaurant and that too was very good.
You will not go wrong here.
Our kids paid more at Burger King for their meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Reasonable priced restaurant, with good service and good food. Ate here twice. Both times the place was packed. We arrived early, 8:30PM, before the crowds arrived. By 10 there was a line to get in. No hesitation to go there again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Affordable Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time to La Gloria de Montera. The first time was for dinner in the evening (came at 7 and managed to get a table and shortly after that people were lined up in the street (they do not take reservations) So I avoided a long wait to get into this popular eatery. This time I was there for a late lunch and again it was a marvelous dining experience. The food was plentiful and well cooked. The selections of fresh seafood and salads (and deserts!) were outstanding. The prices are what always amaze me. It might not be a five star dining experience, but they sure try to make it that way with prompt excellent service, ambiance was simple (circa 1930's deco). The only dissapointment was the toliets (we all know we don't want to talk about them but we all use them! This one was just a disapointment and nothing that air freshener and a regular cleaning could not remedy. Overall though whenever I am in Madrid I will certainly come here and again and again. Highly recommended. Try the squid!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloria de Montera also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Gloria de Montera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gloria de Montera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.