We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice staying there. Definitely recommend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Luz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Luz to your Saves list
Hostal Luz
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   calle de las Fuentes, 10, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 240 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
“Great location and nice staying there. Definitely recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Location of the hostel is great!Everything is within walking distance. Rooms are quite small but nice and clean and they are cleaned daily. There is a free wi-fi and also a room with 3 available computers. Breakfast was ok...served in a charming little restaurant. It's not a big breakfast and sometimes you have to "remind" the waiter that the orange juice is included in what you payed for. The only "bad" thing about hostel Luz is that staff is not that kind - rather indifferent and they hardly speak any english, so if you don't know at least some spanish, it might be a problem. One more remark about the staff - you might have to get up early in the morning, since the cleaning lady starts banging the doors at 7am. However, we had a nice time there and we would book there again. And one advice for Margarita: you should change the lock at the front door - that was a bit irritating (having trouble unlocking the door)!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms too close to the front door as well as the ones which are next to those share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    168
    33
    18
    23
See reviews for
65
195
78
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Located on 3rd floor of apartment block (typical of this standard in Madrid) in great location just 100 mts from Opera Metro. Ideal for sightseeing the city. Clean and comfortable. Recently refurbished to a good standard and a lift. No food served bur voucher for breakfast in close by restaurant. Very helpful staff. Will return when Madrid has cooled down from the 40 degrees when we were there!

Room Tip: We were offered choice of rooms and 'queter room' at rear but from 3rd floor little noise to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed in Hostel Luz in June 2012 with two friends. We occupied a triple bedroom with own bathroom. The room was quite small, but apart from it it was PERFECT! We had flat TV with satelite, mini fridge, balcony and big sized warderobe. The room was cleaned every day and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They did not speak english, but we still understood each other. The Hostel is located in the middle of the city centre, everything is in walking distance. I still can't believe how cheap this accomodation was compared to the experience!

Room Tip: Our room was on the street front, but it was not a very busy street, I could sleep with no difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

A great location good for walking plus metro (opera) really close. We chose a shared bathroom to save $$ -was fine though beds a bit soft. Pictures must show the updated rooms (with bathroom) as we were disappointed in the space when we first arrived. Having said that, place was clean, good wifi connection, staff very friendly (easier if u speak some Spanish!). Nice computers available for use if don't have your own.

Hint for metro - we bought 3 day pass and didn't use it. Would have been better off with a 10 ticket deal.

Might stay again, might not.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lusaka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hostal is in an ideal location (If a little awkward to find) a two minute walk from Plaza Mayor & the Royal palace. Good clean simple rooms, as reflected in the price, all you need if most of your time is spent out and about. However, what made it for me was their honesty. fool that I am I left a large amount of cash in the safe of my room when I checked out. When I realised I rang the hostal, they had already found it and had safely stowed the cash in their office safe ready for me to collect....so the only thing I lost in the end was a bit of face.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Decent but certainly not luxury lodging for six nights at the end of our 3-week swing through Spain starting in Barcelona, through Andalusia. Room appeared to be modernized and had a decent amount of space to move around in, but certainly was not a large room at all. Bathroom was adequate for its purpose.

Located within a very reasonable walk from the Sol Metro station and even closer to Opera, but Opera would have taken a transfer if you were coming from Atocha and the direct stop from Atocha Renfe at Sol was certainly very easy to negotiate. From Sol back to Atocha Renfe was all it took to catch the Express Aerobus to the airport. So all in all, you were within 3-5 minutes' paseo from Puerta del Sol and Plaza Major.

Very nice lady at the front desk, who seemed always to be there no matter when we came or went! She spoke very little English, and we spoke very little Spanish, but we were able to communicate.

Breakfast consisted of a coupon you had to take outside, down the street, and left one block to a third-party cafeteria for a minimalist European "breakfast" of a choice of a couple types of pastry, juice you may have to remind them you were entitled to, and coffee, after an interminable wait one day, at least, and a slightly more reasonable wait when they were less understaffed, but it did the job once it arrived.

Overall, I'd give it a higher rating but for the awkward way of getting breakfast. If it's included in your rate, go for it, but otherwise, there are a lot of other pastry/coffee places open in the morning in a couple block walk.

One real plus was that a coin laudromat/drop off place was about 100 yards up the street! We left one medium sized load for them to do, which they did, between about 9 am when we dropped it off till we picked it up between 6 and 8 pm, for 17 euros. A lot, for a "load of wash" but what the heck; your time's worth more than that when you're in Spain on vacation!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Luz

Address: calle de las Fuentes, 10, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Luz 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Luz Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.