We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious steak! rude waiter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Paco

Casa Paco
Puerta Cerrada 11, 28005 Madrid, Spain
91-366-3166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,519 of 6,417 restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“delicious steak! rude waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were a little concerned after we sat down and saw that every other table had an orange Fodor's Spain book on it like we did (ut oh, is this a tourist trap??) but once we had our first bite of the steak our worries were wiped away! The beef is truly delicious! 1 kilo was definitely enough to share between 4 women after having started with a gazpacho and salad to share. PLEASE request the meal WITHOUT SALT, as they really pour it on in handfuls. Make a reservation!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    57
    58
    18
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best steak EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Casa Paco. We came with a bunch of friends and were given our own part of the restaurant. The food was excellent. The steak was to die for and the service was brilliant! Our waiter was attentive and looked after every one of us. Excellent place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exttremely rude waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have been to Casa Paco and reccomended it to other travellers for over 7 years but on our latest visit on 4 of May to celebrate my spanish mother's 75 birthday we had a terrible experience. We had a very rude waiter who not only was not helpful but was downright rude. My mother ordered sole which arrived cold. we asked him to heat it it arrived back luke warm and semi-raw. When she complained he replied that she had eaten enough of it anyway!. We were a party of 10 who left a lot of money at this restaurant. While the steaks are good i feel there is better value and quality in Madrid where you are treated a whole lot better. We wil not be returning

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went with a work colleague, we both fancied a good steak, we was not disappointed, following other trip advisors reviews this was the one we picked. The steak is sold by weight so we had a kilo between us, very simple no sauces just with fries, salad or rice. Thick cut but done to perfection, one medium and one medium well, a little more expensive but you must track this place down if it is steak you fancy. Located just off Sol (main tourist area) in a traditional Spanish restaurant with its own bar at the front.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great meat in Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

typical, located in a fun area, close to the Rastro, to La Latina and to the Royal Palace. Worth to dine in winter. ok price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Paco also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Casa Paco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Paco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.