We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sercotel Suites Viena

Save Saved
You added Sercotel Suites Viena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sercotel Suites Viena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Alvarez Mendizabal 17, 28008 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 457 hotels in Madrid
Letchworth ,
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Good value for city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights while in Madrid for a wedding .Staff very friendly and helpful .Room (we had a junior suite ,)was clean ,functional and spacious .As others have said bathroom was small but ok. Beds comfortable .We had 2 balconies which we put to good use ,one to the front of the hotel off the bedroom with table and chairs and one to the back off the sitting room with sun lounger.Very quiet .No noise from school as it was a Bank holiday .Kitchenette was useful .used local Starbucks and fruit shop to get breakfast supplies so could sit in the sun on the balcony for breakfast each day . Supermarket near by too.good value for a well located city hotel.

Room Tip: Junior suite not much more to pay and gives you extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    347
    274
    43
    3
    1
See reviews for
119
300
27
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's a new hotel building which is not common in Madrid, to my limited knowledge. Room is modern & functional, w/ a small kitchen. Can ask for cooking utensils from reception.

Location is excellent, next to Spanish Plaza. ALL attractions are in walking distance. Metro is not necessary.

There's a small supermarket nearby to buy grocery.

It's facing a primary school so it's noisy (lively, not annoying though) for rooms facing the front.

Room Tip: Rooms facing backside are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one week April 23-30,2013 and was pleasantly surprised. All of our tours where through Julia Travel near Plaza España which made it convenient to walk over just 5 or 10 minutes away. The heat and A/C seemed to work very well in the room as did the free WiFi which many people seem to complain about. We had a laptop and 2 iPads and had no problems although the speed is a tad bit slow but acceptable. As far as the bathroom, it is very small. The shower/tub is very hard to enter, especially for a senior citizen. The tub would be ideal for a small child. They could use more grab handles in the shower for safety , you could easily slip. The room is large and very clean, the maid keeps the room very clean and neat every day. The beds are very comfortable. We did not use the kitchenette . The room could use a few more decorations like pictures on the wall, it has a cold feeling to it. It could also use some better seating options. After a long day of sight seeing you come back to the room and the seating options are four office type chairs, the kind you might find in a Doctors office. The Staff was very pleasant and welcoming. The day clerk, Laura, is a gem. She was very helpful and answered any questions we had with a big smile. She speaks English very well. The breakfast is OK! Toast, fruit, cereal , etc. but no eggs, potatoes or bacon which most Americans like, this is a typical Euro breakfast. If you are looking for a good clean convienent hotel, this is the place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed five nights here in April 2013. Was surprised at how large the room is when we first checked in and surprised to see the kitchen. The staff are friendly and helpful. So we got a good first impression.

After the first night, we noticed a few issues.
1) the bathroom is very small with the door opens onto the toilet. So everytime one of us goes in, we make sure the other one doesn't try to come in and bump the head.
2) the curtain doesn't block the light.
3) sink has no plug, can't wash clothes properly. I tried using the glass filled with water to block the plug hole. The coat hangers are those locked in ones. Very inconvenient, I'm sure other guests do washing too. Why not make it easier for everyone?
4) no luggage rack. We put the luggages on top of the chairs.

There are no major issues with this hotel, except we didn't have Internet for three days. Overall, we are happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel room is spacious and clean, the bathroom is a bit small. Nice restaurant Cafe Vienna next to the hotel. Our room faces the street and it is quite noisy during the night as we left our window opened. It is 5 mins away from Espana metro station.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spotless, welcoming staff, close enough and far enough to the center . Suits Vienna is always our choice when in Madrid. Excellent and comfortable beds, though no AC during spring, so you will need to open the big windows( no worries, is a very quiet street) the rooms are spacious and modern, wood floors so no dusty carpeting! Joanny, the the lady in charge of the breakfast, is a gem! Always ready to serve you the most delicious coffee in Madrid! Laura, the front desk manager, will make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Room was quiet and clean. One must ask for cookware and dishes to be brought up to room with kitchenette. Good location. Front desk staff very unfriendly, borderline grumpy. WiFi was sketchy so not sure why the hotel advertises it has it at all.

Overall, I wasn't that impressed with the hotel, and would not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sercotel Suites Viena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Suites Viena

Address: Juan Alvarez Mendizabal 17, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sercotel Suites Viena 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suites Viena is a cosy Hotel located in a quiet Street in the Centre of Madrid. Only 200 metres separate Suites Viena from Plaza de Espana and in less than a 5 minute walk you are in Gran Via, Debod Temple or the Royal Palace. Suites Viena is a modern building (2007) with 50 Studios, 5 Junior Suites (with a terrace) and 2 Senior Suites (with a separate living room. Every room has AA/Heat (all year), working table, safe, free wifi and satellite TV. Also, there is a little kitchen in every room, equipped with a microwave, a small fridge, cooktop and extractor. Kitchen facilities are handed in, free of charge, to all the guests who demand it. We have special added values you can benefit of through our official online page. Buffet Breakfast is served by the Traditional "Viena Capellanes". Private Parking, connected to rooms through the elevator. Free Wifi in the whole building. Business Corner: free use of PC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sercotel Suites Viena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viena Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sercotel Suites Viena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.