We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hospes Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hospes Madrid to your Saves list
Hospes Madrid
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de la Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain (Barrio de Salamanca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 452 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Madrid was the perfect end for our trip in Spain. The city is exciting, no matter how many times you visit it. My friends and I have been several times in Madrid and this time we booked Hospes Madrid for our stay. Its location cannot be better! Definetely, this will be our place to stay everytime we will come back. We all have fallen in love with Hospes hotels, after having stayed in its hotels in Granada and Córdoba. Staff was warm, professional and thoughtful in each hotel and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Great beds. We did not book our room with breakfast included, but we will do it next time. They have a lovely buffet with all the spanish specials products you will expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    144
    41
    11
    10
See reviews for
71
248
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Well to be fair, the room (number 104) was HUGE and very clean and nicely laid out, the bed was also very comfortable, good bathroom which opens up on the room with a great rain shower. The staff were very polite and helpful although a bit stiff and sort of took themselves too seriously.
But I HATED the room, it was dark dark dark...not a ray of light even at 11 am with the sun shining outside. Sleeping in the bed almost felt like a grave and even with all the lights ON , you could barely read if at all. The problem with design hotels is that sometimes they get carried away with the concept and do not give much thought to the fact that people will be actually living in these rooms. Also they have the stupidest key concept i ever saw (HUGE round silverish ball) which you cant share if there are two of you staying and very inconvenient to carry around, again the triumph of design over practicality. It was a strain to try to open the door since the corridor was so dark outside. Breakfast was not included and was a complete rip off @ 25 Euros per head??????!!
The location is about the best thing about this hotel, right where i like it on caille de Seranno with amazing shopping and restaurants around. You might want to give it a try, i did and i will definitely NOT be going back there again. Much better option in Salamanca district.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I love staying at historic buildings given new life as boutique hotels--especially when they include updated amenities like this one-- spacious rooms, comfy beds,big bathtubs, sitting room chairs and old-fashioned french doors that open to little balconies with window boxes! Oh, and Korres bathroom products--my favorite! A great location, wi-fi, plus staff friendly and bilingual. Only glitch: would have appreciated an early check-in, as I arrived in the morning. Extra points: Ate dinner at hotel's restaurant, Senzone--and unlike many hotel restaurants, this one was more than worth dining at--with an intimate setting (comfortable even for a woman dining alone), excellent wine list and a chef who obviously loves what he's doing (it shows).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We caught the Expres Aeropuerto bus from Barajas to Plaza Cibeles (5 Euro each), then it was just a short walk back along the bus route to Puerta de Acala where the Hospes Madrid is located. The hotel restaurant and the restaurant next door have tables with umbrellas on the pavement. So if you don't want to miss the hotel entrance, walk between the buildings and the tables (we initially walked between the tables and road, and couldn't see the hotel entrance due to the umbrellas).

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. A plate of delicious chocolates were sent to our room as a welcome gift, with a handwritten note from the manager - very nice touch. The room was nice, with comfortable bed and plentiful amenities.

Buffet breakfast was 25 Euro, which was pretty pricey, but there was a good selection available. Harina bakery is close to the hotel, and is a great, plus significantly cheaper, breakfast option. If you are feeling jetlagged and not up to wandering too far, dinner at the hotel restaurant is decent (empanadas were yummy).

Location was great, we walked everywhere, including to Atocha station (~25 min). Overall, we were very happy with Hospes Madrid. The only concern was that there was mould in our shower (between the tiles), and you could occasionally smell it too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

this was our 1st time at this hotel. Loved it & will definitely return. Large rooms compared to many other Madrid hotels; great bathrooms with excellent toiletries. Old world elegance combined with all the modern touches. Wonderful, attentive and bilingual staff. Fantastic restaurant (Senzone) with terrific chef and impressive wine list. Nice spa(Bodyna). The pool is great for hydrotherapy (not for lap-swimming) and spa-like relaxation with water jets. it is also a good way to relieve jetlag, if you´ve come from overseas!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Puerta de Alcalá give you an unforgettable and emblematic view of Madrid - and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Welcoming, cheerful staff, quite concerned about our comfort. The rooms are bright, clean, quiet and of ample size. Very nice bathrooms with excellent bathroom products. Bed linens are soft and mattresses comfortable, allowing for a restful sleep. The restaurant waitstaff was as friendly as the reception staff, and the food was quite good. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the 3 major museums and the train station. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Arrived well past midnight, to receive a warm welcome and a really comfortable bed, than an excellent breakfast and fast checkout. The only thing they could possibly improve was the shower temperature control - was I turning it the right way, or was the water just slow coming through? Even though I was near to the lift shaft and the street, the noise was not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#32 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Huertas
Urban Hotel Madrid
Urban Hotel Madrid
#21 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Adler Hotel
Adler Hotel
#65 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Unico Madrid
Hotel Unico Madrid
#24 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#13 of 452 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
Huertas
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Madrid

Address: Plaza de la Independencia 3, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#23 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#25 Family Hotel in Madrid
#37 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Madrid 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Escapio, Odigeo, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hospes Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospes Madrid Hotel Madrid
Hospes Hotel Madrid
Madrid Hospes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospes Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.