We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The design hotel that also adds service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ME Madrid Reina Victoria

Save Saved
You added ME Madrid Reina Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Santa Ana 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 458 Hotels in Madrid
GreenLeadersSilver level
Europe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The design hotel that also adds service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent service and a perfect location - more on this later.

Useful to know: Although the information on booking.com say Wifi is included everywhere in the hotel, their default is to offer free in the lobby and public areas only, so make sure you print your booking and bring it. There is a fitness facility in the basement even though it is not advertised on the booking sites online. Should you desire something larger, there is a fitness gym (with spa) just around the corner, with generous opening hours.

On service; in my experience, design hotels sometimes offer slightly lower levels of service, and rely more on their stylish design. The ME Madrid on the Santa Ana square has a superb location, nice design and truly good service as well. We had a wonderful stay - thanks to the experience manager who helps on anything from restaurant reservations to researching locations in Madrid for you.

Do opt for the bigger room with view of the plaza - they are wonderful and very light. The hotel has kept its original facade and installed new windows inside of the old - so with double walls of glass windows we were definitely not disturbed by any night life. Instead you will get a full glass wall with view of the square and its people.

Needless to say, there are millions of wonderful cervecerias, tapas bars and shops in any direction once you step outside of the hotel. Inside of the hotel you will find a stylish lobby bar that allows much better for private conversations and bigger groups than the crowded tapas bars - if this is what you should need. Rooftop there is a magnificent view and bar, which is a hidden gem of the city.

The breakfast is well worth visiting; not the largest selection but very carefully thought through with top quality foods - like you may get an entire pitcher of freshly squeezed orange juice brought to your table, sparkling wine, all kinds of Spanish cheese and serrano ham etc

As mentioned before: rooms are high tech with advanced lightning, remote controlled sound system and a rich bar. All in all, very pleasurable - just as ME themselves indicate it.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the plaza are much lighter and you get an active view of the city with a glass wall. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Haztrips,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen ME Madrid and also for your kindest comments about your last stay with us and our staff.
Concerning to our Internet connection, let me inform you that this service is not complementary in the rooms. On the other hand we have the service free of charge in our common areas as well as in our business center 24/365.
All things considered we are looking forward for welcoming you very soon at ME Madrid in order to provide a memorable experience.

Best regards,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    391
    113
    45
    48
See reviews for
104
607
77
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very trendy and cool hotel, I stayed for 3 nights and had a great stay, the room I stayed was a bit small but good enough for 1 person, modern furniture and bathroom, the service from the staff is very good, they have a very cool bar on the top floor with amazing views of the city, the location is fantastic as you can walk to Plaza Mayor and some other attractions, would definitely be back during the summer,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Beatriztrips,

We will be waiting to receive you back in summer with the same enthusiasm than the last time. Dare us with any special request you may have and we will do our best to making it real.
On the other hand I would like to thank you, on behalf of our staff, for your preference of ME Madrid.
Hope to see you soon,

Regards,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just stayed here for 5 nights. Lovely, lively, modern hotel. Caught the Airport Express bus to Celebes (5 euros each) then a very short cab ride. So simple. Great rooms with amazing lighting and surround sound music system. Has to be the most comfy bed and set of pillows anywhere we have stayed. Opted for quiet room in the back. Peace and quiet..fab. The front rooms I think maybe noisy with the square outside. Gorgeous roof terrace. You can walk the whole of Madrid sights from here with ease. Room only basis, but step outside and you are surrounded by coffee stops for breakfast and hundreds of tapas bars and restaurants for lunch/dinner. Free wifi in lobby but not free in the room. Staff all so helpful. If you want old fashioned trad decor this is prob not for you, but we loved it. Madrid is a fab city. The Plazas, Museums, the Park, Palace and Cathedral and just general strolling is wonderful.

Room Tip: We were overlooking in the inner courtyard at the back for peace and quiet. Never heard a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear hbrWoking ,

Many thanks for sharing your comments about your ME experience during your visit to the ME Madrid Hotel!
I am glad to know that you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us! Indeed, this hotel represent a new concept of service and we are happy you have understood it.

I look forward to seeing you very soon!

Our best wishes,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loosdrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the ME in November this year for business. Was met at the door by the General Manger Alessandro Misani. Coincidence or not, it made me feel very welcomed. He assisted me with the check in and I had a great room with a view over the square in front of the Hotel. The outside of the hotel and the rooftop terrace looks like it comes straight from a fairy tale book. November not the right month to be on the roof so looking forward to a next visit with warmer weather.
Excellent restaurant and excellent Maitre D' with excellent knowledge of the wines.
The rooms are not giant but very comfortable. Hi-tech lighting and a well equipped minibar. High quality hotel amenity's. All in all a surprisingly nice stay for somebody that sees lots of hotels in his life.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front side of the hotel. View on Santa Ana Square. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear RRietveld,

Many thanks for sharing your comments about your ME experience during your visit to the ME Madrid Hotel! I am glad to know that you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us!

Our General Manager as well as all the staff are looking forward to seeing you very soon!

Our best wishes,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a few problems with our first room on checking in here, but in fairness the staff couldnt have been more helpful once we explained that our room was unsuitable and sorted it out immediately. Our new room had a bacony view of the plaza (no problem with noise at all as long as the doors were shut). Rooms are quite small & the portable bar takes up too much space, but the bed was very large and comfortable, as were the pillows and doona. Really great shower, and everything very clean.
Location is perfect, close to everything, and sooo many restaurants/cafes to choose from. Plus close to Casa Patas Flamenco Show - really recommend a visit.
Loved our stay at ME Madrid!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear JKS2000,

Thank you for your excellent comments! And for your next visit to ME Madrid do not forget to enjoy our renowned cuisine of the ME Restaurant and the spectacular views of Madrid from our terrace The Roof. It will be a MEmorable experience!

ME Madrid team look forward to meeting you in a very near future!

Warm regards,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

This Weekend trip was a surprise for my partners birthday, the hotel were brilliant from the moment we arrived,I had emailed prior to ask for a late check out as we had a late flight back home on the Sunday. When we arrived , the hotel welcomed us enthusiastically, Miriam was lovely, she arranged to get the luggage to our room while we waited for a room to be ready as we arrived early friday at 11am. When we went up to the room, we heard a knock at the door and the hotel sent us a bottle of cava and a note welcoming us to ME Madrid. This was a fabulous and such a nice touch for my boyfriends birthday. It made it extra special. the room is cool, funky, modern , And has cool buttons for the lighting, even Sexy lighting , the bathroom had a cool shower that was really big. The hotel is in the perfect area for you to get around. It's central, safe, and near lots of restaurants. We ate one night in lateral which is right next to the hotel, it was a lovely modern tapas restaurant. there is so much to do in Madrid, real Madrid fc, cable car, boat trip in Retiro, bus tour shopping, lovely tapas's.
This hotel with out a doubt is the perfect spot for a trip , what makes it extra nice is the lovely staff and we will definitely come back
Thank you Jose and Miriam!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear PetesAmz,

We are so glad to read that you had such a great time in Madrid and in ME Madrid. Our staff will be always looking for the opportunity to make your stay more special every time.
For your next stay dare us with any request you may have for a lovely time in the city.
Looking forward to welcoming you back,
Best Regards,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

One of the nicest hotels in Madrid. Fabulous location, helpful friendly staff, set on a fabulous square in my favourite neighbourhood. There are smarter hotels in Madrid, there are cheaper places, there are even one or two cooler places. Me is hip without being up itself, a beautiful late nineteenth century building with a sharp modern makeover, an object lesson in Spanish style and confidence.

Room Tip: try for a room overlooking Plaza de Santa Ana
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMadrid, Manager at ME Madrid Reina Victoria, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear 5marh1,

Thanks for sharing your ME experience. After reading your comment there is no much to say but thank you very much. Feed back like yours will encourage our team to continue with our efforts to achieve continuous improvement and excellent service.

I look forward to seeing you very soon!

Our best wishes,

José Arenas
Aura Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ME Madrid Reina Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ME Madrid Reina Victoria

Address: Plaza de Santa Ana 14, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Cortes / Plaza Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#3 Green Hotel in Madrid
#25 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#30 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#37 Business Hotel in Madrid
#61 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ME Madrid Reina Victoria 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ME Madrid Reina Victoria is strategically located in the heart of the city, with easy access to the major attractions such as the Prado Museum, Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and Reina Sofia Museum, Retiro Park, Congress building, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace and the city’s shopping and business areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Melia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and EasyToBook so you can book your ME Madrid Reina Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Madrid Reina Victoria Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ME Madrid Reina Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.