We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Asian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Saigon

Cafe Saigon
Maria de Molina 4, 28006 Madrid, Spain (Salamanca)
91-563-1566
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Book Online and Save Up to 30% *
Cafe Saigon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
*Some exclusions may apply.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,312 of 6,814 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $0 - $132
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Salamanca
Ondara, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Being our first time at this restaurant, my husband and I ordered the degustacion menu for 2, However we left feeling hungry because the portions were very small!. Everything was cooked to perfection and very well presented. However, we plan to go back in September with friends, but we will order off the normal menu which we noticed what most people were doing, obviously they had eaten there before and knew exactly what to order.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    78
    40
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

When I first went to this restaurant eight years ago I was blown away by the food, but it now seems like an average Chinese restaurant rather than an excellent Vietnamese one. We've been twice in the last year and both times were disappointing, so we won't be going back again. There are far better options in Madrid for this price.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food served in nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The food is good, the service also good and the atmosphere even better. Usefull customers look to be locals from medium and high class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets for Chinese in Madrid. But I would not go back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We ate here on a Sunday and it was packed. It's extremely popular with the under 35 set and had many large groups dining. The interior is lovely and while it advertises itself as Vietnamese it's more of a pan Asian, kind of Chinese sort of Spanish menu. The food has largely been adapted to a Spanish palate, so the sweet of the Vietnamese has been toned way down (the sweet chili sauce was mostly vinegar) and the salt has been dialed way up. And there is almost no spicy at all (despite the chili pepper warnings). That said, the caramelized duck was the best dish we had. The Cantonese dumplings were fine, but the meat in them had very little flavor and would have benefitted from more ginger and more garlic. The Sichuan shrimp were ok, the batter a bit too thick and the chilis too few, but plenty of pepper corns. Sadly the dish was so salty you could barely taste the other flavors in it. The duck and spinach noodles were nearly inedible as they were so salty as to be dehydrating. Moreover, like most Asian restaurants in Madrid, this one, despite charging quite a lot, was using Italian pasta instead of Chinese noodles in this dish which made it taste extra wrong. The fried rice was fine. Total cost of the meal with coffee, mineral water etc for 3 was 74€ ($104).

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really good Asian food at affordable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

A nice break following a few days of Spanish food. We enjoyed the Indonesian menu which gave us a taste of many different dishes. It's an emits le experience at a decent price.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Saigon also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Cafe Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.