We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with superior facilities and rooms but location not great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madrid Airport

Save Saved
You added Hilton Madrid Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Madrid Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Hispanidad 2-4, 28042 Madrid, Spain (Airport / Barajas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €100
Ranked #37 of 456 hotels in Madrid
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with superior facilities and rooms but location not great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

As an airport, business hotel you cannot get much better than this, but step outside of the door and you are in the middle of an industrial area so don't expect to go for a pleasant walk in the evening. The interior is excellent and very innovative, creating a real feeling of exclusivity - this really is 'New Hilton'. The public areas are very spacious and the facilities are modern and well maintained. I stayed on the 'Presidential' floor so naturally the rooms were excellent with a great attention to detail. Also, in Hilton style, BBC1, BBC2 and ITV1 were available on the TV!
The only downside to the hotel was the gym. It is too small and way too warm, I only lasted 20 minutes before the heat got to me.. a bit of aircon would be nice or even open the windows!
Back to location, out at the airport in a non-residential area with no access on foot to any local restaurants etc. So, if you want to do Madrid city it will be a taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities, the rooms and the spaces. We are aware of the location Nevertheless we offer a complementary service shuttle to the city centre. It runs 3 times per day usually in the morning. The shuttle drops you off in the downtown of Madrid. We are also aware about the dimensions of the gym but due to the architecture the gym cannot be bigger. I have forwarded your comments about the temperature to the chief engineer in order to adjust the temperature according to the guests needs. If your are planning to come back please feel free to contact us for any special request you might have.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    644
    456
    137
    34
    14
See reviews for
216
415
145
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We flew back into Madrid from Lisbon, Portugal the night before our return flight back home on our trip this past November ...

The location and shuttle service were great however EVERYTHING other than the room and the shuttle cost more ...

I would only go here if I could put this on an expense report the next time around ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback,

I hope you had a nice flight back home. Sorry if the costs did not much your expectations. Our prices are aligned with the 5 stars hotel market. If you are planning to come back to Madrid do not hesitate to contact us for any tips.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Hilton Madrid Airport.

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Although the room is nice, this hotel is isolated... not a big deal if you're here for a night on a stopover except everything is overpriced and there are very options for food.If you have any special diet ie vegetarian don't stay here - the menu is small with few options. For example, the lunch menu was fixed with appetizer, main, desert for 25 euros, 22 euros for internet, 15 euros to watch a movie, 500ml water 4.95 euro, can of coke 330ml 4.95 euro, Hamburger 23 euros... ouch.

All this would be fine if it was the Hilton downtown where you would have a choice but, being an airport hotel (with absolutely nothing nearby) you don't have much of a option. I travel a lot and I know that hotels charge more but, I couldn't help feeling that I was being taken advantage of.

Would I recommend the hotel? I might. At 100 euro a night it's okay... but, come prepared.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

Our prices are alienated with the 5 stars hotel market. Nevertheless, I totally agree with your point about the location, furthermore we offer a complementary shuttle service to the city centre. It runs 3 times per day usually in the morning. You can also find the shopping centre Plenilunio 15 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to Hilton Madrid Airport

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night at the start of a week-long trip to Madrid and loved it.
As we didn't arrive at the airport until after midnight, the shuttle bus didn't seem to be running and there was no real info about how to call for it. A bit disappointing, but we got a taxi instead and it wasn't far.
The hotel itself is excellent - really modern, large rooms and friendly staff. I'd definitely stay here again.
Just wish we'd had time to use the spa and other gym facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Sorry about the inconvenient caused with Shuttle info. The Shuttle stop is not labelled due to the Airport policies, hotels cannot put it logos on it. The running schedule is from 5:00 am to 1:00 am on a daily basis. I hope in your next stay with us you have time to enjoy our relaxation area. It is a nice place to relax after a long day sightseeing the vibrant city of Madrid.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Hilton Madrid Airport.

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staying here at Hilton Madrid Airport. An easy ride from the airport on the hotel shuttle that swings by every 20 minutes or so. A shuttle is also offered to downtown Madrid 3x daily.

I'm on the executive floor (403) and the room is just beautiful! Sleek, modern, and sexy with glass enclosure for the bathroom and lovely furnishings. A nice wall of windows that include a door to let fresh air in is also present. The bathroom comes with a standard toilet and a bidet and those are walled off from the rest of the bathroom for maximum privacy. The bathroom also features a tub and separate enclosed shower. So nice.

The front desk staff provided excellent hospitality during check in. Really friendly and welcoming.

I've done a quick walk through of the property, stopping by the fitness center, the lobby area, and the executive lounge. The indoor pool is inviting (I'll be using that tomorrow) and the spa prices for massage are reasonable (may book one of those as well if I can find room in my budget for it). The restaurant dinner menu is appealing (going to try the sea bass) and the executive lounge is clean, well staffed, and offers tasty snacks throughout the day at different times. I'm not much of a drinker so I cannot comment on the wines/beer provided in the lounge but they have coke zero in those adorable curvy iconic glass coke bottles. I've never seen that anywhere else. So cute! I have read reports that the morning breakfast is filling and delicious but will have to wait until the my first morning here tomorrow to validate those claims.

Finally, the hotel is quiet - an important amenity when you need to get work done. When in my room, I haven't heard a peep from outside my room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing this positive review with us.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed the rooms, services and facilities. Team members are always working hard to deliver a personal service as we consider this is essential to make our guest live unforgettable experience. Did you taste our delicious Spanish tapas at Ferrum Bar? I suggest you to taste it in your next visit to Madrid.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Hilton Madrid Airport

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We caught the free shuttle minibus on arrival at the airport (the stand was a bit awkward to find but we flagged down the passing minibus no problem and the driver was pleasant). Welcomed by Tarek, we checked in to a very nice, modern and clean room in the north tower. The breakfast was plentiful and with much variety. The walk to the metro station (Alameda de Osuna) takes about 10-15mins and the hotel reception provides an A4 sketch map of how to get there. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the centre which we didn't use but you need to ask before breakfast to get on it. All in all a very pleasant stay in Madrid, the highlight of which was the tapas tour run by Adventurous Appetites on the Saturday night, although it did take a day or two to fully recover!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Did you like Madrid? I hope you had enough time to enjoy the city and the hotel. For your next stay with us I suggest you to use the complementary shuttle service to downtown. It runs 3 times per day in the morning usually at 9:50, 11:15, and 12:15. It drops you in the city centre next to Alcala Street. At Ferrum Bar we also offer Spanish Tapas made by the chef Pedro Corredor.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel.

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Very tastefully decorated - cool and modern, with lots of chrome and glass. The room was very stylish and comfortable. On the downside, the wi-fi was not free and the connection was not particularly good. The breakfast was expensive (€26) but it was excellent. Free shuttle bus to and from the airport. Staff speak good English.

A taxi to the city centre is about €20, and once you're there you can find countless sights to see and places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonMadridAirport, General Manager at Hilton Madrid Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

I hope you had a nice business trip. It is nice that you liked the modern hotel design, the room and the Hilton Breakfast. Internet service in the rooms can not be given free because the price is fixed by Hilton corporate office. However, recently we have included a free service connection in public areas such as the lobby, bar, etc….Did you enjoy the relaxation area? Is the perfect place to relax after a long working day.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Hilton Madrid Airport.

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Madrid Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madrid Airport

Address: Avenida de la Hispanidad 2-4, 28042 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Airport / Barajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Madrid
#23 Business Hotel in Madrid
#25 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#30 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Madrid Airport 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Hilton Madrid Airport hotel is just minutes from Madrid Barajas International Airport and the bustling cosmopolitan city of Madrid. Take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport and stops at attractions or use the nearby Metro station as your link to the city of Madrid.Indulge in a fantastic selection of rooms at this Madrid hotel which include impressive marble bathrooms, flat-screen LCD or plasma TVs and wireless internet access. Guest rooms feature heated floors and floor-to-ceiling windows. Executive, deluxe and relaxation rooms offer complimentary access to the Executive Lounge. Enjoy a suite that offers a separate living room and fluffy bathrobes for your comfort and convenience. Refresh with a swim in the hydrotherapeutic pool and exercise in the fully equipped fitness center.Consider the self-contained Convention Center located in the North Tower of the Hilton Madrid Airport for business conferences, celebrations and stylish Madrid weddings. Host up to 450 guests in space that includes a board room and elegant ballroom, making this Madrid airport hotel an ideal location.Savor sumptuous Mediterranean cuisine in the Reserva Grill Restaurant and enjoy tantalizing tapas and a glass of Rioja in the Ferrum Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Madrid Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madrid Airport Hotel Madrid
Hilton International Madrid Airport
Madrid Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madrid Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.