We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Oscar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Oscar to your Saves list
Room Mate Oscar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Vazquez de Mella 12, 28004 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Leeds, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Location, location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in this hotel in mid September. The location is superb, situated in the beating heart of Madrid. The rooms however, whilst comfortable, we're not that amazing. Our room was a standard double, with no view and the toilet and shower were located - quite literally - at the bottom of the bed. Five feet and a frosted glass partition does not really provide that much privacy. That aside, it's a cool hotel with a lively crowd to match. If you want peace and quiet this isn't for you but them again neither is a weekend in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roommateoscar, Gerente at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Óscar and for your time giving us your opinion.

The most value information comes from our guests; this is how we improve day by day our service and our hotel. We take into consideration your opinion about the rooms.

Please feel free to contact me for your next visit.

Sincerely.

Gonzalo Ladrón de Guevara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    406
    161
    61
    43
See reviews for
35
496
127
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have stayed in Room Mate Hotels before in Madrid but this time opted to stay closer to Chueca at hotel Oscar. It's a great location and the staff was very friendly but the rooms , though cool, need updates. We stayed in suite 103 and the carpet was stained, the funky couch/table had a cigarette burn and the bathroom just REEKED, seriously, like a night club of cigarette smoke. At first we thought it was because of the previous guest, but it remained the same over 3 nights there. Taking a shower felt like a nightclub.

We like the Room Mate concept , so we hope management give this hotel a needed update soon and enforce the non-smoking rules.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roommateoscar, Gerente at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we are grateful that you have chosen the Room Mate Óscar, and also because you have spent a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know your opinion. The most value information comes from our guests; this is how we improve day by day our service and our hotel.

We take into consideration all your opinions; hopefully in your next visit we will achieve your total satisfaction.

Thank you very much for your nice words, this will encourage our Family.

Please feel free to contact me for your next visit, I will be glad to make your booking myself.

Yours sincerely.

Gonzalo Ladrón de Guevara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is very comfortable and the location is great for nightlife as well as centrally located for the sights of Madrid. Great room overlooking the square. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Great bars in the area. Choice of restaruants can be a bit more of a challenge but lots of very good tapas as you might expect.
Do check your bill. I was charged for 2 breakfasts for two I did not have. I was not given the bill to check just told the amount to pay and did so.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Mr. Walsh,

Thank you very much for leleaving us your opinion in this web page, we do appreciate your nice words about your stay in Oscar.

I really want to apologize for the mistake we have made with your bill and I would like you please to contact directly with me to check this charge so we can refund you for these breakfast you have not enjoyed.

my email address is: oscar.jrecepcion@room-matehotels.com

Best regards and we do hope to see you soon in Oscar!

Támara López
Front Desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, located in the Chueca neighborhood, and just 2 blocks from Gran Via. Pros: The hotel fronts a nice plaza with good places to have some drinks and tapas. Great area to shop. Cons: the modern boutique concept, although nice is not practical, dimm lighting in room not practical, the rooms are showing a need for an uplift, leaky ceiling in bathroom, and the humidity smell is dreadful, and last, NO soundproofing!! You can hear everything in the halls, hotel's kitchen through a window, and noise from the bar upstairs. I enjoyed specifically for location, but will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roommateoscar, Gerente at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Eric,

Thank you very much for your opinion. Over everything, we beg you to accept our sincere apologizes if the Hotel has not reached your expectations.

I am very sorry for all the issues mentioned in your opinion, our aim is to achieve all your needs. We take into consideration all your opinions; hopefully in your next visit we will achieve your total satisfaction.

I would be very glad if you want to come again to our hotel. If I can do anything for you do not hesitate in contact me, I will love to help you.

Yours sincerely,

Gonzalo Ladrón de Guevara
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

A charming eccentric chic modern hotel just off the Gran Via in downtown Madrid's Chueca district.
Front desk staff very helpful and we were upgraded to a big fun quiet room.
There is an attached funky restaurant that serves a nice breakfast for a reasonable price.
Chueca is filled with interesting cafes, bars, shops and restaurants and has lots of gay community here. The nearby yuppy San Marco mercado is great fun to buy food or eat and drink at without paying too much. Only problem for us was loud drunk singers coming back to our corridor at 1am so be warned this is not your typical tourist hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Brian,

We are very happy to read that you have spent a pleasant stay hotel in our hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you here in Oscar on a future travel to Madrid.

We can just apologize for the inconveniences that some other guests caused you that night and please feel free to contact us at any time.

We look forward to see you in early future.

Best regards,

Támara López
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved our stay at Oscar. Very cool and hip hotel in a great location making walking everywhere easy to do. Highly recommended for those looking for an affordable but stylish hotel in an energetic location. The roof top terrace was fabulous, had cocktails there every night before we went out. For the price, Oscar is hard to beat. The breakfast was more than adequate to get you going.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a sleepy quaint hotel, this will not be for you. Everyone else should enjoy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Philip,

Nothing can make us happier than reading that you enjoyed your stat with us in Óscar and we thank you as well for leaving your opinion in this web page as it is very important to us.

I am happy to tell you as well we have some new products in our breakfast so I am sure you will love it in your next visit!

Kindest regards,

Támara López
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay close to all amenities with good size rooms. A little expensive on the drinks side but that just made us go to the wonderful bars around. Breakfast included but I would have loved a boiled egg!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara L, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Oscar, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for your words and for sharing your experience at Room Mate Oscar with other people.

I am happy to tell you we have added some new products to our breakfast and we have no boiled eggs yet but we do have them scrambled!

We wish to see you again in the early future so you can enjoy it by yourself!

Kindest regards,

Támara López,
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Oscar

Address: Plaza Vazquez de Mella 12, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Madrid
#91 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Oscar 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Oscar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Oscar Madrid
Room Mate Oscar Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Oscar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.