We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern yet no ironing facilities!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vincci Via 66

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vincci Via 66 to your Saves list
Hotel Vincci Via 66
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via 66, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #74 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Modern yet no ironing facilities!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A very modern yet somewhat garish hotel located smack-bang in the middle of Madrid's city centre. We loved the sweeping staircase and rooftop terrace even if it was a little confusing to order a drink..

The rooms were clean, sleek and the blackout blinds are amongst the best I have come across. There was minimal noise from the busy street.

I found the lighting in the room a little confusing. Neither of us could work out how to just turn the bathroom light on - maybe something we should have asked about.

The front desk staff were very helpful, giving excellent recommendation on nearby dining and even printing my boarding pass to fly home.

Sadly a lasting memory of this hotel will be it's lack of ironing facilities. A four star central hotel without an iron? I'm not precious but I do like to look nice when going out for dinner. Sort it out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Via 66, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
With respect to our ironing service, you should be aware that due to safety reasons our rooms do not have irons. However, among our services with an additional cost, we have an ironing service.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    322
    94
    26
    18
See reviews for
71
407
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Location for this hotel is great for bus tours, metro, and restaurants. The views from the roof terrace are amazing and make sure you are there to watch a sunset.
It has a modern retro design and we found our double room very quiet and always kept clean.
Christina on reception was extremely helpful with lots of advice on places to go, and good areas for eating etc.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again on our next visit to Madrid.

Room Tip: Pick a high room for the view and away from possible street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Via 66, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I really liked this hotel. The decor is different and really works. I was conscious all the time of how really clean the hotel is. I know we should take this for granted in a four star hotel but we have found that it is not always so. The room we had was a good size, with a great bathroom. We were in room 914 which was at the side of the building with no views to speak of but it was very quiet. And who needs a room with a view when you can use the beautiful terrace on the 10th floor? This is a great addition to the hotel; it was lovely to finish up our evening with a night-cap in this lovely space. Apart from the man who checked us in and who was disinterested to the point of rudeness, we found the staff very friendly and helpful when asked for information. Breakfast was good and plentiful. But what really makes the hotel is the location - it's in a great spot. The nearest metro station is only a 2 minute walk away and from there you can get anywhere in the city. It's a very lively area; I mean that in a very positive way. We are "a mature couple" so obviously would not be looking for over-the-top lively as younger people would want. But the area has a great buzz about it. There are many great bars and restaurants around the hotel so in the evenings you don't need to move out of the area unless you wish. I would certainly recommend this hotel. We have stayed in quite a number of hotels in European cities and this was definitely one of the best.

Room Tip: We had room 914 which is at the side of the hotel. Not huge but a nice size room and it was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Via 66, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.
We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location was great for bus tours and Metro, which is cheap and very easy to get around on. Two of the reception staff were friendly and smiley, but the others pretty off hand and could do with some customer relation training! Air conditioning in our room very ineffective so reported to management and hope something is being done about it. Twin bedded rooms are apparently on the quieter side of the hotel whereas double bedded rooms are on the noisy side which was ours! Breakfast very good choice all round. If you like black then the décor is for you, but did not appeal to us.

Room Tip: Twin rooms at the back are off main street and therefore quieter, otherwise book top floors as we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Via 66, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid and for publishing your opinions and impressions. We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our location and that our breakfast was to your liking. Our guest satisfaction is surely our reason to be and what we work for every day in Vincci Hotels.
We regret, though, that we did not meet all of your expectations and would like to inform you that we take note of each and every guest´s observations, complaints, suggestions and feedback, always with the goal in mind of improving.
We are sorry as well that you were not happy with how our air conditioning worked. In this regard we would like to clarify that when you notified us that the air conditioning in your room was not functioning well, our staff sent a repair person to check that it indeed was working correctly. Further we explained that, due to environmental regulations, temperatures cannot be put lower than 21ºC and that the air conditioning stops when either the window or the door to the room´s balcony are opened.
We also regret that, despite our sophisticated soundproofing system, you were disturbed by noises. We would like to also mention that all of our rooms with a double bed are in the same area of the establishment and that in order to make your stay as comfortable as possible our staff offered to change you to a room with two individual beds that had been put together.
Lastly, we are sorry if you considered that the treatment you received on the part of our staff was not appropriate. All of our team are known for providing impeccable service and always taking care of guest´s requests in order to provide them with a perfect stay, so we apologize if you considered that in your case it was not entirely like this.
We are at your disposal for whatever you may need.
Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avalon, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

"If" you want to stay at a downtown Madrid hotel then you will love Hotel Vincci.

From beginning to end the Vincci exceeded our expectations. The hotel staff were friendly, efficient and helped us in every way. Our room had a beautiful old Madrid skyline view.
Though the 2 twin beds initially concerned me they were comfortable - great, actually. The downtown location couldn't have been better. The theatre, cinema, metro, shops were steps away. We walked everywhere.

This was my first trip to Madrid. No matter how much I like a hotel if I return to a city I like to try a different hotel. I'm returning to Madrid in November and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The view from Room 402 was beautiful. Facing just over the roofline of the buildings across the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Via 66, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
We appreciate your comments. We will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon and it was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel is located walking distance to a lot of he sites: the palace, museums, etc. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Id recommend this hotel as a great place to stay to see Madrid

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Via 66, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. Without question, our guests’ satisfaction is our raison d’être.
We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was our first trip to madrid and my first trip to spain. My partner chose this hotel and it was amazing. The decor was one of a kind, christina informed us that the women in the black and white pictures all used to work in the surrounding theatres and the location was busy and bustling with plenty to do. The rooms themselves were very clean and tidy and also very spacious with maid service as requested. There was a well stocked mini bar and plenty of optional, additional services such as a room service menu, and dry cleaning (at additional cost).
There was a safe provided in the room which could be locked using either your room card or one of your credit cards (which felt a little more secure as a room card could be duplicated).
On to the review- The staff were amazing, the receptionist that greeted us (George) was very welcoming and informative and couldnt do enough to make us feel at home and guide us to all the sites and places to be in madrid. Christina was an absolute star, she is a receptionist and being closer to our age (22) she knew exactly what we were after and all the best places in the city to find them (and at the best prices too!) such as the best cocktail bars and places to go. She truely made our holiday so much more pleasurable!
The terrace had astounding views over the city and was well staffed which was a blessing seeing as it was a 9 floor difference between the terrace and the bar. Nothing was too much trouble. There happened to be a new guy starting his first day with the vinci via hotel as a waiter (Alex) and he was a really nice lad, his english was limited but he attempted to engage me in conversation regarding our choice of wine and the fact that fernando alonso happened to be racing in madrid during our stay, he really made an effort and always had a smile. which is more than can be said for a certain other male waiter...
The menu was basic and didnt make for an appetizing read, i reluctantly chose a hamburger from the menu on an evening where we had decided not to go out and just order room service, but i was very surprised to have found it to have been the best hamburger i have ever had!! i had 3 during my one week stay!!!!
We made full use of the spa which is a bargain at just 20 euros for one hour for two of us, a really nice end to our busy week! Luxury!!
Things to do- the nighlife is bustling but a far cry from the trashy nightlife we experiece in britain, the spanish have it right! There are numerous restaurants on the strip and we ate at most of them, they are delicious, you can get a bucket with 5 bottles of beer just next door for 3 euros!!
Be sure to board the cable cars situated over in the park for a panoramic view of the city for around 5 euros each, we walked along the main road on the other side, past the theme park and went to the zoo which was 37 euros for two of us using the discount voucher obtained from the desk at the cable car station. it was about a 25 minute walk but worth it, the zoo and aquarium were astounding! better than our british zoos!
We caught a metro and a bus to warner brothers theme park which cost 39 euros for the two of us (using the 40% discount obtained at the cable cars). it was fantastic, not a patch on alton towers but it certainly had its own feel.
we generally explored the city and walked around which is what the holiday was about for me, there certainly are many hidden gems such as the mercado de san miguel which sells high end food goods, we sampled a fraction of what they sell and it was certainly an experience, a must-do for any food lovers like myself. If you visit there, be sure to visit the square that lies opposite it up a flight of stairs, it was a lovely afternoon just to sit and enjoy a beer and paella and watch the world go by.
Cons- The spacious bed that me and my partner shared consisted of two beds pushed together which posed problems in itself, there was one male waiter who acted as though bringing us a drink was a real problem for him, he just had an attitude, and in fact he was the only guy we didnt tip during the entire holiday. The blinds in the bathroom were very thin and if you had the bathroom light on at night, then the hostels opposite could see a perfect sillohette of the person showering/bathing... not a major deal for me but disconcerting for my partner.
Overall the whole experience was fantastic, and not overly expensive considering how much we did and the fact that we were self catering. Thank you very much for the experince vinci via, keep up the good work!!

Darren and Leanne

Room Tip: Room 505 was a corner room, loads of space, half way between the lobby and the terrace. Bit loud bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GemmadeVincci, Community Manager at Hotel Vincci Via 66, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
To our esteemed guest:
It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.
We would like to let you know that we will take your opinions into account: they will doubtless help us to improve the customer service we offer our guests in the future.
We regret, also, if you felt that the treatment you received from our waiter was not appropriate. All of our staff are recognized for providing impeccable service and always taking care of guest´s requests in order to provide them with a perfect stay, so we apologize if in you considered that in your case it was not entirely like this.
We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vincci Via 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vincci Via 66

Address: Gran Via 66, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#58 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#72 Family Hotel in Madrid
#80 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vincci Via 66 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vincci Via 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincci Via 66
Vincci Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vincci Via 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.