We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An impacable hotel in Madrid” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sercotel Suites Viena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sercotel Suites Viena to your Saves list
Sercotel Suites Viena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Alvarez Mendizabal 17, 28008 Madrid, Spain (Arguelles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“An impacable hotel in Madrid”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

If your want to understand a boutique hotel Suites Viena is a good definition.

The hotel is small, located at a quiet street. There is a school in front of it, but because of the time of the year in Madrid there was no noise nor traffic.

I was provided with a master suite, with 2 big terraces on each side of the room and an excellent way to achieve complete darkness. The room was very comfortable.

On my scale of 1 to 5 (1= Poor; 5=Excellent) the bed and the shower were a 4. The bed was a 4 because of the pillow configuration, one big pillow and a smaller one, I would have preferred standard pillows. The shower is a 4 because it lacks a decent size shelve.

This type of room includes a mini bar with a freezing little box which was convenient.
Room air conditioning is quiet and effective. There are outlets in different places (some are at the floor level in front of the bed) where you can recharge and/or connect your electronics.

Breakfast for Madrid standards is good and not too expensive, however the service at the breakfast area is being operated by a very nice lady and it is convenient because it is fast as well.

There is no gym in the Hotel but they have a special rate at a facility near by.

Room Tip: Select a room at the 6th level if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitesviena, DIRECTORA at Sercotel Suites Viena, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Suites Viena during your recent stay. We especially thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. Your opinión is the most important and, at the same time, it is very helpful for us in order to improve.
Next time, please ask for another kind of pillow. We have other types.
We would love to see you back at Suites Viena whenever you decide to.
We hope you had a nice trip back to your city.
Best regards from Suites Viena Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    326
    45
    4
    1
See reviews for
157
386
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I stayed for 7 days in this hotel cum apartment. And I really enjoyed the stay. The rooms are comfortable. It has a good bathroom and sufficient cooking facilities for a break. Given its central Madrid location, the room was incredible quiet, even at night. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The inclusive breakfast buffet is excellent and I didn't need to eat again until the evening. And then, I just cooked a bit of pasta in my room or went for a tapas. Given the reasonable room rate, I was surprised how good the location is. The metro is just 3 minutes walk, which means you can reach the airport and just about everything you need to see in Madrid within 20 minutes or so. The royal palace and sights around the Plaza Orientale and the Grand Via are just 5-10 minutes walk. The only improvement I would require is a room balcony or a shared terrace for some relaxation. Nonetheless, there are some excellent parks with 5-10 minutes walk, especially the lovely Parque Del Retiro. I would certainly stay here again if I were in Madrid.

Room Tip: Back rooms are very quiet even at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitesviena, DIRECTORA at Sercotel Suites Viena, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so happy you had a nice stay with us!!!
Next time you can stay in a Junior Suite with a big terrace on the 6th floor. It is a pity we did not let you know during your stay.
We would love to see you again when you come back to Madrid.
Best regards from all the Staff at Suites Viena!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed five nights in a junior suite w/balcony at Viena Suites and were very happy with our choice. Our room was large, very clean and modern. The hotel is near Plaza Espana and was very convenient to the metro stop of the same name and for walking down Gran Via. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was very good. I highly recommend Sercotel Suites Viena and also recommend Cafe Viena restaurant on the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitesviena, DIRECTORA at Sercotel Suites Viena, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. And thank you for choosing us.
But above all, thank you for the time you have dedicated to us.
We would love to see you again.
And of you ever come back to Madrid we would love to be "your home".
Best regards from Suites Viena Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked this hotel last minute after we grew tired of Barcelona and wanted to escape it ASAP. We looked over this hotel and thought it checked out. We hopped on our RENFE train and headed to atocha station.
We made our way easily to the hotel, which is conveniently located next to Plaza de España and station. The front desk is courteous and professional. The lobby was clean, well-maintained with plenty of space and seating.
The room itself was of a very good size. A very large bed, sofa with coffe table, tv, and desk with chairs were well kempt and looked all new. The closet had a safe and plenty of hangers. The hotel looks new and was very clean.
The hotel is located near calls gran via is very cloae to the royal palace and many subsequent Madrid sights. The metro is not far off either at plaza de españa as mentioned before.
This hotel was of the highest quality. The front desk speaks English. We were given extra towels upon our request and given a wakeup call and requested a taxi to the airport when checking out, which arrived punctually on time.
I would highly recommend staying in this hotel for anyone who wants to enjoy their stay in Madrid for any length of time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitesviena, DIRECTORA at Sercotel Suites Viena, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing us. And thank you so much for sharing your opinión on Tripadvisor.
We would love to see you again and send you our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed there two nights and i must say everything was good and the staff was extremly helpful and polite especially Laura . The kitchinette was all in good condition.and everything else. Thank you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitesviena, DIRECTORA at Sercotel Suites Viena, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you again for your sweet words.
It has been a real pleasure for us being choosed by you during your recent visit to Madrid.
We appreciate your comments and send you our best wishes, (especially Laura).
We look forward to seeing you again!!
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Great little modern hotel. Certainly deserves its high ranking - just on value and convenience. We didn't eat at the hotel because there were so many busy little cafés & restaurants locally, serving the business clientele. Would definitely return.

By the way, I lied - we actually visited in June 2012 but I was keen to pass on the recommendation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitesviena, DIRECTORA at Sercotel Suites Viena, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your sweet review!! We are so grateful for dedicating your time to us.
It has been 2 years since your stay in 2012?. Thank you for still remembering Suites Viena!!
We hope to see ou again if you decide to come to Madrid.
Best regards!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Location of the hotel is about 30 mins drive from the airport. Room was very clean and spacious but the toilet was too small, only one person is allowed at one time. You can walk to many places of interests but it is not the most central compared to many at Grand Via. You can skip breakfast (buffet) at the hotel, there were many cafes around (3 to 5 mins walk) that served breakfast and coffee which is 1/3 of the buffet price. Staffs speak good English and polite but not as friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suitesviena, DIRECTORA at Sercotel Suites Viena, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Suites Viena during your recent stay.
I want to send you our sencere apologies for not making your stay as pleasant as we had wished.
Thank you for dedicating your time to us leaving your comments on Tripadvisor. it is the best way for us to try to improve.
It is true the bathroom in some rooms is not as comfortable as we had desired, since even though there is room enough, distribution of furniture should have been "better". We know that, and for sure we´ll keep it in consideration for future changes.
The Staff at Suites Viena send you their best wishes and apologize for all what you have not found 100% satisfactory.
Hope to see you back at Suites Viena!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sercotel Suites Viena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Suites Viena

Address: Juan Alvarez Mendizabal 17, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Madrid
#22 Family Hotel in Madrid
#26 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sercotel Suites Viena 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Viena is a cosy Hotel located in a quiet Street in the Centre of Madrid. Only 200 metres separate Suites Viena from Plaza de Espana and in less than a 5 minute walk you are in Gran Via, Debod Temple or the Royal Palace. Suites Viena is a modern building (2007) with 50 Studios, 5 Junior Suites (with a terrace) and 2 Senior Suites (with a separate living room. Every room has AA/Heat (all year), working table, safe, free wifi and satellite TV. Also, there is a little kitchen in every room, equipped with a microwave, a small fridge, cooktop and extractor. Kitchen facilities are handed in, free of charge, to all the guests who demand it. We have special added values you can benefit of through our official online page. Buffet Breakfast is served by the Traditional "Viena Capellanes". Private Parking, connected to rooms through the elevator. Free Wifi in the whole building. Business Corner: free use of PC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Sercotel Suites Viena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viena Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sercotel Suites Viena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.