We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Buffet very bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Mario

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Room Mate Mario to your Saves list
Room Mate Mario
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 457 Hotels in Madrid
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Breakfast Buffet very bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel is nice and in a perfect location - walking distance to everything. The rooms clean and cool, good bed, nice atmosphere and nice staff.
But avoid the so called breakfast buffet! It only consists of bad bread (earlier frozen), bad coffee, boring ham and cheese. There's absolutely nothing Spanish about it. Just not worth the money nor the valuable time at all. You'll miss out on real life.
Instead go to the closest bar, or to the San Miguel market by Plaza Mayor, where you can get real coffee and great Bocadillos with Jamon or Chorizo for half price - you will also get the nice Madrid morning atmosphere for free.

Room Tip: We had room 108. View to the back, but not a problem at all for us, as it made the room very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to see that you ejoyed your stay with us. Regarding breakfast I am happy to inform you that just today we have added products like eggs and bacon, new breads and new cold meats! We would be grateful if you come back to try it again and let us know your impressions. Again, thank you for your comments is thank to them that we can improve every day!

With our best regards!

Janet Cortés
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    486
    121
    29
    20
See reviews for
84
618
120
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Wife & friends just returned from Madrid where we went for new year's celebration. I chose this hotel based on the tripadvisor reviews and It surpassed my expectations. First and foremost, the hotel is extremely clean and the room was oversized (by European standards). Secondly, the hotel is very close tto all the attractions and to puerta del sol, yet it is located in a very quiet street. Thirdly, the breakfast choices are surprising and the food is very fresh. This morning, on January 2, we had to leave before the breakfast room would open. Yet, we were given special access so we could eat prior to catching our flight.

The desk clerk, Hugo, was extremely accomodating, had great customer service skills and spoke very good English.

Truly the best hotel I have stayed in the city of Madrid. This will definitely be my hotel of choice in our future visits to this European city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,

THANKYOU for such a nice review about your stay with us. We are so glad to find out that you enjoyed that much your stay in Mario. I have forwarded your comments to Hugo and the rest of the team who are so happy to see that the daily effort is rewarded with comments like yours. Thank you again and would very much welcome the opportunity to meeting you in a future visit to Madrid.

With my best wishes for this new year!

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night on business. The location was excellent and just a few minutes walk from the underground. The room was spacious and had two little balconies overlooking the street. Like the separate bathroom and sink, which when sharing a room is convenient. Couldn't hear traffic but there must have been something going on in one if the bars as there was a lot of noise well into the night...
Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review about Room Mate Mario. We are grateful about your comments and wish you could visit us in a future ocassion!

With our best regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Small but clean room. Fantastic central location. Good value. Good breakfast.
Started in Madrid for a 2 weeks tour in Spain. We wanted a hotel within walking distance to the main shopping area, plaza oriente, plaza mayor n puerta del sol as well as europcar rental. Reason being we have only a night stay in Madrid. This hotel meets all criteria and is of fantastic value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review, including our most important points: cleanness, location, breakfast..

If you require any help for a new booking in Madrid, please, do not doubt in contacting me.

Hope to see you here soon!

Best regards;

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very friendly hotel, reasonable rates, clean rooms, good size bathrooms. Location is unbeatable, next to Opera House, Plaza de Oriente, and steps away from the Opera Metro Station or Sol. Also close by is the well known Mercado de San Miguel, a famous market converted into several small trendy tapas-restaurants.

Room Tip: They often have good offers, either at this hotel or at Room Mate Laura, close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for giving us the best award that we can get from you: your nice review and your appreciation, including our rooms, cleanness, rates and location.

In Room Mate you can always find a new experience!!!

So please, let me know if you would like to stay with us again and it would be a pleasure to help you with your new booking.

Best regards

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in Room Mate Mario, Madrid, for four nights in November 2012. I'd picked the hotel on the basis of other reviews. This is a stylish hotel in an old building and despite being there for several days we had to follow the signs to find the breakfast room. There are lots of jogs and small flights of stairs. The breakfast buffet was great--open until noon daily. I loved the location, steps to the Royal Palace and, better yet, to the Opera House where we attended a chamber orchestra concert (great seats for 8 Euros and less expensive than a tour) and two one-act operas (one event). After orienting ourselves to Madrid on a Hop-on Hop-Off bus (tickets purchased at the hotel), we found we could easily walk to the Plaza Mayor, the Plaza del Sol, and the Prado.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are somewhat quieter than those on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor users.We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Madrid!

We hope to see you back again!

Kind regards,

Janet Cortes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Address: Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#58 Business Hotel in Madrid
#91 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.