We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Mario

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Mario to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Mario
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 458 hotels in Madrid
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. Nice quiet yet very central location. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Everything you could want in a hotel. I would recommend this hotel.for a short stay in Madrid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcortes, Gerente at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such a nice review. I really thank you for your kidness and are so glad to find that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to meeting you in the future if you wish to come back to your home in Madrid!

With our kindest regards,

Janet Cortés
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    547
    477
    118
    28
    20
See reviews for
80
604
118
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our friend suggested the Mate Mario when we looked for a hotel in Madrid. We liked it. Friendly staff, great location & clean.
Although the room is not really sound proof. We could hear all the sounds in the corridor while you were in the room..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Meilinda,

Thank you so much for your review!

You were suggested by your friends, and maybe you could suggest it to a new friend, it would be like a joke!! Suggest Mario to everyone!

Next time, if you have any problem (sound in the corridor), please, let us know in order to move or show you another room in another area.

Please, feel free to contact me directly if you need any help.

Best Regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in September. The location is what attracted me to this hotel when booking. The Royal Palace is within 3 blocks and the metro is less than five minutes away. Madrid is a very walkable city, but the proximity of the metro makes it even easier to get around.

Our room faced a courtyard and was at the very end of the hallway. Very quiet. Avoid rooms 116 and 117 as they are on the hallway to the breakfast room. Those could be a little noisy if enough guests go for breakfast at the same time. Speaking of breakfast, it is offered between 8 am and noon. Typical continental spread, but there is enough variety to please most people.

The decor is a little interesting, kind of reminds me Ikea or Droog...my husband didn't like the bed and the wi-fi was a bit annoying. You had to keep logging in constantly.

Overall, a good value and you get candies when you check out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for have choosen Mario like your guide during your first experience in Madrid. The best company during your 4 nights!!

You are right, our location is the best choice, and you can get easily the most important areas in the city, walking or by metro.

Hope that you will enjoy a new stay with Mario!

Regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevessin Moens, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A nice surprise! the rooms are comfortable, with tasteful design of furniture and bathroom. The hotel is ideally situated, right in the center within walking distances of all touristic sites. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A great address to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Mr. Thevenon,

Read in the your review the word "surprise" is the best award that we can obtain from you.

We are really proud if you have that feeling from your stay with us.

Hope to see you again in Mario in a near future!

Regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything was great!
It was my first time at Mario.
Reception staff were most obliging and helpful. Good breakfast. Good wi-fi.
Rooms with comfortable beds and beautiful design, very clean.
Few steps away from opera, castle, puerta del sol, market san miquel, mayor.
Is the perfect place to stay for a visit to Madrid.
I would stay here again and recommend it highly! Book early to get the lowest cost rates.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Iraida,

Thank you so much for including your nice remarks about Mario in Tripadvisor.

You have included some of the most important points for us: our staff, our breakfast (till noon!! It is not necessary to wake up early with Mario!), our wifi (free), design and cleanness.

Get always the best rates directly with Mario.

So a BIG THANK YOU from the center of the town!

Best regards,

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Enjoy Madrid, staying in this very friendly and perfectly located (some steps down to Opera metro station) young/fresh hotel. Not much room for improvement, as everything is really nice... :-) beside the cool room (nice interieur, good design), also the breakfast buffet is awesome (somewhat different, to what you often find in Spain).
Take a stop here, when visiting Madrid!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora_Arrizurieta, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Mario, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to express our most sincere appreciation for taking the time in writing regarding your stay at Room Mate Mario through Tripadvisor.

We try our best to improve our service day-to-day. Your reviews help us to know the things that we must change or improve. Thank you so much for your words.

Therefore, do not doubt in contacting me if you require a new booking in Madrid.

Regards;

Nora Arrizurieta
Front Desk Manager
Room Mate Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Mario

Address: Campomanes 4, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#66 Business Hotel in Madrid
#109 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Room Mate Mario 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Room Mate Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Mario Madrid
Room Mate Mario Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.