We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jose Luis

Jose Luis
C/Serrano 89-91, Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)
+34 (91) 5630958
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Jose Luis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #805 of 6,412 restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Salamanca
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wanting a late meal after arriving in Madrid. Recommended by doorman at the Intercontinental Hotel. Had to wait for a table outside, but drinks and free nuts available at the bar - worth the wait! We had a selection of tapas which were very good - mâché go cheese, Iberian ham and calamares all nicely presented and tasty. Efficient friendly service - good atmosphere.

Liked it so much we went back 2 nights later but had to eat inside as already full about 8pm. Mostly locals so a good sign - they do provide some main courses other than tapas - would recommend to others especially if staying in the area, saves going into the centre. Didn't think it was over expensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    35
    54
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A very nice evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We wanted a light supper after a full day and a very heavy mid-day meal. The hotel recommended Jose Luis. It provided very welcoming environment and a wonderful selection of food and wine.

We ordered three waves of tapas - keeping the quantity small but enjoying a great variety.

As the evening progressed, we enjoyed seeing how Madrid spends its evenings in this comfortable place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good but expensive local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stumbled upon Jose Luis while walking back to our hotel nearby. It was a beautiful evening and the outdoor tables looked so inviting that we decided to give it a try. It was absolutely packed (with an almost exclusively local crowd, which we considered a plus), so we had to wait inside at the bar for a table outside. Not a problem, because we were introduced to their wide assortment of "pinchos" (pieces of bread with a variety of toppings, basically like Italian crostini).

As non-Spanish speakers we found the menu quite confusing, because it is divided into a number of different categories that we didn't really understand. The waiters were friendly and gave great service, but they weren't really able to help in the language department. We decided to be adventurous and just order a number of different things without really knowing what they were, and we asked the waiter to tell us when he thought we had enough for a full meal (which he did).

The gazpacho was exceptional. They served the basic soup and then came with a tray of different "fixings" (such as diced tomato, cucumber, egg, onion, garlic, peppers, etc) and you could choose what you wanted to add to your bowl--lovely! One of the other highlights was squid on potatoes in a mild tomato-ey sauce (it doesn't sound great but was delicious). The shrimps in garlic were only okay. The dishes were all basically tapas, but we had enough of them to make a full meal.

We had a bottle of the house red wine--can't remember the name but it was superb. The bill for two people came to about 75 Euros, which I thought was pretty expensive for what we had. Still, it was a lovely meal, with great service and a very nice atmosphere, and we would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderfull Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Its a place I always visit when I am in Madrid!
Great for tapas!
But yet a sophisticated and quiet restaurant!
Very nice food!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Went with some friends. The waiter was very attentive. Food was good. When thr bill came we appeared to have been overcharged for certain things. Perhaps because we were tourists? Who knows. It's a nice venue and sitting outside on the street is pleasant minus the random noise from cars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Luis also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Jose Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jose Luis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.