We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Laura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Laura to your Saves list
Room Mate Laura
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travesia de los Trujillos 3 | Plaza de las Descalzas, Reales, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 453 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
T-A
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 night.
We chose it because of the excellent reviews, rooms design and location.
We were not dissapointed.
We got a room at the highest floor with a sloped ceiling.
The room was very large and spacious with a kitchenette, very comfortable twin beds, a large cupboars, a sitting area and a large bathroom.
The street is very quiet but very central. Everything very close - plaza mayor, Gran Via, San MIgel Market, Plaza del Sol. We walked to everything.
The design- nice and modern.
The breakfast very good.
The staff friendly and helpful.
Overal - and excellent experience

Room Tip: Rooms at the higher level hace sloped ceilings - not for tall people....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much and would welcome the opportunity to meet you again in a future visit.

Kindest regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    378
    102
    23
    4
See reviews for
116
541
49
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon in Madrid at the Room Mate Laura and had a wonderful experience.

I accidentally booked our reservation for the wrong month (I reserved the hotels for our honeymoon while also planning another trip and got dates/hotels mixed up) and, even though the mistake was 100% mine, the staff at Room Mate Laura went out of there way to ensure we had a room for all 4 nights we were in Madrid (and I think they even upgraded us from the original room I had reserved to be honest). It meant a lot to us that they were so helpful and pleasant in rectifying my mistake.

The hotel also has a great location. Very central to everything going on in Madrid. We were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go and, if the destination was too far away to walk, there are multiple metro stations very close to the hotel.

Finally, our room was very comfortable. It definitely has a modern theme...which isn't really my thing, but was definitely enjoyable. The balcony with the shades that close over the outside are amazing for either enjoying the amazing weather while getting ready or sleeping late after staying out clubbing on Friday and Saturday.

I highly recommend this hotel. Great location, very helpful staff, comfy room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, we feel so good learning your enjoyed your stay with us after all the trouble with your reservation dates. I have forwarded your comments to the staff who also feel grateful for your review.

We would be so happy to meet you in an other opportunity. If this is the case, please do not hessitate to contact us!

Kind regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Centrally located, knowledgeable staff, fun design. I spent only 2 nights at Room Mate Laura, my third stay with the Room Mate chain, and I wish I could have stayed longer. I upgraded to a room on the 4th floor that was so spacious (402), and so much fun to be in! It had a sitting area, and a fully stocked kitchenette, skylights, a spacious bathroom. Great water pressure, all very clean. The design was both whimsical and modern, and functional. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet had variety and your Spanish standards of bread and fresh tomato sauce, and freshly made tortillas and pastries, which I love. The hotel is basic in the sense that there is no restaurant, bar, or pool, but when there is so much going on in the Movida Madrileña, you can find all that nearby as you explore lovely Madrid. I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to my next stay at one of the Room Mates.

Room Tip: Room 402 is spacious and fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear guest,

What a nice review about your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to meeting you again in a next opportunity!

Thank you very much for your kindness.

Best regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chose the hotel in part because of its good reviews in TA and partly because of its central location to the Plaza Mayor and museums. The staff were great and very accommodating and were very helpful in pointing us in the right direction and making some helpful recommendations. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of items to choose from -- from eggs to cereals, fresh juice and the ubiquitous Tortilla Espanola -- plus it is served til noon. What was really extremely helpful was the "portable Wi-Fi hotspot" that they provided free of charge. It was a rechargeable 3G router that provided us Wi-Fi access where ever there was 3G service so you don't have to use your data or pay any roaming fees. It was great for wandering around the museums, parks, etc. for the instant information that we all become very accustomed to....even on vacation. It was extremely easy to use and very convenient. It was a great service.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the top floor and had sloped ceilings and only a small window. I would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Cortes, Gerente at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the 3G router for free wifi in the city. Would welcome the opportunity to receive your visit again in the future.

Kind regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Centrally located, most of popular places are within walking distance, friendly staff. Breakfast is available till almost noon...they also gave us a free mobile wifi router, so we could access internet within the city limits at any time, though speed was slow, but it worked. Nice duplex rooms....highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsouma, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing you comments about your stay in Room Mate Laura.
It´s god to know that you enjoy the Hotel , the location and our services as the breakfast and the wifi router.

Hope to see you in futures dates.

With Kind regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. For just 100 euros including two breakfasts this is a bargain. It is right in the middle of the main bits of Madrid. The room is nice and has a funky feel to it. Sleep quality was great as we slept in until 11am. Good job they serve their excellent breakfast until midday.

We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsouma, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review in Tripadvisor.

We´ll be glad to see you again so do not doubt in contacting me if you require a new booking in Madrid.

With Kind Regards,

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night stay in this wonderful hotel. What a great central location!!! within walking distance to all the sights and shopping areas and also within a 5 minute walking distance to 3 metro stops. Great breakfast, loads of choices and great coffee. The reception staff were so friendly and extremely helpful, wish all hotels had the sort of staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofiaTsouma, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Laura, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review!
It´s really encouraging for all staff read comments like yours! A big Thank you!

Do not doubt in contacting me if you require a new booking in Madrid.

Sofia Tsouma
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Laura

Address: Travesia de los Trujillos 3 | Plaza de las Descalzas, Reales, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
#73 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Laura 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Room Mate Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Laura Madrid
Room Mate Laura Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Laura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.