We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK BUT NOT SPECTACULAR” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Paco

Casa Paco
Puerta Cerrada 11, 28005 Madrid, Spain
91-366-3166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,550 of 6,849 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OK BUT NOT SPECTACULAR”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Four of us went down to this restaurant based on the reviews.
FIRST we asked about several higher end wines which they didn't have.
SECONDLYwe got bread and dip which was 6 euro. Good dip but bread was quite stale. Definately overpriced.
THIRDLY order the garlic soup.Ok but didn't taste fresh. I guess it was on the stove all day as everything in it was mushy.
Next came the salad. Absolutely no effort or creativity here. My teen age daughter could have made this and probably done a better job. Tomates and lettuce with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Mix your own from the two bottles on the table.
Finally the steaks came. Meat was delicious but would much prefered it cooked on a good grill over the deep fryer searing method.
Overall the bill came to 178 euros for 4. Left full but NOT impressed. Really could have done significant better at home with next to no effort.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    64
    24
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Bit of an average tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Went here with my young family family on a recommendation of an authentic traditional Spanish restaurant. Overall we were really disappointed and felt the whole place is just average, awful decor and lighting (not at all 'authentic' just pretentious old hat!), very unwelcoming to children (with no provision of high chairs or children's menus or children's portions) and resting on it's out of date/has been/pretentious laurels. It is just a horrible, tacky tourist attraction for those impressed by old photos of semi famous people who have ONCE eaten there many years ago (in my book if you have to explain who the famous person is then they can't be that famous!). We found the staff aloof and when my 8 yr old son asked for some patatas bravas with his Spanish omelette this was deemed too much for him and unnecessary and therefore he could not have them - surely that's our choice? - he ate the omelette in no time at all despite it being served swimming in oil and being far too over salted. Myself and my wife shared a steak - it was just an average yet over priced steak on a hot plate with the worst side salad I've ever been served and some greasy over salted fried potatoes - nothing special at all. However the bill was rather expensive. Just found the whole place a bit lacking in every possible way and a real disappointment... think we were in and out in 35 mins... which was 35 mins too long for us. Thankfully Madrid had plenty more lovely, authentic Spanish restaurants to offer us during our stay to make up for the disappointment of this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good steak in a historical restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Casa Paco was recommended by our hotel and it did not disappoint. We were excited by the fact that Ernest Hemingway frequented the restaurant during his time in Madrid. It's located just off of Plaza Mayor and is a two-story restaurant that has three dining rooms. It is almost impossible to get in without reservations. The place is filled with pictures of many famous people that have dined there. The steak was good to average compared to other steakhouses I have been. All in all I would return to try all the other menu offerings that they have besides steak. If you are a fan of Hemingway this is definitely a must see restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Paco's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

If you want steak that is hot on the plate, this is the place to go to. Arrive around 830pm for a glass of wine in the bar before the restaurant opens and let them know you want to dine also. The steaks are thick and seared on the outside, served on an extremely hot platter and are still cooking. If you want your's rare, it is ready. If you want it medium just cut slices and lay them on the platter to continue cooking. The staff is efficient and will help you make your selection. Senor Paco died many years ago, and his presence is missed. Many pictures of famous people who have dinned there in the past to peruse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NOT worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Personal opinion , Not worth of money and dont have any taste. everyone should be able to make it at home for 10 mins max

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Paco also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Casa Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Paco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.