We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb basque dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dantxari

Dantxari
Calle Ventura Rodriguez, 8, 28008 Madrid, Spain
+34 915423524
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Dantxari is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #74 of 6,858 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Superb basque dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our "bienvenidos a Espana" dinner began with chiritzo sausage and freshy baked bread, white asparagus and broiled sole. All yum on a woldclass scale. The house wine (Coto De Imaz rioja 2005 reserva) was a butter finished lightly oaked bordeaux style and was great with the dinner and reasonably priced at 17E. Being from Tennessee and offered complimentary grapa, who could refuse? This put local moonshine to shame. What a great meal, good service, wonderful "welcome back to Spain and the Basque Country" cuisine experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    64
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great place very close to the Mercure Madrid Plaza Espana hotel (where we were staying). The food tasted excellent, fresh and local. The waiter was very helpful too, despite his limited English language skills. The seabass dish we ordered was a personal highlight.

The reason I am not able to give it five stars is I felt the portions were a BIT small for the prices charged.That and the Sangria served tasted like it was out of a can ! These minor things aside, a great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fantastic place. Everything we had was superb (startes, mains, the wine), also quite cozy, extremely good service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Used trip advisor to locate a resturants close to our theology. As it turned out this was right next door. From external appearance I am not sure we would have used it. However the food was fantastic, the service attentive and the price reasonable. I highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We recommend it for 100%!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very tasty! Staff is very good and the mood is perfect. We were there twice for our visit and each time we went home happy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dantxari also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Dantxari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dantxari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.