We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Madrid

Save Saved
You added Casa de Madrid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de Madrid
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Arrieta 2, 2a, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 233 Madrid B&B and Inns
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“So beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this amazing place in early July for a few nights and didn't want to leave. This fabulous old Casa full of wonderful books and paintings and divine old furniture has stunning rooms with gorgeous linen, facilities etc. We had our own private sitting room. Our host was just fantastic, very helpful, charming and obliging. If ever in Madrid again , we will stay here.

Room Tip: The room of choice depends on cost !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    25
    9
    7
    8
See reviews for
11
106
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were in Andaluz for the Semana Santa and on our way home we stayed for 2 nights in Madrid and found this Place by coincidence. I must say, this is the best - and I have seen many - hotel I ever stayed in. One could't really call it a hotel, it's just like living in a private home on a very high standard. Every room was different from the other and everything was arranged perfectly with a lot of taste. The location is right in the center of Madrid right across the opera house. I can really recommend this place very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

in a very central point of old town, next to Teatro Real, Palatso Real, Opera, Metro station. Quiet, clean, every room different with unique old furniture,. English breakfast in silver tray . The receptionist very polite and helpful. Excellent!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mc
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

i reserved through booking. com and the hotel was supposed to charge me the prepayment at booking for the first night only but instead they changed their terms and conditions without warning and debited my credit card for the full stay right away, 3 months before my arrival! As if it wasn't enough, they overcharged me 30 euros more than expected. So I decided to cancel because I did not think it was a great start for a holiday and they retained a 20 euros cancellation penalty;
I do not know how the hotel is, but I do not recommend the admin staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at Casa de Madrid. If you are looking for a different kind of accommodation – one where you get personalized attention at a house that you could call your own home – then Casa de Madrid is the best option for you. It is the perfect bed & breakfast: clean, elegant; comfortable, spacious rooms with private bathrooms; wi-fi in all the rooms; continental breakfast included in the price of the room; conveniently located in Opera, a central, safe neighborhood. Keep your eyes out for seasonal discount prices, usually in the summer months – June through August. The personnel was fabulous, María, Santiago, Juan, Adriana … Santiago was the perfect host: charming, helpful, caring, knowledgeable … I enthusiastically recommend Casa de Madrid!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Casa de Madrid, this is an amazing experience not just an apartment. The apartment is located on the 2nd floor (yes, there is a lift) of a beautiful old building directly opposite the Madrid Opera House in the centre of the city. Approximately 15 years ago it was renovated and converted into suites with their own ensuites and the interior design and artifacts are simply amazing. The staff were incredibly attentive and helpful and the overall experience is more like staying with a very wealthy maiden aunt than staying in a hotel. It is only a 5 minute walk to Platha Mayor and the incredible Madrid food markets. If you are looking for something that enhances your Madrid experience then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger suites with an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I loved the Casa de Madrid for its difference. It is unique and more like an exquisite apartment than a hotel. From the moment you discover the doorway and walk in, you know this is going to be special. It's about been surrounded by beautiful objects that have a history. Our large airy room had two french windows with balconies and lovely views. It made me feel part of Madrid, especially as the charming English speaking staff were so helpful and went out of their way to make our stay very special, recommending restaurants and events. Although hot for the first few days, the air conditioner worked beautifully. Breakfast was served on silver trays with white linen and the coffee was excellent. Only caution is the extra charges but these are made clear from the start. All the rooms are completely different so choose from the website, the bathrooms also vary in size. Dont stay here if you expect a standardised 5 star hotel, the Casa de Madrid is much more - it's quirky, elegant and has its own personality, its individual (and thats hard to find these days) and is much more enjoyable. It made my stay in Madrid memorable.

Room Tip: Look on website as all rooms are different - including size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Madrid

Address: Calle Arrieta 2, 2a, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Madrid 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Madrid is a boutique luxury residence, that offers a unique and romantic luxury stay experience. This small luxury property is located in a landmark 18th century building, in the old part of Madrid, where the Hasburg dynasty built their Royal Palace.The house has many balconies that face the Royal Opera House, and have views of Plaza Oriente and the Royal Palace. Since this is a boutique luxury residence you will be able to enjoy a more welcoming and personal atmosphere that you’d expect of an intimate luxury accommodation. It is one of Madrid’s most fascinating homes, and includes 7 spacious rooms, a salon and library all decorated in the art-filled exotic decor of a timeless bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa de Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Madrid Hotel Madrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Madrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.