We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Santo Domingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Santo Domingo to your Saves list
Hostal Santo Domingo
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   C/ Luna, 6, 28004 Madrid, Spain (Malasana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shepparton, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome place and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Loved this place! 2 minute walk to the main street. The guy and girl who were on the front desk while i was there were so lovely and friendly. Asking me how my day was and the guy helped me with my luggage. The room was small but great. No complaints. Had a tv, air con and modern shower/toilet. Cafes and restaurants all in walking distance. Police station pretty much across from Hostel. Had no safety issues what so ever. 10-15 minute walk to the park where I went on a segway tour. Its a must do! Great way to see all the sites. Unfortunately, I only stayed in Madrid for 2 days. I would stay at this Hostel again if I return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    81
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
155
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This "hostal" is more like a boutique hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious enough (by Europe's standards). Upon checkin, we received a free upgrade, and the staff was friendly and helpful when we asked for recommendations. The rooms were quiet and we slept well, even though we were in a busy part of the city.
The location is great-- just a block or two off the Gran Via, and close to a few metro stops (Callao, Gran Via). Taking the metro to/from the airport was easy and cheap (just a couple of connections, and 5 euros for each person).
My husband and I couldn't believe that there was a hotel as clean and with as good of a location as this, priced incredibly reasonably, in a capital city!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. It felt like they thought about everything when furnished the room. Even though the room is very small, it has everything you need and everything is very well organized and clean. The WiFi works properly (I had problems in other hotels in Spain) and is available in the entire hotel. The staff is most helpful and fluent in English, and the location is perfect. A bar/coffee place downstairs offers simple but very fresh breakfast. The metro is just around the corner.
Cons: Every time someone goes out of his room you can hear every step and every word.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, the Hotel it's self was in a brilliant location,metro was opposite to hotel and could get to the airport via the metro for less than 8e each which was a lot cheaper than a taxi!
Would recommend this hotel highly to anyone, the staff were so helpful and nothing was to much for them.. Especially in locating places for you to visit! Would def stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Spent 4 day city break in Madrid in early September 2012.
Given short timescale we wanted a hotel in the city centre.
Santo Domingo fitted the bill perfectly.
Ideally located with underground station directly outside.
Very close to Palicio Real and Plaza Mayor and 2 minutes from Gran Via .
Hotel is undergoing re-furbishment so ongoing work being carried out but didn't affect us,
We stayed in a recently refurbished room at the rear of the hotel.Very small but clean and comfortable with all the usual facilities.
We opted for B+B which was excellent with ample choice.
Reception staff helpful enough when required.
Hotel has a rooftop terrace and pool which is a bonus altho didnt have time to use.
About 1 hour from airport on underground ( 2 changes).
Would recommend for a trip to Madrid if limited time

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room Have rooms at front which might be better but could also be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was there with three other friends at the end of September for some proverbial "R&R" and we decided to book two rooms in this Hostal. It is modern, clean and very functional. Staff is very friendly and they provide all the tips you need for good restaurants and clubs. There is free internet acces in the lobby, and vending machines to sate the midnight thirst and hunger. Rooms are a bit small but clean and airconditioned, so sleeping was restfull. Hostal itself is located practically in the city center and within the walking distance to a lot of Madrid's famous tourist attractions. It is also close to the public transport and there are always plenty of cheap taxis around. Hostal is definitely worth the money you pay and I am sure to book again when in Madrid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've been there in February 2010. Small but super cute room, design forniture, not pretentious but funtional. The owner is adorable and ready to give you all the inside tips you need. Very good position, few min away from the public transportations and the Gran Via.
Great price/quality value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Santo Domingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Santo Domingo

Address: C/ Luna, 6, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Santo Domingo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Santo Domingo, located in Madrid's Maravillas district, was first opened in 1962. Over the past 50 years it has provided a roof for thousands of visitors. In 2007 refurbishments were completed, transforming this pleasant Hostal into a comfortable and modern place to stay. All rooms have different decoration styles and their own bathroom, hairdryer, t.v. and telephone. Central heating, air conditioning, Wi-Free and cromotherapy are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Santo Domingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.