We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't enjoy the show” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Las Carboneras

Las Carboneras
Plaza del Conde de Miranda 1, 28005 Madrid, Spain (Centro)
+34 91 542 86 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 813 Nightlife in Madrid
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You can't enjoy the show”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The show is good, not great, but the real problem is the management of the place. Some of the spectators are constantly taking and although the musicians tried very politely to tell everyone to be quiet, some wouldn't do it. The were drunk people talking loudly and sending sms with their mobiles while the show was taking place and no one from the management said anything. When I asked the singer after the show how they could stand it, they said "is always the same". I can't understand why the manager can't insist in making people be quiet or simply ask them to leave if they don't follow that simple rule. I think the show is affected by this issue, the dancers and musicians had to do an extra effort to concentrate resulting in worse quality and originality.

I have been to other shows such as Corral de la Morería, and you don't get this kind of problems. I am definitely not taking any visitors to las Carboneras ever again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    34
    7
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great and interesting flamenco show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Please reserve early (at least 1 day before) as flamenco show in Madrid is like a hot cake. We booked the 2nd show at 11pm and arrived 15mins early. This shop is located near the Mercat near Plaza Mayor. We paid the entrance fee of euro28 per person and it comes with 1 drink (per person) and a plate of marinated olive (sharing). The show started late around 1115pm but ended around 1230am. I have to say that i was pretty much impressed by the quality of the show and from the face expression of other around me, they were pretty much the same. Loud cheering and a lot of clapping was heard throughout the show for the great show brought to us by the 4 dancers and 2 awesome singers. It was my 1st time watching flamenco show and i was not really keen to pay that much for a show at 1st. However, i am pleased that i made the decision to watch it at Las Carboneras.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Falls, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food and dancing was great. It's a little hard to find as it is down a small alley behind the Mercado de San Miguel (which was fun to visit after the show).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Enjoy show, but not the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had been to flamenco in Seville on two occasions, and Las Carboneras was, by far, the best. But don't expect a great chef. The swordfish was badly overcooked. Wine excellent, as was the carrot cake. We liked the way each of four dancers (one man) took turns with pheonemal performances. Get dinner with ticket to get best table, but order tapas---wish i had done so.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Flamenco in an Intimate Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our tour group wanted to see a flamenco show in Madrid, and so our (very knowledgeable) madrileno guide booked us a show at Las Carboneras. He advised us to pass up the dinner at the club, and instead steered us to the Mercado de San Miguel one block away, where we enjoyed an incredible array of tapas and treats. Wise move, as the dinners at Las Carboneras are expensive. Inside, the club was dark and intimate. We are seated right next to the small stage, and were attentively served by the waitstaff. Now I'm not knowledgeable enough about flamenco to offer a detailed critique of dancing technique, but to my eye and ear, the performers displayed incredible energy, spontaneity, passion, and hypnotic sensuality. At the end of each number they were breathless and dripping with sweat. The audience responded with rounds of vigorous applause and shouts of "ole". As other reviewer's have commented, there may be "better" shows elsewhere in Spain, but you won't forget an evening at Las Carboneras.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Carboneras also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Las Carboneras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Carboneras, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.